Symbiosis...ish: Part Three

0 28
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago

Symbiosis...ish: Part Two

[WP] You've been infected by a sentient, eldritch parasite. Realizing it's counting on you for its own survival, the parasite offers occult knowledge, wisdom, and secrets in return for the host's sustenance and protection. Describe this unlikely friendship.

*****

They were given this mission because they were the assassins most suited for these kinds of in and out jobs, leaving not so much as a trace of their presence. Not only that but they were also well equipped to battle supernatural forces and entities like Havok head to head.

Kamara, the lady was a clairvoyant with psychic powers that included telepathy, divination, telekinesis, and tele-projection: the ability to create matter from nothing but brain waves by channeling her spiritual energy to project objects she thinks about. The only limit was that the size and spiritual energy consumed were directly proportional.

Jamin was basically the brawn of the team. With his gun, he could use his 97% accuracy to shoot and hit anything with a poisonous bullet that eats away at their spiritual energy, and in some cases, life force. He also had superhuman agility and reflexes.

"This job could set us for life, you know that? 10 riggin' mill, Jamin," Kamara said. "We could get off this business and move to the Bahamas or something, start a new life there, and be free from all this bullsh!t."

Jamin laughed. "You and I know very well that you're not going to do that. The money is a fine icing to the cake, but you're more interested in the thrill of fighting, subjugating, and killing these spirits, aren't you? Conquering the enemy, whatever it may be?"

"You're no fun, Jam Jam. You know me inside out already, what's the fun in all of that-"

"Look alive, they're coming out."

*****

"I think we're done with the conversation here. Let's move this somewhere else," Elena said as the cafe began to close.

"Somewhere else like where for f*cks sake? And why arem't you saying anything about undoing the spell or removing the damn parasite? I told you, I don't to be your bodyguard or whatever."

"It;s an irreversible action, Chris. Don;t think any less of me - well, you can,k since it's within your rights, but I believe you're going to appreciate what I've given you sooner or later," she said as we stepped out into the warm, balmy summer air.

Then I felt my hairs stand on end.

I'd never had this feeling before, thisstrange, tingling sensation, this sense of urgency to push Elena out of the way. But I moved quickly and did so.

And then the bullet hit me in my left wrist. A searing pain shot through my arm as it began to turn black from my finger tips. Without thinking twice, I grabbed my left shoulder and ripped it out, blood splattering all over the curb.

As I looked up, I saw two figures in long coats approaching us. I quickly dashed to Elena's front, even as my arm began regenerating at a dizzying rate. In less than 10 seconds, it was whole again.

"Even without too much involvement from Havok, you had the mental fortitude to rip out your own arm? Amazing... just amazing.," the woman said, smiling as she tapped her forehead. "I don;t think we expected this, did we, Jam Jam?"

"You'd do well to stop calling me that, bit yes, this one's interesting. It semade an excellent choice of host now, haven;t you," he asked, raising his gun and aiming at me again.

Elena smiled. "Havok, I think you know what to do at this point, don't you?"

The impulse was crazy, but I moved with it anyway. Before the man could fire, I grabbed Elena and threw her eight feet into the air. While she was up, I could feel my leg muscles tighten as I accelerated towards the woman, dodging the bullet. I knew for sure now that the man's gun had some weird enchantment or something on oit.

"Good call avoiding the vusubke pressing threat, but dod you really think I'd be any less of a target?"

Instantly I felt my body freeze for a second and fall to the ground as m brain seemed to shit down for a second, ceasing all motor function. But then I moved to the right with surprising agility, avoiding a bullet from close range before punching m=the man directly in the face.

He flew backward a few metres.

I looked at my hand. It had keratinized on the surface forming what looked like a hard armor around my arm. I did hear a crunch from his jaw, but I also felt some resistance. That guy had to have some level of hardness.

Then my body tingked and Idahsed backlwatds, catching Elena with my arms and thighs before she hit the ground, and racing into the alleys and hopping atop buildings with her in my arms till I got away.

"Havok, what the hell was that>" Elena screamed, obviously in shock.

'"I operate according to the tendencies of the host," a voice within me spoke, the sound issuing from my lips. But it was neither my thought nor my will to speak at that point. "These guy is just a nutcase, and he has the wierdest ideas. Get ready for more crazy stuff, heh."

I was dizzy as hell as I got off the rooftops and walked Elena to her room before crashing as soon as she opened the door.

***

"That was f*cking weak, Jamin," Kamara said with a sneer as she put her gun aside. "I didn;t even get to use my beloved Vengeance, and she's been aching for a real challenge. I haven't seen you take a hit like that since Panama in 2018, what;s up with that?"

"He's more than a handful, and you know that. Your telepathy didn' t bind him permanently, as he should have."

"Yeah, I noticed. It seems that for some reason. Him and Havok aren;t one at all. They aren't even merging. Both are within the same body, but they re not molding into one another. My telepathy was able to hit the weaker mind, which was his, but Haok's impulse kept him awake and able to dodge your bullet. It;s like he has a backup entity, and I didn't takethat into consideration."

"Still, you saw his movements, didn;t you? I doubt the info told us that Havok gave someone that level of agility and fluidity of movements. I don't know who was in control there, the man, or Havok himself, but that speed is something to be worried about."

Kamara laughed. "It seems that this fight will force me to go full steam. Amazing, amazing indeed! We will encounter Elena Klein and Havok's host again, and then we'll be sure to finish them off."

*****

TO BE CONTINUED.

Heavy on the action with this one again like last time. Please, Like and Comment if you found this interesting!

3
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago

Comments