The Mother Hen and the Preying Kite

7 14
Avatar for Gianna-B
2 years ago

Good day people. A day to remember in Catholics calendar. A holy Friday in preparation for Easter celebration. How are you all doing and I hope you're doing good right now. It happening right here in my city at immaculate heart of Mary parish. It will be going down soon and I can't wait to catch the full episodes of this good to see week of the year.

Today has been so good. I will be welcoming some special persons sooner, to stay over with me for Easter celebration. I really can't wait no longer. In my imagination, she is here already.

Checking out all my daily activities and schedules, it was amazing to see that I did everything yesterday. I started with a jog in the early morning and I jogged for and hour, thirty minutes. It was a very nice workout because I was on my hoodies and the weather for few days now has been warm again.

As I was on the jog in the morning, I saw a kite predating a chick. A new hatched chicks. They were innocently taking a walking with their new legs that barely could carry their weight. When I was approaching near from my distance, the kite who has been flying around all the Cardinals was patiently waiting for a threat like me to pass. I saw that huge bird but was unable to decipher what it was about to do.. As I jogged and passed the chic's and there mother hen, the next was a heavy cry of the chicken and chicks.

They were seen by me running as fast as their legs could carry them for their safety. The mother hen was angry and ready for a war as she moved with all the feathers up and face red all through.

This must be a very bad experience I thought; because for a newly hatched chicks to go through this dangerous situation and it only their mother protecting them is so risky. They do not know their rights from their left. All they read and understand is mother and now, an enemy is lurking around. Without care, they have to pay for the situation with their life.

As all this live drama was unfolding, the small and innocent chick hid themselves under leaves and plants. They had read that danger signals from their mother and took to it, running scattered and seeking for extra shelter. The mother hen was left at the scene, facing the flying predator. It had every courage needed to give the kite a fight to death, making sure that she protects her kids.

The kite flew past and the mother hen flew towards it for attack but the kite flew away with speed, still suspending itself on the air waiting for another opportunity to strike.

I noticed that the chicks who were at their hideouts, lay silently without a sound. They were so quite and that was what saved them alot. After the kite flew away, the mother hen walked away to another place, continuing in search of food.

As the whole situation unfolded, I was just watching and hoping that kite fail it's mission. The mother hen was brave enough to defend and win the attack. Kudos to her and every mother out there in the jungle.

Mother hen use to make me scared, even till now. I have fears for them because, they don't take chances to ward of intruders away attacking them with their beak and talons. The mark from the attack s so painful. Those days as a kid, I was just passing on my own, just walking innocently and the next was a mother hen launching an attack on me. She gave me a chance of my life and the bitter part was that it can run and fly; so fast. It was my mom when she heard my voice, rushed out and scared the angry hen away. Now let me ask this question. Have you been chased by a mother hen? what was the feeling?

Thanks for reading and have a beautiful Friday. Shout out to all the christians celebration their Easter week.

Copyright @Gianna-B, 2022 and all rights reserved.

Image credit: all pictures from unsplash

4
$ 1.09
$ 1.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
2 years ago

Comments

I used to see this all the time when I was younger and my mum reared chickens. Those mother hens can fight for Africa

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And in this season of rainfall, when the kites fall to a different wall, the hen and her chicks can now relax in fearless wax.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have lots of chicks in our yard. I am raising them and eventually increase in number. Until they are good to sell.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's nice. Just do well to protect them against predators

$ 0.00
2 years ago

indeed a beautiful month we are in where we are experiencing the Muslims fasting and the Christians having a symbolic day on a good Friday. I wish the both largest religion can have all the friendliness and live in harmony as their rituals clash in this month and day. Merry Esther in advance sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Merry Easter too dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago