Let's Cook Outdoors

5 26
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Hello lovelies, how are you all doing today? Good evening from here as we get ready for the coming weekend. Permit me to be your cooking tutor for just a couple of minutes in today's article. I'll be going traditionally as it concerns outdoors not outdoors, stick with me till the end and guess what, you can try it out someday or this coming weekend.

Cooking is done everyday worldwide, there must be an ooze of aroma in your house or someone else's daily. Even people who don't cook eat daily and life goes on. Every evening in my street isn't completely spent without perceiving different aromas of food cooked indoors using either electric cookers or gas cookers. The same thing goes down in my village but with a little difference in the cooking method which is cooking outdoors. Right now, I have been spending this week in my sweet and dear native land (my village) and since then have been cooking outdoors after a very long period of time.

It is always fun to make fire and cook the food outdoors, it is sometimes debated that food made by cooking outdoors and ones made indoors have different tastes. Well that's just an argument for me because they taste the same when properly and well cooked. Every food can be made in the outdoor kitchen but some of the food I've been cooking outdoors since this week are

Yam and potatoes

This popular food has many methods of cooking it seems to have the best taste when roasted outdoors and eaten with oil, preferably red oil and a species of bitter leaf. Making fire with sticks and putting the yams inside the burning fire is an easy method that takes a little time to get done. The yam back goes black and is neatly and slightly removed with a kitchen knife.

Unsplash image

The sweet scent from the hot yam is the real natural taste of it. Just like that, cut into pieces and add your oil with salt and leaves if you like. A yummy!

Another food that I cook outdoors is beancake.

This is best cooked outdoors because it mostly requires uniform and bigger heat to cook well. My grandmother's outdoor kitchen is a perfect place to finish this delicacy, just with enough firewood, the beancake gets ready in just an hour.

I have cooked rice, roasted plantains and lots more outdoors too and enjoyed more of the natural taste. Each time I am done with cooking outdoors, I realize that it has some of these advantages;

Energy bill free:

With free dried woods and nuts, some people have been cooking all the days of their lives without paying for a single utility bill at the end of the month. There is even much dried wood in store to be used and can cook for months. There is just no utility bill attached to it because it's free and always available.

It keeps the aromas outside:

This is another interesting thing I observed recently. There used to be a house filled with aromas after cooking indoors at home but right now, one cannot tell what food was cooked because there is no single scent or aroma inside the house. The outdoors aroma ended there in the outdoor kitchen.

Smokes and gases are left outdoors

Burnt energy that can sometimes be choking is left outside. This creates a clean and well ventilated room indoors because there is no smell of gas or smokes from stoves inside the house. They all end up outdoors in the outdoor kitchen; hehe! I remember coughing and sneezing uncontrollably for a few seconds because of choking smoke indoors.

These and more are what I have from my experience and I feel you may like it and have a try someday.

There are some disadvantages of outdoor kitchens, they require enough space and can be stressful to use. Cooking indoors with gadgets are always easier and comfortable but the vibes that comes with the food cooked outdoors is something worth experiencing

Thank you for reading lovelies and have a good time wherever you are. By the way, I am enjoying my roasted plantains with local stew as dinner, so yummy! Come share with me, lol!

Unsplash image

See you in the next article and bye for now.

Copyright ©️ Gianna-B, 2022 and all rights reserved.

Lead image credit: taken from unsplash.com

Thank you all my lovely sponsors

6
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

It themed like a picnic.. This idea is great way to have a family bonding.. Maybe we will be doing this too.. Hmm maybe we will be grilling some pork or chicken..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's a perfect suggestions. Thank you for reading and I hope you try it soon ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think cooking outside with family and friends is a different Bonding I want to try hehe. Thanks for giving me such idea, the food really looks good and the way you described it makes me hungry huhu

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes my dear, it is just so lovely and yummy delicious

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is splendid πŸ’ƒπŸ’–. I like eating outdoor once I cook outdoor. The taste of roasted potatoes is very sweet πŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
1 year ago