The season of love? Oh please

9 41
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Valentine

It's the month of love, February 14, a day we all know as Valentine's day, despite its original origin, it has become a season where people show love to one another by gifting friends and loved ones. The ways of showing love even run deeper but let us not go into that.

Who was Saint Valentine?

Once upon a time....

There lived a Roman Emperor whose name was Claudius II, he was so war driven that he saw the idea of having an emotional attachment to one's family as a weakness during battles that he banned all marriages (hey, I guess you didn't know that, imagine if this Emperor gave a rule in our time that no one should be in a relationship, eh?)

A Priest, Saint Valentine didn't comply with this law and still went ahead to marry young lovers behind closed doors until one day he was discovered and imprisoned. During the days he spent in the prison, he received flowers from the couples who he had helped join them in marriage as gratitude.

The man wasn't less busy himself, he fell in love with the warden's daughter (awwn, so romantic). Alas, the day came for him to be persecuted, but he didn't leave without first leaving a letter to his beloved.

"To my Valentine"- the letter began, a tradition that has been adopted. So, what lesson have you learned from this short story? Valentine's Day, now February 14 is a celebration of the love shared and the ones not.

What are you getting for your loved one?

My roommates and I spent the whole month analyzing what gift would be well suited to give our girlfriends (oops, no girlfriends). That's when the oppression hits. It gets worse when you see the "big boys" roll into school with their fancy cars to woo their girlfriends (or vice versa).

The popular quote -No money, no love- becomes real on this day, love is never enough so why do we call it "a season of love" when it is in fact "a season of showing wealth". Even if you spend a lot on presents, you shouldn't be surprised to see someone doing even more in the name of love.

Season of love? What a joke, it's not love when you leave other people feeling sad and oppressed, is it? I personally wouldn't mind having a box of chocolate cookies and soft drinks to help minimize the oppression, wouldn't you agree?

What are you doing today?

I wish I could boldly say at this point that I would just stay in my room, chilling and watching a Netflix movie while eating a plate of Spaghetti and Chicken, and a bottle of 5'alive fruit drink, alone or with my baby depending on how the perfect day turns out....ha, it feels so nice just thinking about it.

The reality is quite different, I have to be up in exactly 4 hours to pray (morning devotion), right after that, freshen up and go for classes. It would last till the later hours of the day just before the boys and I go out to train for an upcoming game this week.

Right after that, I have another hall program to attend and right after that it would be deep into the evening, I'll be so exhausted as I would lay down to sleep after what would have been an existing day. Sighs.

What you should do?

As I said, it IS after all the season of love, to my single friends, remember that before you love someone else, you have to first love yourself, treat yourself to something nice. Go out and have fun or simply do whatever makes you happy. That kind of joy is underrated nowadays but it should be encouraged.

To the ones who wish to make it special for their love, there is no crime in wanting to go big but please try to do it moderately or at least privately, not everyone who smiles with you over your gifts is actually happy with you, take heed.

To the rest of us, the goal should be for you to make at least one person smile. It goes a long way, you have no idea just how much money's worth of Therapy you have saved a mate through that single act.


Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Meet my amazing sponsors 

I have not been chanced to write in some days now due to school activities, all of a sudden it started to feel like my time wasn't mine anymore. I need to plan my time better in the coming days to stay consistent.

References

History of Valentine - History.com

9
$ 2.62
$ 2.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Itsfarah
+ 5
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Valentine

Comments

Hahaha @greatwolfman !!!! An epic enlightenment boss, truly a show of wealth??? My expressed love in my little way boss! With hope that there are better days ahead .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So far I have not seen something big this period of Val ooh. Are they couples hiding or tired,or maybe is because am in school or what. To all of us that are single let's make one person happy it really counts💯👍✌. Thanks boss a Happy Val.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I finally got to spend my valentines with a simple dinner with my family hehez just a dinner because we are all so busy this whole afternoon because of responsibilities but still doesn't forget to spend this special day together. Anyways haha I laugh at no money no love it's very practical these day and I see a lot of pictures videos of surprises and gifts that's really seems expensive to give to love ones yet this days should not be just for show off luxaries and etc... but it's for showing love and making your loveones smile. Anyways Happy valentines day to you😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love that story, it is sad and romantic. St. Valentine was a hero in his time. Happy valentine every one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth be told, we all must find away to gift our loved ones especially during this day. It's a pity you have to been class throughout the better part of the day but I believe you will surely have some good thing with your baby.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What I am.doing today? Busy working, I still.have a lot of works to do so. Then gonna go home later. That's how this day will ends😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tHANKS FOR ACKNOWLEDGING WITH THE ORIGIN OF VALENTINE. AND THERE WAS A GOOD MESSAGE BY YOU AT THE END

AND THE HUMOR "no money, no love" was sarcastic ahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you love someone it does not choose any occasion or any date. Authentic and real love always in the air

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Personally I also think that there shouldn't be any specific day to show our love to our loved ones by presenting gifts or flowers,because real love don't need to be pretend by spending your wealth. Be the real and show your love with emotions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago