Last Paper Syndrome

12 150
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Exams

I have been away for a while because I needed to focus on my exams, and I have for a while now. Tomorrow is supposed to be the last exam of the semester and I'm finding it very difficult to assimilate anything new.

I have missed reading articles, I have set a target to read at least 50 articles starting from Monday in order to cover up on what I have missed, I know you are probably thinking, that is not possible, but I have a plan laid down already. I will do this task at intervals bit at a stretch.

Anyway, here we are, I'm with my phone again doing what I love doing, writing my heart out. I'm hoping at the end of this article I would have found my strength and courage to complete what I have started.

Last paper syndrome could be said to be the state your mind attains on your last paper which makes you feel much less concerned about your final exams. It's a psychological distraction that makes the holidays look closer to you.

You can click here to get the source

Most of us have experienced this feeling, you start to feel lazy and tired when the journey is coming to an end, but as the saying goes "start strong, finish strong", at least that is what I'm striving for.

Before I head to my current dilemma, let us take a look at the background of this situation.

This week has been really long, I have been tested both emotionally, financially, and mentally. I even got to the peak when I just didn't want to stare at my book again. I played some music to calm me down and ate to my fill, not because I was hungry, just stress eating. I did suffer the repercussions but it gave me clarity.

To think this was the worst was a mistake, just the other day, I stepped into the examination auditorium, we were spaced out to prevent any form of communication. The questions were distributed, it was soon time, I opened the question and I know how to answer everything. In my excitement, I requested permission to take a pee, only for me to return to discover I couldn't remember a single one...my memories had gone blank. I turned to my left, I saw @HappyBoy and @Jumper-01 focused on their papers. I almost broke down in tears. What sort of temptation is this. It took me a while before it came back to me but it did and thank God, I was able to survive that experience unscathed.

After the exams, I told my roommate about the experience, his diagnosis was I needed to rest (a luxury I couldn't afford at the time) but I did consider it. I saw the movie" The good doctor" to get my inspiration back.

In case you were wondering, it didn't happen again, I guess stress is a major factor affecting memories recollections although I do know some Engineering Students who assimilate quickly when they are under stress so I stand corrected.

After a long streak of exams, each with their challenges, so long that I can't type it all, even though I couldn't write an article about them, I did make some noise about them each day on noise.cash which made me earn even as I was under pressure. The sound of the notification bell from my Bitcoin.com wallet also motivated me although I wish I had posted more celebratory news instead of complaints but it couldn't be helped, I had to let those steam out.

This leads me to now, I have survived all the major courses that could possibly be a problem and somehow I have managed to scale through but there is one more-Building Construction Technology. If you are familiar with the Built Environment, either as a Builder, Architect, Quantity Surveyor, Civil Engineer, etc, you would notice that being able to represent building elements in doctoral forms plays a major role in how you understand the particular field. The course I will be doing tomorrow consists of mainly drawing, a whole bunch of them, and I have to learn how to draw and label every one of them neatly and accurately as well as getting a sound understanding of their construction technology.

In simpler terms, I have a whole lot of work to do but I am unable to do anything at the moment.

I have been talking about my problems all day with no solution.

Hmm, looks like I have some for myself.

  • Sleep

The importance of good sleep can not be overemphasized. A good sleep relaxes your body, mind, and soul as well as the brain's neurons. Emphasis on "good" sleep.

  • Eat

I don't know about you but eating good food once in a while helps me relax and makes me happy, just ensure it's healthy. A healthy lifestyle contributes greatly to a sound mind.

  • Writing

For me, writing out things either on a paper or on a screen gives me better clarity on what I need to do. Look at that, it's working.

  • Take a break

Go on a walk, talk to your loved ones, see a short movie, enjoy a good comedy show, just take a break from books.

I don't know if this theory really holds but have you noticed how much you really want to do something when you know you can no longer do it?

Yes, by taking a break and denying your brain the pleasure of not reading, it will only want it more -at least it is what I think. Let me put this to a test, I'll update you on the result tomorrow after the last paper.

Hope you are all having a nice day, if not, I wish you a happy one.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Do check out my sponsor's block

Lead image source from unsplash

8
$ 3.35
$ 3.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 4
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Exams

Comments

Te deseo éxitos en tu exámen de mañana, descansa, duerme suficiente para que llegues relajado y con la mente fresca, mamá me decía cuando yo tenía un examen que me veía estudiando el día antes que ya no estudiara hoy que ya me sabía todo lo que debía que lo que no me sabía ya no lo iba a aprender, así que de seguro terminas tu último exámen muy bien y muchas veces me quedaba en blanco en el medio de la prueba pero al final el recuerdo llegaba y terminaba todo sin problemas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always do cramming whenever our exam is approaching and it is really not good tho. Giving our mind a break before the exam is also a act to do better 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Interesting way to look at it, I like this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so relatable I think we are all suffering from the same thing all through the night I have been trying to read but I can’t assimilate anything it s like my Brain is already closed for business for this session without letting me know . But I am not about to give up I can never stop now not at the end of the line . Thank you for helping me to feel like I am not the only one going through it .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always rest my mind before taking the exam. I don't cram because that is what makes the pressure worst.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Cramming can be very dangerous too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They said that you should rest your mind before the exam.. And I guess, that is important...to avoid pressure..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmm, I will try this, thanks for the contribution

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exam pressure is in no small measure the kind of stress you want to go through all over again.

That moment when your memory went blank reminded me of my last days in the university, as the only student in my department, I read wild to be able to satisfactorily earn a degree. In one of final papers, East and Central Africa History, I couldn't remember anything at all.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, that must been scary for you too... It's not a pleasant experience, just hoping it doesn't happen again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should try to practice more of your drawing before tomorrow because I know it isn't easy especially labelling aspect. You must not miss any labelling part I wish you success in your exams tomorrow.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen, thank you very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago