Symbiosis...ish: Part Two

0 34
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago

Symbiosis...ish: Part One

[WP] You've been infected by a sentient, eldritch parasite. Realizing it's counting on you for its own survival, the parasite offers occult knowledge, wisdom, and secrets in return for the host's sustenance and protection. Describe this unlikely friendship.

*****

I paced around the room slowly, my thoughts everywhere as I could hear the voice of...whatever it was echoing in my head. It sounded like me, except his voice was deeper, and certainly more sinister. I had no idea what I was currently stuck in, but one memory was stuck in my head.

Elena's weird 'Would You Rather' question directed at me yesterday, and her smile after. Why did she do this? A prank? What did she have to gain? And most importantly, WHAT THE HELL WAS THIS ANYWAY? Hypnosis? An actual demonic possession? I couldn't make heads or tails of it.

All I knew was that there was a malevolent entity in my head talking about killing people, world domination, and telling me to eat more.

As I stared at the empty bucket of chicken wings on the table and the three boxes of pizza I had just finished, I accepted that this was real, and this was something beyond the scope of my u understanding. I had become a glutton overnight, and it wasn't funny.

Elena's little laugh as I screamed into the phone was another thing that made her blood boil. If anything, it was a confirmation that she knew exactly what was happening to me, and she's responsible for it. The entity did mention something about her choosing a good vessel this time, so I assumed that I was the vessel being spoken about.

How I managed to get through the whole day, I did not know. I had to battle impulses being generated by the b*stard in my head, that only wanted to do acts that ranged from mischievous to downright cold-hearted and brutal. I was stressed as hell when I walked into the Moonbucks Coffee.

Elena was already there, wearing a lowcut red dress that stopped just above her thighs. Her bare legs were creamy and her heels showed off her perfect pedicure. I felt very much underdressed in my shirt and jeans. but I couldn't;t care about any of that.

She smiled slyly. "7:11 PM. You're the one that said something about 'sharp', or so, didn't you? It really isn't nice to keep a woman waiting, Chris. And I could have sworn that the quiet guys were the gentlemen."

I had to wait for the waiter to drop the cups of cafe latte and leave before I snarled. "Fuck all that, what the fuck did you do to me, Elena?"

"Oh come on, you could be a little more-"

"I swear to God, if you don't answer my questions now, I'll let the character of this guy talking in my head take over. If you know what you did, then you must know that it's not something that you want to want to happen."

She smiled and waved it off. "I know enough to know that Havok won't hurt me."

"Havoc?"

"Yeah, with a 'k'. That's the name of the eldritch parasite inside you."

"Eldritch?" I had heard those words somewhere, and as I googled the meaning of the word. As I saw it, I looked back at Elena. "You put a f*cking parasite ghost in me? What the hell is that?"

"I didn't exactly put it, you see. The last part was all in your hands. Your confession, your answer to my question was the last nail in your coffin. It was looking for a home, and as its custodian, I was supposed to find it a home. Havok is the patron spirit of my family, and it is supposed to find a human host to possess to continue its actions, which could be violent."

"Violent? Why the hell would you then keep something like that in your possession?"

"Did you not hear? It protects me. Anything else it does is solely its business. As it is now, you and Havok are one, and your primary objective is my protection. Anything else you do is absolutely none of my concern."

I looked at her in shock. Elena never struck me as this cold-hearted or selfish, but then it was obvious I did not know anything about her.

"Then why me? I mean, I'm sure there'd be a lot of people you associate with more that would have been more fit physically to be a goddamn bodyguard."

"You think it's about the physique? You're really funny, Chris. The main thing here is the mind. What's your mental fortitude like? How much can you withstand? That's what matters. How many people do you think would have lasted this long without giving in to the impulses of Havok? But here you are, not a wanted criminal, and no ref and blue lights or police sirens around. I've observed you for three months now, and you've exhibited the discipline of mind required to handle Havok. As for physical ability, Havok will handle all of that."

I looked at her intently, and she was indeed serious. On a selfish whim, she had tricked me into receiving an evil spirit parasite or whatever it was. "Parasite, huh? And what the hell is it feeding on?"

"Well, first of all, your finances, because as you must have experienced, it has the appetite of two people. You'll be spending thrice as much as before on feeding. And then, I cannot guarantee your mental stability will return to what it was because Havok will continue to disturb you until it is time for me to transfer him to my offspring, or any member of the next generation in my family. Probably about two decades, more or less. And then, there will still be a residual within you, because you'll continue to protect me till the day I die."

I barely managed to suppress my urge to wrap my hands around her neck and squeeze the life out of her.

"And then what about me?"

"You? You'll soon come to see that I gave you a great thing here. That is if you and Havok ever get to bond," she laughed.

***

Outside the Moonbucks Cafe, two figures sat inside a car and watched the entrance.

"She went in there 15 minutes ago, you think she's meeting someone?"

"Of course."

"Think it's the new vessel?"

"If it is, it doesn't;t matter. The vessel must not have completely synced with Havok. When they come out, we kill them both."

The woman laughed as she cocked her gun. "Domino, you are one coldhearted son of a b!tch, you know that?"

*****

TO BE CONTINUED.

Please like and comment if you found this interesting, thank you!

4
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago

Comments