Write Explicitly on Something(s) you're Proud

4 18
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

Day 2

I received a call from from a friend Tonye, by 14:00 hours on that faithful day ; I should go check my jamb score I went and purchased the jamb scratch card, checked the result, I scored 250 in jamb.

I was really happy and glad; I will study mechanical engineering i applied for in one of the best university.

Unfortunately, that dream was cut short! when I went to the school admission's office, I was informed that the cut off point for mech was 255, I proceeded to the HoD, to see if I could get him to give me a leeway, to my surprise! he affirmed! what I was told in the admission office.

"I can't be offered admission in mech" because they have candidates on; First choice, merit, basic, government list, community lists to consider.

"I should go and rewrite jamb", I was disappointed.

I went and complained to a Professor in that department , he took me to the HoD's office, the Prof. Was told the same thing.

The HoD's statements was like a script, well written waiting for the right audience." Go and rewrite jamb".

I tried, writing jamb for two consecutive times, I did not score much, so on my third trial, a friend suggested I should go meet the Registrar, which I did.

I Never knew the registrar, so I got to the school administrative office building, I was denied entrance that!

I was not on appointment, I sat outside for two to three hours, with my eyes red as a fresh tomatoes. Someone taps me on my shoulder, hey!

Young Man what is troubling you? I stammered and explained myself, he asked me to come to his office, I followed him immediately, "like a child rescued from the beating of his/her parents".

In his office, he checked my documents and asked, me to come back in two weeks time to check if my name is out or not, I thanked him.

In two weeks time, I was in front of the notice board, I checked all the list. I did not see my name, I was disappointed, started walking back home.

I decided to go back, to check the list again, I took my time. One after the other, checking the admission list, lo! and behold! my name was in no. 35 in Mechanical Engineering list, I shouted with excitement! went to the man's office and informed him of the development,

he laughed and advised I should should start my clearance immediately.

At that point , I realized he was the registrar of the university.

The first semester was very challenging, trying to find my feet, looking for lecture halls, doing my clearance.

The worst part was you will have to miss a class or two in other to meet the non- academic staff in the office to clear you.

Before I could say Jack Robinson! we were in first semester exams,

I did the best I could do but unfortunately my best wasn't good enough.

When I went to check my results, I saw 3 F's in my result. I need not be told that I had failed 3 courses out of 7 courses that first semester.

The next semester, I started extra moral classes, stayed for lecture, moved to the hostel accommodation.

My results, started improving, schoollife began to be interesting, I joined the theater trop, fellowshiped with Nifest , made some friends, learnt how to lie, to get extra money from my folks.

I was to offer 7 courses per semester, I would tell them it was 14 courses, the extra money I used to buy clothes, pay for extra moral classes buy foreign books.

The semesters of year 2, was all study, no time for play or extra curricular activities, I faced lectures and my books.

The first semester of year 3, I struggled with study, it was like the rock of academics was caving in, on me!

My grades were dropping, I was losing focus in class, during lectures like; a class on thermodynmics; my mind was wondering on things I couldn't understand.

I sought counsel, from the faculty academic advisor, after a lengthy discussion, I needed a break, I went home to rest for one week; I still kept in-touch with school, to get information on happenings in the department.

The second semester was better, studies, friends, lectures and the lecturers were more friendly and my grades pick-up like; a car in motion with 12 plugged engine. Before I went for one year industrial training.

The one year Industrial training , became a challenge on were to serve, I wrote several applications, I did not get a reply, I ended up paying for a machine shop; as an apprentice, to get a practical knowledge ; on lathe machine, drilling machine, reaming, steelwork, foundry work, marking out, measuring, Caliper reading, fabrication, milling , shaping and grinding machine.

In my final year, I ensured all the courses I wrote the carry overs were passed and entered, my performance improved in class.

The final exam, I sat in front row, I did not want to be distracted by anyone, the results were good.

At the end of second semester after the exams, I parked my things home.

Some months later, I went to visit my cousin in Abuja, I received a call from a course mate Segun, "that the final result has been pasted, I was the best in my class!

That graduated with second class upper in mechanical engineering" not too long the convocation ceremony held.

I won several prizes, awards, scholarships and i was given the honor to make a speech on behalf of the graduands.

That was the best day of my life and I was proud of myself.

Lesson: Don't give up, be persistent, the door will surely open someday.

#motivation #life #lesson

14
$ 1.39
$ 1.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

Comments

Your articles really good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good to read you didn't gave up.

"I would tell them it was 14 courses, the extra money I used to buy clothes, pay for extra moral classes"... It feels a bit weird to read this... You learned to lie and moral lessons... What are moral lessons?

🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

if you really want something and you did your best the result will be success and it is true that never gave up to reach your goal ...thank you for sharing your storyof motivation and lessons in your life

$ 0.00
User's avatar eve
3 years ago

Thank you for your kind words. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago