It Wasn't Funny But We Moved On

1 29
Avatar for Gianna-B
9 months ago

It's Monday Fams! Hello dreamers! Hello actives! A weekend filled with fun and celebrations, holla to everyone out there pushing the struggles of life. "May we find what to eat and what will eat us will never find us".

This week, I'm as free as a bird from much stress after completing my semester exams. Kudos to me and my sweethearts. Mental stress free and time to relax and replenish burnt calories that we've been suffering from due to trekking around the university.

My country is currently in her worst state of survival. The previous government everyone complained about is now a wish the people chose to have. This new government has done worse in twenty four hours than the corrupt past eight years of the previous government.

Imagine your old shirt being better than the new one and you regretting losing the old shirt. That's not a dilemma, that's a regret. Since I learnt how to read and write, we were told that we're the leaders of tomorrow but now I'm in my early twenties and those before me are in their late forties. When is tomorrow? When would we lead? When is the future? Maybe soon as we all hope and that's by the way.

Last Saturday was my cousin's graduation party. He did invite me and I was hoping not to disappoint my young champion until it became nature's excuse. I imagined I would be with him but I didn't know that I was going to be absent due to over billings in the transport.

I got ready to travel back home in honor of my bro, I even took my friend Nancy along but it was disappointing that my estimated price of traveling tripled. Like how the heck! For real. All because there's an increase in the price of petrol, adding to the fact that there weren't many commercial buses on the road. The ones available started taking advantage of the situation by doubly increasing the fares.

Well, no big deals as I was left frustrated. My people, could you believe that a student like me couldn't pay for the transport anymore because it was almost my net worth as of then.

I have always proved stubborn in such situations but Nancy suggested we shouldn't spend such a huge amount of money on transport only. We had to quit the journey and sent my cousin his gift through a delivery. This is just what every common Nigerian is facing right now in their own country. The richest county in Africa can't afford free transportation for her citizens.

Come to think of it, how would petrol price affect us, while we have it here as a natural resource. What could the problem be, the leadership (government) or her citizens? It's obvious.

The way forward for common men

Since the subsidy removal, there has been an internet meme trolling that people should dump their cars and take it by foot. In reality, it is manifesting as for the first time in a popular city, few cars were seen driving to work in the morning while thousands stopped the roadside walking to their business places. Sounds funny but true.

Trekking which is now branded "legedes Benz" is now the latest means of transport for the common men but, how long should this go on or does it mean it is permanent. This is seriously funny.

Image credit: all pictures were taken from unsplash.com

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
9 months ago

Comments

Legedes Benz. enjoy love

$ 0.00
9 months ago