Calling

19 35
Avatar for Glez
Written by
3 years ago

I want to take a chill away from cryptocurrency topics for now. Let me tell you a story about calling, declining opportunities and still end up to the same position after couple of months. I'd like to share a lil about me to everyone.

Source: Unsplash

Do you believe in,"CALLING?"

Would you believe that something is really meant for you?

Let me tell you a story.

Years ago, I was asked by my Supervisor to submit a resume because there is a need for a certain position to fill in which is FS or Floor Support. FS role is to support the agents in the Production Floor. Answer queries through chat or stand as a Team Leader when TL is on leave.

I declined the offer. I was afraid with a lot of things, especially the thought that I would have to engage with couple of managers and supervisors. And I over think which eat up my confidence and expertise.

Then my Manager talked to me and told me:

"Glez, you have been working for long years on the industry and you are already good with the field we need you to be part of the support".

As a person I really don't give a fuss in what they called,"CALLING". Like they would often tell me if it is really your calling to be on that position or field then you will eventually get there but on that moment despite the fact that I was still single I wasn't really that career oriented. For me, I am good and contented with loggin in then take calls, logout and go home. That has been a routine for me for quite awhile. Despite me declining the offer my supervisor did not stop motivating me. He wanted me to be part of the Operations Force but still I really don't feel like I fit in to them.

Why?

For one, I can't afford their ways of living and I don't wanna be with those people who can go to everywhere and anywhere they like but I always get left behind because remember I am a breadwinner. Whenever you manage a team there will always be TEAM BUILDING, EAT OUT, COFFEE DATES and GIVEAWAYS to at least motivate your team to work better and I don't have that money to do so. I want to be on that position when I know I can follow the pace. I got tired of getting left behind and explaining to people why I am like this. Sometimes, they would tag me as anti-social but really if only they know. I don't know why people would ask you to be true but when you tell them what is true they won't believe you. They think call center agents are a walking ATM.

Example: I used to sell just anything be it food, clothes, shorts. I do buy and sell. Usually sell it to my officemates and have them pay me on payday. Sometimes I post my products on FB and then my friends would start to ask me to give them discounts like they would almost ask me to give them the product for FREE. The reason? Because I work as a call center. I am rich. Lol!

If I tell them I am not rich and that my salary isn't enough they won't believe me. Just because they know that call center agents are paid higher that our minimum wage.

The higher the pay the greater the expenses. But no one would understand that even my relatives would think I am greedy but I got used to it eventually and train myself not to mind those who doesn't give value to me as a person and doesn't respect me.

Just a year ago I was assigned to a different Manager since I got transferred to a newly open department or account. After 3 mos the account boomed and needed more people I was again asked by my Manager to apply as a PRT or Program Ready Trainer. As for the job description we still take calls but if there are new hires we will be the one who would train them or co-facilitate the Training. Still the same salary since this isn't a promotion just yet. It is like you will be a probee if you do good then you will become a Trainer that's where the promotion would take place.

I had to do a DEMO.

Then right after that I undergone a Panel interview. There was the Manager, 2 Master Trainers and the Supervisor.

I was so nervous by that time like after 5 years I never had any interview so I don't really know what would happen to me but remember what I told earlier about the "CALLING"?

So I just told myself charge to experience if I won't be accepted. There were 5 agents who tried their luck which includes me and I wasn't really expecting to get hired.

Then right after a day I got the result. I was Congratulated by my Manager and all my co-agents when I entered the Prod because I got hired as a PRT. Just wow!

Now that I have been working as PRT assisting agents, of course taking calls when needed I realize one thing. This is might be my calling to teach and share my knowledge. I felt that this has a part of me but I just declined to accept it.

Way before when I was in High School my teachers would often tell my being a teacher would suit me just fine because I am good in reporting, making visual aids and the likes but when I reached College I took a whole different course that even opposite to what I like.

Then my College Professor offered to refer me in our School so I could teach but I declined because I don't really thought I have the guts to teach. Like really.

Then here I am. Handling 20 agents. Training people to be part of our company. If you ask me about the task it is much of a pressure now since sometimes we would have to report the agents improvement and defend them which feels like I am always doing a defense with my THESIS or CASE STUDY (LOL). But God put me here so maybe I am really fit in here. He is the one who eventually made a way for me.

But I always remind myself not to brag and always be humble. Great power comes with greater responsibity.

One of these days I will talk about my experience handling different type of people with different knowledge and learning pace.

Conclusion:

If it is meant to be it will be. If you are really for that job then it is gonna be yours no matter what.

Thank you for reading a lil detail about me. I hope this worth your while. Comment your thoughts below. Have you ever had the same experience?

THANK YOU TO THESE WONDERFUL PEOPLE!

6
$ 5.69
$ 5.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
$ 0.05 from @meitanteikudo
+ 2
Sponsors of Glez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Glez
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I think you did the right thing, if you didn't feel ready at first. If it's meant to be then the opportunity opens up again. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. I wasnt sure if I actually can but so happened that this is fate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The higher the pay the higher the expenses. That is very true. I felt that, and it was one of my life sayings ever since. Although this saying is both good and bad, it's like a coin with 2 different sides. Also, this article made me think of another word. Passion. How does passion relates to "calling"? That's what is currently running on my mind after reading this piece.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi @meitanteikudo! Thank you for your upvote and sponsorship. This motivates me a lot. Never did I ever imagine I could get sponsors.

Yes. That has been what I kept on telling the people around me but they treat me like I am a walking ATM. πŸ˜… And if I dont give a penny I am greedy. Awp rhyme haha.

Thank you for your thoughts. πŸ€—

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol yeah. That is just the way it goes I guess. At least, you look like a rich person, so just treat it as a compliment. haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha yaz sometimes I told them thanks for the compliment hope it do come true πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Certainly. I do hope so that we also become rich not only with our looks, but with our bank accounts also. :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha yaz! Ill pray for that. Bch is our future. I have faith in it and of course discipline is the key.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am rich already. Let's claim it. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahha yes! I am rich wohooo! BCH to the eh! 😁 lets meet there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Heheh looking forward to it. :) it might take time but we will achieve it. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes! For anything for my legacy! Hopefully I can learn more as well Im still tryin to familiarize myself with all these crypto havent entered trading just yet.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your conclusion somewhat enlighten me especially nowadays that I am pressured in applying for Deped. Well, you are right ma'am @Glez , if it's meant to be yours, it will be yours. ☺️ If God will give me this opportunity or the other way , I will accept it whole heartedly. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes do not pressure yourself way too much. Just pray if thats what you really want but really God will give you something that suits you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed ma'am πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are really things that we did not plan to happen, but we became unaware of our Calling. You don't want to be a teacher but you are now handling agents! I am like that last time, I studied IT and end up teaching IT, it was not my dream. But as you said, God put as here and we should be thankful about it!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. I really dont like teaching at all. I am short tempered. Thats why I did not agree with people telling me teaching is this and that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I share the same sentiments with you. My first years in the college was not easy, I was young then, idealistic but I learned through time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yep thats how it works. We get through challenges and consequences and we learn from it. There are even cases when the problem were caused by other people and we have to suffer as well but we just gotta fight.

$ 0.00
3 years ago