International Women's Month

8 56
Avatar for Glez
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: People, Children, Journey, Women, Feminism, ...
Source: Google

There is something beyond the word that says "I am a woman". A woman for me is someone who is strong, who can endure that pain of labor, not to mention carry a life for 9 months. Their body is sacred as it can produce new generations but only a few can appreciate the significance of a woman to one's life. But we are so much more than that.

Let me bring you few years back in history, during the colonization of Spanish in our country where women are only asked to stay at home.

I am living in the Philippines and my grandfather used to tell us story about the World War and how is the life with Spaniards. Way before the women are advised to stay at home and just focus on doing or learning household chores or perform wife duties while men are given priveledge to go to school in order to study and learn. It has always been like that during the colonization. Spaniards colonized our country to like 333 years. For those years, men are well respected and feared since they are believed to be strong and intelligent.

But as the years passed by and when freedom was finally given to the Philippines with the help of the Americans women learned to fight for their right. Women started to show that we can be equal to men and that we can do better than just staying at home, doing household chores, nursing kids and being a housewife.

Oh! Do not get me wrong. I do not degrade housewives and those fellows that are doing the same job or are staying to look after their family but what I am saying is woman have empowered to show the world that we can be more than that.

And todays generation are even fiercer as we now have law to protect women. We can confidently say that we have the same right as those of men compared before.

"Republic Act 9710 - Magna Carta of Women" this a law for women human rights that seeks to eliminate discrimination through the recognition, protection, fulfillment and promotion of the rights of the Filipino women.

Todays generation of Women knows how to fight for their rights especially against violence. Many women from the past had been battered, raped and harassed just because we are weak. We can now see policewomen, lady fire fighters, lady guards, military women and more which have never been possible from our history.

Everyone can make a difference but women also has the power to make the world a better place. Do not limit us with providing you a soft touch and radiant smile because we can also fire a gun when needed.

With this months celebration of International Women's Month, the theme is #ChoosetoChallenge.

We are currently having this activity at work where we are asked to answer the question below:

I was asked if What do I "CHOOSE TO CHALLENGE"? and WHY?

I stated "#Ichoosetochallenge descrimination against how someones appearance/looks be it for women/men.

Many might have been crying in silence or fighting silent battles and the least we could do is be KIND. Admit it or not we are living in a cruel SOCIETY where BEAUTY STANDARD is almost impossible to reach. Some people would judge you by the following:

>COMPLEXION - Does your skin looks dry? Is your skin black/brown/white? With stretch marks?

> HEIGHT

> APPEARANCE - Are you pretty? Pointed nose, pouty lips, baby face and etc.

VITAL STATS- FAT? SLIM?

Let us learn to adjust our fellow QUEENS crown without anyone knowing it. Let us normalize looking at someones talent, intelligence and abilities instead of how they look because there are a lot of women even men who can show so much more to the world but are afraid because they get bullied by how they look. Wherever we are, descrimination has always been present which affected someones confidence and self esteem."

(ツ)

Many women even me personally are being bullied because we are not as beautiful as anyone and that we have not reached the standards that the cruel.society had set. My skin is just average compared to the others, moreover, I am way too short and this is much discrimanting and an insult to me and to anyone like me. We, I, deserve to be treated fair and right. Instead of lookin into what a woman can do, people focuses more on how a person look and then starts to show that disgusted face.

Thank you for reading this article.

To all the empowered women, continue to be : #STRONG_INDEPENDENT_BEAUTIFUL_WOMAN.

Published: March 12,2021

3
$ 3.88
$ 3.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.03 from @EvilWillow
Sponsors of Glez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Glez
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: People, Children, Journey, Women, Feminism, ...

Comments

I remember in the past time and history that women were not given any chance to become the president, to have a job or to even rule out and I have read a book about it. Women are not even allowed to protest and most of all women are only seen as a companion at house..to do household chores and to serve its husband.

I was thankful that I am not born in those era because I cannot imagine myself not being able to apply for a job I want to or to even participate and engage into something I want to.. Those women born in the past are unfortunate and we in the present are being given so much privilege that we should treasure and be grateful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed. I cant imagine how my grandma suffered before. Most of the women before knows how to sew clothes, curtains and etc because thats how they let time pass by while waiting for their husband to arrive. I also so much grateful for being born on this generation. I would rather work than just stay at home. Its just not for me hahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, and we should use this opportunity in a good way, in a positive way and most of all we shouldn't complain much because we are already given so much freedom in this generation. Being grateful is the key.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Women are very privileged beings. We can do multiple tasks in the home and do them very well. While we work for our remuneration and do it very well. We are able to multitask and that is not to the detriment of the former. We endure the natural pains due to our gender, menstrual, childbirth, illness, we endure it all with a lot of fortitude without breaking down. Because we are strong in our minds even though our muscles are not as anatomically developed as in men. But we can do all activities without being belittled for it. We are worth it. Long live women! Long live life together without looking down on anyone!! no shape, no color, no build, no economic power, no nothing.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I love this comment my friend very empowered! Indeed we are blessed with so much from above. Thank you for your time in reading my article and upvoting. It flatters me to read comments and engage or exchange thoughts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's one of the nice things about this platform that we get involved in the comments with the articles we all do. Keep going I like your article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. And it is such an honor to have met you and the others in this platform as well. I have so much to learn and I get to learn for free plus I am earning! Yey

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's right hahaha. Keep growing you will do well!

$ 0.05
3 years ago