Throwback to Childhood

20 45
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Throwback

I seem to recall how much I wanted to be a grown-up when I was a kid, the things I imagined I would do, the life I would live, the goals and dreams I would achieve not to even mention the freedom. Now I'm old enough and I just want to be a little boy again.

That little kid was happy, no worries, no stress, no responsibilities. Those were the good times.

Are you a fan of NF? If you aren't, you should check out some of his songs, this one caught my attention "I miss the days". It made me think about the good old days, now I can't help but share some of these moments.

Before we proceed any further

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Check out my sponsor's page

Introduction

Childhood had its troubles but it also had its blessings. Back in the days, there was nothing like Cable, we had an Antenna and " Pot-belly" TV, small in size, Power in Nigeria was still as bad as it is now, on and off. When they would bring it, everyone in the neighborhood would scream out for joy "Up Nepa". Most of us here might not be able to relate to most of this and probably give it a big laugh, but trust me, those were the precious moment of my childhood.

My parents were disciplinarians, it was always " book, book, book". I had trouble learning how to write as a kid, Mom says it's because I was the firstborn and had no one to look up to, but deep down I know I was just lazy.

They decided to get an After-school lesson teacher to drill me so I could improve academically, it helped but I had to pay a price for it, the most expensive price a little kid could pay, Less TV time.

Oh, don't get me started on how my education was more important than my TV time, I will completely disagree with that one. Sighs. Oh well, it had to be done I guess.

Back-story

For you to understand what I had to sacrifice, I will need to share the back story. Yayy, you are going to love this, grab your popcorn fellas, let's take a trip to the past.

It's 2006, I'm only 5 years old and boy did I hate going to school. Every morning was a battle between my Mom and me. I would run out of the house to go and hide so she won't have to bath me, I could hide under the bed, chair, even the cupboard, and when I was caught, I would cry and cry, the driver would have to use a cane to chase me into the bus.

In class, I would wait for the bell to ring for break

"gbagaun gbagaun gbagaun, Breaking time"

Don't mind the spellings or the grammatical errors, that was how we called it. At the sound of this bell, everyone would run out of the class screaming for joy - a 50-minute break from the torture we endure during classes.

My primary school wasn't as developed as it is now, we had no football, so we would play with bottles, running all around the field, smelling of sweat but smiling with joy.

If you thought the bell that signaled break time was the best, wait till you see the reaction from students when the bell was rung for the close of the day

"gbagaun gbagaun gbagaun, Closing time"

Oh, the joy in our faces! Mine especially.

You could see students jumping out the window to try and get good spaces on the bus, the front seats were usually reserves for the girls, and the back for us pigs...lol. I'm serious, I can't recall a day I came back from school with a clean uniform.

My journey home was another adventure, I would have already been observing the area for Power, and if I saw there was light at home, I would raise into the house, my ears were very sensitive to the electromagnetic signals the TV produced when it was on.

The good times

STV (Silverbird Television) was my favorite TV station. Here are some of my favorite TV shows.


  • Johnny Bravo

Image source

This was my favorite Cartoon growing up and he was my favorite character growing up. He was exceptionally strong, full of confidence in himself, and was always trying to impress the ladies although most times he gets beat up by other men and the women he tries to flirt with. I once tried painting my hair with yellow to look like him but that's a story for another day.

  • Pinky and the brain

Brain is the short rat with the big brain, Pinky is the slim one. Brain is famous for always trying to take over the world with his side-kick, Pinky. Pinky is not so smart but somehow Brain expects Pinky to share his exact thought which is always the same.

"Are you thinking what I'm thinking, it's time to take over the world"

If you didn't see this show, oh man, you missed out.

  • Silver Hawks

Silverhawks

I was pained when they stopped airing it, they are a group of space warriors referred to as "SilverHawks" each with their unique abilities.

They had one major villain "Mon Star"

Somehow he always seems to evade defeat, something I was always looking forward to.

