Never let an Old flame Burn You Twice (Fire Prompt)

2 33
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

I used to be a friend of one of the most beautiful element and we used to be good to each other too. We were like brother and sisters and enjoyed it others company until things gradually, begins to change. Fire; beautiful, lively and lovely. As we grow we parted distance and that which seems to be my best friend, now is an old friend and we feel each other every day.

Long ago…

The night fell after a rainy day and there was no moonlight to illuminate the earth. My best friend was there for us as we assembled around her in our midst. Everyone could see each other’s face and feel the light heat my best friend, who also is our best friend, gave us. For hours upon hours, we were there talking and telling the ghost stories. Soon, everyone gradually began to sleepy, starting from the young till the old until we all fell asleep. I was accompanied to my bed as I lay asleep with my best friend taking watch over me and giving me warmth as I sleep. All through the night till morning till the cock crows and the sun rises again to daylight. My friend has been so good to me; she has always been there for everyone, in the house. In work places, she is needed and serves everyone accordingly. She’s loved and needed every day and she makes her services always available for free. Everyone could afford it to the commonest of all.

Her worst enemy

Every friend has a friend that has another friend and that how it goes. A friend of a friend could be an enemy to another friend. Yes! I am a friend of fire and she is a friend to another element too. I have another friend that is an enemy to my best friend fire, her name is Water and she lives in every home as Fire. They both happen to be my friend but they can’t eat from the same plate together. They are like the opposite of each other; they can’t stand on the same place at a time because one has to make way for the other to stand. This is their nature and I can’t change but live with that. I am a good friend and I control them together without having problems with each other.

When she’s troubled

Everyone is good until they show their other side, then we realize the kind of person we are truly dealing with. One’s true color is seen and either liked or hated. The true color of Fire is equal to disaster; a flaming disaster per say. Despite our friendship, could you believe that I left my food in the kitchen for Fire, she got angry and burnt my food, she set the kitchen ablaze and now the house we live is on fire, burnt down to pieces. Troubled fire goes out of control and burn down everything that stands on her way, trouble fire is wicked. It has burnt homes, offices, banks, schools and industries. Troubled fire has rendered a home homeless and have made the wealthy poor. The disaster that comes with a troubled fire is almost unstoppable. It has also burnt humans. Water is the only help that controls her when she goes wild but unfortunately, there are always not enough water in the house to stop Fire.

My experience and lesson

After living with Fire for years in my young age, we parted ways since she failed my trust, burnt my food, set my kitchen and house on fire and rendered me homeless. I have a new home now but I put the fire in her place here. She has taught me a lesson of my life. Since it burnt down my kitchen which I entrusted into her flaming hands, I have learnt to keep water by my side always. I can’t possibly cook now without water as my witness. As for my house, I put my switches off and get them on only when I am around and am using them. In every corner of my room, I have an extinguisher which hangs readily at all corners of the building. I guard all my papers and documents inside my fireproof cupboard and all my clothing in my fire proof wardrobe. Never will I allow my old friend hurt me again for the second time. Beware of fire friends!

Thanks for reading.

@Gianna-B, 2022 .

________________________

If you'd like to take part in this prompt, here's how:

Join the Promptly Jonica community

Write anything about FIRE

Write 100% original content

Write at least 600 words for Rusty to be happy

Submit your article to PromptlyJonica

Tag , @JonicaBradley

Have fun!

6
$ 1.21
$ 1.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
$ 0.03 from @MichaelBCH
+ 2
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

This resonates with the proverb: "fire is a good servant but a bad master"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fire it is. I guess it goes down as one of the most used, liked and hated element of all time. Nice write-up Gianna..

$ 0.00
1 year ago