Good day everyone. I just want to share my conversation with my son. Me: Son do now your Physical Education output. He needs to do a video record of a short dance exercise as one of his output) Son: No mama, it is ok for me to get 75% grade than to dance. Me: Why you are like that? 75 is not good enough. Son: It good mama it is ok as I remember one of my previous teacher when I was in grade __ told me that I am not good in dancing and it's useless in front of my classmate . So better I will not dance anymore since it is not good to see. Me: No! you have to dance this time because it has a purpose will get a failing grade if you won't.

So sad to hear this coming from my son. Now I know why he doesn't like to dance since then. I am also a grade 9 teacher and what I learned from our conversation is that as a teacher or an adult dealing with this young minds, we have to be careful in using words to utter to them. Every individual has it's own difference on how to deal with those words. Some are passive, some are challenging, some are hurting it depends to the receiver of the words. Well, on my part I am thankful because my son is expressive to what he feels, he tells me what he feels and even reasons in every issues he had, to his friends even with us as his parents. Yet sometimes it sounds having a negative character coz the way he expressed it. But at the end of the day he when realized, he just simply calm down and hug me.

1
$
User's avatar
@Gracia42 posted 2 years ago

Comments