Culture

2 13
Avatar for Glory_et_Grace
2 years ago
#4
29/11/2021

Good morning readers and writers here, my three to four days I've used on this platform has really meant a lot as I have been able to say my mind. I was welcomed to the family like I was known before and there's no form of discrimination here, People are really good here and I pray this is how it continues because that's the only way our world can move forward. Let's take a check on my sponsors block

Sponsors of Glory_et_Grace
empty
empty
empty

Culture is basically the way of life, we can say it is the way a group of people agree to live their life. Culture has something to do with race and generation. More so, culture according to the English dictionary is "the ideas, customs, and social behavior of a particular people or society".

Culture is a really broad topic to talk about because it basically touches every point of the human life, our religion, food, dressing, language, and even our belief. I am going to narrow my article down to the Nigerian culture because of how broad the topic can get.

Basically in Nigeria, we have a lot of cultures in Nigeria, we have the Efik, Edo, Fulani and co but of all the cultures and over 250 ethnic tribes that we have there are three fundamental cultures that I'll be talking about today.

*1. The yorubas*

The historical of Yoruba culture is really an interesting topic on it's own and Maybe I'll be able to write about just that in the coming days, it consists of the folks and cultural philosophy.

Food

Even under the Yoruba culture, we have different types of people that love eating different traditional food that they prefer but I'll mention the common ones;

✓ Amala (yam flour)

✓ Iyan (Pounded yam)

✓ Eba

All these foods are most of the times, prepared by the Yorubas. They also have their preferences, for example, someone from Ekiti would probably enjoy and prefer pounded yam to Amala and all those priorities differ from states to states in the Yoruba land.

Dressing

Basically, we have some wears in the Yoruba land like

✓ Agbada

✓ Iro

✓ Buba

✓ Ofi

✓ Lace

✓ Aso alaro and so on and so forth....

Of all the tribes in my country, the Yorubas are the funniest in terms of believing some superstitions. An example of those beliefs is that a pregnant woman must not go out under the sun in the afternoon without tying the em of her cloth with a pin, they believe that any woman that doesn't do that might give birth to a child that'll be possessed with evil spirits but I find it hard to believe because how does pin stop evil spirit. I personally feel that all these rumors are passed from generation to generation and it must have been our great grand fathers that insinuated that belief but who am I to change them.

Language

Even though all of us are called the Yorubas and we speak the Yoruba language, our language still differ within our ethnicity. This difference is not caused by the total change in the mother's tongue but the language differs by intonation, different parts of Yorubas speak the language differently even though we all speak Yoruba.

I was thinking I'd write on the remaining two tribes or culture but it seems I'm running late for bed already. The remaining two tribes are hereby;

2. The Igbos and

3. The hausas

I hope that one day I'd be able to write more on all these tribes so that you can learn from our side...

Read and enjoy 🙂❤️

2
$ 0.11
$ 0.04 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
Sponsors of Glory_et_Grace
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Glory_et_Grace
2 years ago

Comments

Every tribe with their different culture but I still love my tribe Yoruba.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True tho

$ 0.00
2 years ago