  • Tom and Jerry

Tom and Jerry

"This is Tom and Jerry kids"

As I write this article, I am currently humming the theme song, they have changed it now but I'm glad the show is still on.

Tom and Jerry are natural enemies who live in the same house. Tom, the cat, and Jerry, the mouse. There were other characters involved in this story and sometimes Tom and Jerry had to reconcile their differences but it was the chase that made this show interesting

Writing this article just brings me so much joy and I

  • Scooby-Doo

Scooby-Doo

Which kid doesn't like a good mystery eh? I know I did, still do.

The thrill this cartoon gave me was so beautiful, I love how I was made a part of the story as I tried to solve each mystery too.

Scooby was the name of the dog and my favorite of all the characters, he seemed to be the smartest too. It made me believe that the reason Police take dogs on raids is that dogs are the perfect detective when trained.

  • Fantastic-4

Fantastic -4

Oh, I was obsessed with this one for a long time. I even had the toys which my mom threw away when it became too much. This was the first Marvel show I ever saw.

4 heroes, each with unique abilities, always trying to defend the human race from those who would try to cause harm to them.

Oh, I feel this list will have no end if I continue this way, so permit me to end this list with one more

  • Justice league

Justice league

When I refer to Justice league, I mean the original 7, other heroes like Aquaman and Arrow were added later.

Superman was my favorite character, he was the strongest of all of them. He was always there to save the day.

This show introduced me to the DC universe.


I could go on and on but this should be enough for now.

Imagine what I had to sacrifice when I was forced to let go of all my shows to focus more on academics, the pain. No child should ever have to go through such pain.

Oh, those were the good old days.

I had a really good time writing this one, I forgot about Examinations. If only I could go back in time to experience those moments again when everything was so simple.

Good times.

12
$ 2.72
$ 2.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @McYusuf
+ 3
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Throwback

Comments

Good childhood memories you've got. Tom and Jerry was and will always be one of my timeless cartoons to watch :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mine too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wasn't really to cartoons during my childhood days but what I know I really enjoyed was football

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can only wish Adulthood is all a scam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha... Or maybe it's just life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Swears!!! Gone are the days. Why now!

I am almost crying reading this. Those cartoons You forgot the Teletubies, Pokémon, Winnie the Pooh, Donald Duck, Simpsons, and many more. Hahahaha

Pinky and the brain.. some days ago I had to open my YouTube just to start listening to those rhymes all over again.

Gone are the days, that may never return ever again

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The list is just too long, I had to just stop there, as I type it, it kept bringing back those good rumours, the fact that I still know the theme songs shocked me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo!! Make i no even talk about those school days. The eleganza and bic biro, the rainbow crayon, the big notebooks…

Gone Gone gone!! 😰😰😥😥🤫

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tears come in my eyes reading this because I also remember my childhood when everything was pure and innocent and there were no worries.Tom and jerry were also my favourite cartoon,even now sometimes I also love to watch it with nephew. I will definitely go hear this song of NF.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

When I heard the movie was coming out I was so unusually excited, oh..it is really good to think back to those days

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right sometimes old memories provide us pleasurable moments

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i miss the old times. too bad we grow old so fast

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, we do grow up fast, growth is just inevitable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right about appreciating your childhood days more. Whenever the beauty of childhood experience comes up, I always remember the words of our Lord Jesus Christ that '.....Until you become like these little children you will never enter the kingdom of God.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, children don't bear grudges, quick to forgive, open minded and always ready to learn and full of innocence

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really liked Tom and Jerry when I was young. I even cry when my Dad doesn't buy a DVD so I can watch episodes of Tom and Jerry. Because I can't be satisfied with Cartoon Network, I just really want multiple episodes to be aired.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Till today I still love Tom and Jerry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you will really laugh :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really love to be a kid again haha Because of this I remember the good memories of my chilhood

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, childhood had some good memories

$ 0.00
2 years ago