Procastination

7 59
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago

"I'll do it later"

Image source

I have developed a theory about myself that I work better under pressure. I developed this Theory after carrying out a lot of test on myself, some of which I will share with you.

The next semesters exams is just around the corner and I've refused to study or work on any of my projects - one of which is due for submission tomorrow.

I should be worried or at least try to do something about it but I'm not, this is an issue that I've been fighting since I can remember.

"Why do it now when you can just do it later"

  • Test 1 - Primary School

Doing my homework

Growing up I never liked homework, extra stress, after a long and stressful day in class I still have to come home and do more of that. Precious time to catch up on my favorite cartoons like Ben 10, Avatar, Justice league, Pinky and the Brain, Scooby Doo - oh the good times!

Did I do my homework? Yeah, you guessed it again, I didn't - unless on those unfortunate days Mom brings a new Cane from school and sits by my side to do them.

It was so much easier doing it on the bus by copying my friend, Victor's work.

Conclusion

By doing this, I was able to watch my Cartoon Programs and still do the assignment right before submission. Genius right?

  • Test 2 - Secondary school

Create a reading Timetable

My Uncle, who happens to be a Professor in Mathematics taught me this in secondary school, my Junior years. Apparently creating your personal reading timetable gives you a sense of purpose and goals, if you can be consistent with it success is assured.

The idea of toping the class following this method felt so simple and alluring - that "I can do this" moment which of course only lasted for three days before that voice kicked in.

"Let us rest today, we can do this tomorrow"

Did I listen? You bet I did!

To be fair it's so much easier not to do anything.

Surprisingly - not surprised, few days to exams, I still aced it. Okay admittedly I could have done better but at least I achieved the target my parents set for me - being Teachers themselves.

Conclusion

You don't need to follow any timetable, just do it when the pressure is on.

Stick with me, it's about to get even more interesting, using the principle of Induction, I induced that this principle should work for other activities such as:

I have to do my Library registration to get my library card - University

I have to do my Medical examination now that it's still free before I have to pay a huge amount during my final year - University

Will I do them now? No, but will I get it done before any deadline? Yes, of course.

One other thing I learnt from about Procastination is:

When you are not the only one not doing what you're supposed to, it only encourages you not to do anything - Think about it

As with everything in life, there are pros and cons - I'm learning about life now, I hope I'm learming right.

"I'll do it later "almost cost me the opportunity to register for PUTME to get admission into the University.

"I'll do it later" made me lose the girl I've always wanted to be my girlfriend to another guy - at least that's what I think.

"I'll do it later" almost made me miss out on the opportunity to be a part of this wonderful community, read.cash.

Maybe Procastination is not a good idea, perhaps the time to do it is NOW!

  • Result

Success - twice

Warning strike - twice

Failure - once

To be fair, the odds are still in my favour, but I won't sit around and wait for another failure.

I've decided to work on this issue -Procastination.

Having a daily target on read.cash as increased my consistency so far.

Writing about this issue has helped me analyse everything from a different perspective - where I'm the judge of my bad habit.

I should go and complete my project and read against the upcoming examinations.

Will I do it Now? I prefer to keep you guessing, I guess we will both know when I post my next article tomorrow. Have a good one.

8
$ 2.92
$ 2.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago

Comments

Honestly I think I am the queen of procrastination........ I don't think I actually finish something early........ But I like doing things with the pressure of the clock....... My best work comes from that

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly, you get it...but does it make Procastination okay?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know, maybe it's relative

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The way I am seeing procrastination articles here and there . .. is God trying to say something??😂😂🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ha...no ohhh...that is not God speaking

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Procrastination is very bad and I'm a victim always delaying tasks untill the last minute

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This means I'm not alone...lol...we need to work harder on it

$ 0.00
2 years ago