Exploring trees around me in the village

2 25
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago
Topics: Trees

7th may, 2022

The world view from Africa is green. The trees and shrubs make a green colorful earth. One of the beauty of creation per say. I wasn’t there but I can say that in the olden days, like ten centuries ago. The shrubs and trees of the earth provided almost all the food for mankind. There was more tress with beautiful and edible fruits. Some of these tree products served as a better medicine compared to some drugs we have in our medical stores now. The earth was so natural and man lived more natural with what nature has provided for them. Trees and shrubs of the earth not only give us food but also provide us with what we eat them thereby making availability of different food and fruits for a perfect combination. Big thanks to nature.

Yesterday on an impromptu visit to the village, not so far away from my city, I took some times to take some beautiful sights of my grandmothers surrounding and environment. She has lots of vegetable and fruit bearing tress al around her house. I took some round walk to explore some of this trees and vegetables and I will be sharing some of their importance to you. Some years ago in my home town people never sold these fruits or vegetables in the past but because of famine caused by mining some of the mineral recourses in the soil, the villagers sold some of it and used the profit to sustain themselves. Around my grandmother’s house are; bitter leaf, paw-paw, cola nut, avocado pear and wild pear, banana, Moringa, cocoa, sycamore and coconut.

Bitter leaf

This is the most cherished vegetable in my village because of its dual purpose as a medicine and its used in preparing special dishes too especially during festive periods and ceremonies like traditional marriage. Bitter leaf as the name implies is a thick broad leaf that tastes so bitter. This leaf is most commonly found in every household there in my village. It has a high market demand as it is sold in bulk and shipped outside the country as raw materials. People in my village use it as medication by squeezing out the water and drinking it as a cure for fever, or squeezing it and applying directly to a fresh wound or injury to reduce infection or to stop bleeding. When used for cooking and making soups, the bitter content is squeezed out and after cooking, there will be no taste of bitterness. It involves a process and I always frown at it anytime I am given the job to see it done.

Bitter leaf

Paw-paw

This is a widely known fruit in the world, grandma has love earing them and has one behind her bungalow. I am a lover of this fruit too and I love combining it with rice. Pawpaw stew is another way of enjoying this fruit.

Cola-nut

The seed of this tree is the most respected in my tribe. It grows in pods and is mostly consumed by the elders. It is served to visitors and used mostly for ceremonials and rituals. It is also one of the most expensive seed in town. Grandma has a tree and makes huge profit from it annually. She doesn’t tamper with this cola-nut tree in particular. It has bitter taste and appears in sizes.

Cola-nut

Avocado pear and wild pear

This is one of my most favorite local fruit. Avocado is enjoyed by everyone in my family and this fruit has its significant use in my family. Instead of buying butter for bread, we use ripped avocado. We extract and spray it on the bread and munch the delicious natural taste. This fruit can as well be served with rice and other local food. Wild pear is another always available street food. It is boiled or fried and either eaten alone or roasted and eaten with corn. I create time to have my fill of this exquisite street food combination. So good to give a try

Pear tree

Banana and plantain

Here is another popular fruit worldwide. Plantain has a high market demand and it is mostly supplied from the village to the city. For me, plantain is best enjoyed when fried and sometimes eaten with white rice. Banana and groundnut is another street food that goes together.

Moringa

This is my grandmother’s latest tree in the house. I was surprised with what she would be doing with a moringa when I saw it the first time. I thought maybe she didn’t plant it herself until when I asked her and she told me she planted it. it seems like it doesn’t take longer time to grow because it already has a seed growing. She said it medicinal but I am yet to know what it cures.

Cocoa

This is a big cash crop in my country. It spread all over the country from the west. Used industrially for making beverages and chocolates. It is highly exported from my country to other countries in the international market. I remember gathering and keeping the cocoa seeds to make chocolate but till today I haven’t even attempted to make it. We just grow it not for export nor for the raw material but rather for enjoyment purpose.

Cocoa leaves

Sycamore

This fruit is planted in the center of my grandmother’s compound to provide shade from the sun. The beautiful reason why almost everyone in the village has this tree is because of its evergreen leaf and for shade provision. It bears a huge fruit that tastes so sweet and I love to eat it when it newly ripped.

coconuts

This hard fruit is commonly found in my village too. The tree stands tall and is always difficult to pluck. I don't dare make attempt to bring down a coconut head. I enjoy this friut with bread and make some sweet coconut rice as well..I guess everyone should give a coconut rice a try. it is so delicious and nutritious. It can as well be eaten with corn in the streets and is a perfect combination for it.

A flower growing on her fence

This flower is called yellow bush. It has both lemon, green and yellow color allnover it. People believe it chases away mosquitoes but I think it a breeding and hiding place for them instead. It adds beauty to the environment and looks good when trimmed.

Yellow bush

There are many other trees around but to mention but a few. I just like it visiting my grandma because of all these fruits. I always believe that if one is not available, the other will be and it has always worked for me.

Cheers to all fruit lovers!

Thanks for reading and have a beautiful day.

Copyright ©️ Gianna-B ,2022 and all rights reserved.

Image credit: all pictures taken by me.

3
$ 0.58
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @J.Matty
$ 0.03 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago
Topics: Trees

Comments

I am familiar with banana , moringa and coconut only because these are available here in my region. Well described!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for your comments and support Sir

$ 0.00
1 year ago