Sometimes Life is Hard But We Make It Soft

2 68
Avatar for Gianna-B
7 months ago

In my life, I've discovered that when I can be kind to myself and lessen my self-criticism, not only are things more enjoyable, but I've also been able to succeed much more. It's not very funny to laugh every day. When difficulties arise, ownership and accepting full responsibility for our lives and the world around us are crucial, but doing so can be challenging for a number of reasons.

First of all, we constantly find ourselves swimming in a culture that enjoys assigning blame and offering justifications. Second, there are several events that affect us directly but over which we have no direct influence, including other people, the economy, the weather, our choices, and a variety of local and international circumstances. All these I classify as the basis of excuse because we only use them while explaining our blames.

We can always choose how we interact with what is happening and how we perceive what is happening to us, to others, and even to ourselves. When we accept responsibility, we let go of blaming and making excuses (or we catch ourselves as quickly as we can when we're going down that bad path.) We also promise ourselves that we would work hard to make the life we actually desire rather than just react to what is "happening to us." But what about those plans..

Because you have broken your promises time and time again, no one believes in you.

When did you say you will visit the gym every day?

You gave up after two weeks.

Your goal for the new year?

In 4 months, you destroyed it.

You promised to discover a means to earn money online, right?

After a month of trying, you give up.

You are a liar, so nobody trusts you.

When you say things and make commitments, you don't feel bad about it.

You question why no one pays attention to you.

You don't even believe yourself, though, in your heart.

All of these ideas are quite straightforward, but as with many other topics I write and speak about, it is much easier to grasp them than to put them into practice and embody them. Making peace with what is (even if we don't like it) is what it means to surrender; surrendering to your plans in life. It has to deal with focus and it doesn't mean giving up or caving in.

A major paradox in life is that we cannot bring about the changes we want or feel the joy we seek until we can be at peace with what is actually happening in the present (i.e., letting go of our resistance and of our obsessive emphasis on how things should be).

Every time we battle, judge, or oppose what is taking place in our life, we suffer. It can be amazing to realize how smoothly things have flown, though, when we're able to accept things exactly as they are.

"Let's see the world as we are not as it is"

I came up with this article as I was sitting on the balcony thinking about ways to raise this $110 for my projects and school payments. I just don't have anyone to talk to about it right now as my dad is in the hospital. He was operated on hernia. The bills are not paid yet and here is another me running out of time. I need these magic powers to get over all these.

@ Gianna-B

Image sources: unsplash.com

4
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
$ 0.02 from @gertu13
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
+ 1
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
7 months ago

Comments

It's all in the mind. Our way of thinking defines many things, success, failure, our personal relationships, our problems, and many more things.

If you want to know the origin of something, go to your mind. The answer will be there.

I am in favor of self-knowledge, also that we can achieve anything we set our minds to (as long as it doesn't hurt other people). All with the power of our mind.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

I hope you can find the solution to your problem. I once heard a psychologist colleague tell me that there is no such thing as guilt. After thinking about it for some time I think I understand what she says. We must assume the consequences of our actions and stop saying that word that we like so much. Whose fault is it?

$ 0.00
7 months ago