Declined Softdrinks for the First Time

8 31
Avatar for Glez
Written by
1 year ago

Way back College I used to drink Softdrinks almost if not daily. It has been like a substitute of Water for me. I love it so much that I got addicted to it especially a frozen one.

Yesterday my partner offered me one and I declined which made him so shock. He knows how much I love softdrinks and declining it now means something.

Here in Philippines since we are a tropical country there are cases that we experience such a very hot weather most especially during the afternoon and when that comes our way to cool down is to put a lot of ice to our drinks and/or buy a frozen Softdrinks. It would feel great!

Softdrinks specifically Coca Cola is been part of the Filipino culture though not all of us because there are still some remote areas that are not reached by this I believe but whenever we celebrate like Christmas, Birthdays, Weddings and the likes Softdrinks will always be there.

But I believe we all know the disadvantage of such beverage to our health right?

Let me tell you a story.

There is this one time when I was on break at work my mom called me and asked if I can send her some amount because they got no food for breakfast. Since I only got an hour as it was my lunch break I decided to go out of the company premise and looked for any remittance center then sent the money to her. Right after that I saw some store or what we call here Karenderia who sells foods like Restaurants. I craved for adobo when I saw it plus they have suka and toyo with sili. To make my lunch a little bit more of a satisfying, they also gave FREE soup! Yes!

I was eating way faster than usual because I only got less than 30 minutes left.

After eating I run directly to work. Good thing no ones waiting in the elevator. When I entered I felt like my head is about to explode and at the lower part of my head it felt numb then my vision became blurry.

But I tried to just neglect it but then while I was working I got so shocked because when I tried to look around I can only see half of the things while the other half are just all white. I panicked but instead of asking to be brought to clinic I asked to under time. I know it was a bad choice and it could be the end of me but then I am really afraid of going to hospitals. Not because of needles but because of such abusive charges they add to patients especially when knowing that a patient is under insurance and/or has a good position at work.

Then I rode on a jeepney and I got so alarmed when my right face felt numb and it feels like my mouth is been deformed like the right side of my mouth is going up and I cannot even control it.

Little did I know, I was already experiencing MILD STROKE.

From then on I kept an eye to my health but then when pandemic started and all the things which messed up my life I lose control of what I eat and went back to my usual habit of buying coke whenever I eat my meal.


...end thoughts...

I saw a video one time that in Mexico they are even praying using Coke and they believed it to be a cure of some disease. Right now, on the said country many people die due to diabetes but they won't believe that part of the reason is because of their daily in take of Coke.

Weird right?!

Anyway, do not forget to share your thoughts here below. Thank you for dropping by!

Image Source: Unsplash


7
$ 1.62
$ 1.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
$ 0.02 from @Freedom007
+ 3
Sponsors of Glez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Glez
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Dati subrang hilig ko sa coke, pero nung nagka acid reflux tito ko, yun yata tawag dun or heart burn, ayun minimize na. Pero umiinom pe rin ako now pero di na gaya ng dati hihi. Katakot yung nangyari sayo, Ako na try ko yan pero pa collapse na kaya kalahati na lang din nakikita ko talaga.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Nakakatakot talaga sis pagka magkasakit na nako :( nsa huli pa naman pagsisisi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'M just getting over soft drinks recently and I noticed the difference.... Before the asuu strike, I could drink 3 bottles of coke in a day and I knew it was bad for my health but stopping it is way harder than I thought

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am feeling the same now. Im giving myself a cheat day until I can totally remove it from my system.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kami din sis minsan lang talaga. Ang 2 kids ko sis hindi sila nsanay tumikim ng softdrink sabi nila pakla. Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

too much of everything is not good talaga.. you were able to recover from the mild stroke sis so we hope to be very vigilant with our sugar intake

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan lang po talaga ako mag soft drinks ate kapag may mga handaan or kapag nag crave po haha. Di rin kasi healthy talaga ate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakatakot yung ganung experience ate. Anyway, oo napanood ko rin yung about sa coke na parang sinasamba somewhere.

$ 0.00
1 year ago