My Sunday Feels

0 14
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago
Topics: Reading, Justwrite

Hello Readlanders, good day and a happy Sunday. One of the most significant days of the week celebrated worldwide. As the majority of the world observes this day as a holy day, not everyone keeps to that. I happen to come from a Christian home and right here in my city, we observe Sundays as holy days. The majority of us here are Christians and just few are from other religions, we live together with respect and love.

There are things that happen exceptionally in my city every Sunday and will keep happening because it has become so. They are like a norm in my city and likely to happen weekly. Other days of the week are for work and people use the weekend to relax, but here in my hustling city, it seems like there's absolutely no day to rest. The spirit is hustle till you can no more. Not even on the days of celebration, people must come out to sell goods, "Sunday or no Sunday, we eat everyday and so we will work everyday"_ my city vibes

  • Sunday market

Of all the seven days in a week, Sunday is believed to be a day off for market but here in my city, there is no day off. The market welcomes so many buyers and sellers and hence called "Sunday market" or "Sunday Sunday market" . Anyone that didn't meet up with money to buy things for himself or the family has Sunday to meet up.

Picture taken from unsplash.com

The Sunday market has no difference in population to other weekdays. The little difference is the time it lasts. Weekdays market lasts from six to six while Sunday market sometimes ends at twelve noon or little past noon. People love this Sunday market more because of the low price of goods sold. Things are cheaper and easier to buy than on the weekdays.

The beautiful thing about this Sunday market is that worshippers patronize it weekly. It is just like a never miss opportunity for most of them. They check into the market after church service to do some Sunday shopping, mostly foodstuffs.

I have been on Sunday market with my friends and it was really a good experience. I noticed that everyone with goods can sell in any free space. There's no space ownership on days like that. Everywhere is so busy and business is ongoing. My first day at the Sunday market, I only went to get an eyeglass for my outfit requirement. I bought a very nice and to my taste eyeglass for a cheaper price. The Sunday market is really a bae, people will keep buying and selling till when I can't tell, lol!

  • Sunday food

Just like people in my country don't celebrate Christmas without rice, every Sunday is also believed to be celebrated with a well prepared "Sunday rice". This is a norm here and it will continue as long as life lives. Every home without a Sunday rice is not in full enjoyment of the day.

Picture taken from unsplash.com

It is like a requirement to be fulfilled, especially by the kids. "Momma when are we preparing our Sunday rice?" This is a quality question I asked a million times in my childhood and so did my siblings. I am quite sure that my parents did the same in their early years too. It is fun to ask and happy when the rice has been eaten.

Till today, this rice tradition is still happening. I cooked rice today and ate it for dinner. I am so sure that the majority of homes ate rice this Sunday; most definitely. I enjoyed this norm during childhood but less now as an adult because rice isn't my favorite food anymore. Some of my readers are rice today, I don't need to mention, we all know ourselves, lol!

  • Sunday outing

People have time for refreshment everyday, hotels and motels including bear parlours sell everyday but when it's a Sunday, it is totally a different ball game. I have an aunt who once had a bear parlour and eatery. According to her, the sales she makes on a Sunday, is sometimes bigger than that of the normal week days. If she really makes a higher profit on a Sunday in her small business, how much would hotels and other bigger chilling spots make?

Picture taken from unsplash.com

Numbers of people seen on bear parlour and hotels here in my city are much bigger than the customers entertained on normal week days. The majority of them are men. Some men really can't spend a whole week without taking bear(s), good for them but bad if consumed in excess.

Sundays in my city always have a good vibe. It is so lively and fun but unfortunately for me, I love spending it at home with my sister. We sometimes go for outings and feel the vibes of the city.

Thanks for reading, I wish you love this new week.

Copyright Šī¸ Gianna-B, 2022 and all rights reserved.

Lead image taken from unsplash.com

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Jumper-01
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago
Topics: Reading, Justwrite

Comments