There's a certain satisfaction to doing a job well, even when you're not keen on the job.

Avatar for GreatWhiteSnark
2 years ago

I've just finished day #2 of a four day contract to do some gardening work over the course of this week and next, for an office block. (Their previous guy was useless and messed around a lot. Apparently, I've done more in two days than he did in six months! I don't know what he did other than fiddle about to an unimaginable degree and get himself fired, because the garden was an absolute mess and seriously neglected. Clearly, the guy definitely didn't want the job and had no motivation or need for the money, like I do. I would know full well, since I've been that guy before.)

I really don't like doing housework (except washing dishes) or yard work, so I'm not exactly enthusiastic or enjoying the work while I do it. However, there's a certain satisfaction to be had from getting stuck in early in the day, working consistently and hard, getting done what's required and getting out again so that it's done and dusted and at least the rest of my day is my own. No good comes of letting things hang over one and building up dread.

I need to remember to have that attitude/approach to work (and life) more. Thankfully, I have good people in my life to remind me of that when I slip or forget, so that I can be open to opportunities when they present themselves (instead of being obstinate and negative about them, finding excuses as to why I can't or don't want to take them). Indeed I am fortunate to have the good company of such people in my life, even though I am surrounded by detractors and dream-stealers who'd delight in seeing me fail or trapped in some joyless and futile repetitive career that pays me big bucks to sell my soul.

The money's not great by any means, but it's better than not earning and at least I'm doing something tangibly beneficial and improvements/progress is quickly visible. My employers certainly seem to be happy with the work I've done so far. Here's hoping it will tide me over/keep me afloat until the kennels get busy and need me full time again (instead of just on weekends).

I've also been given an assessment, by an eCommerce company that sells high-end cookware, to build a demo product review site in the space of a week, using any language(s) and framework(s) I see fit. A week's not much time, so I best get cracking on that. Hopefully, I do well enough to get the job, because I could really do with some wind in my sails and it's about time my ship came in.


Lead image: Photo by Rene Asmussen from/on Pexels

Sponsors of GreatWhiteSnark
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 0.10
Sponsors of GreatWhiteSnark
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for GreatWhiteSnark
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments