Symbiosis...ish: Part Four

3 25
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago

Symbiosis...ish: Part Three

[WP] You've been infected by a sentient, eldritch parasite. Realizing it's counting on you for its own survival, the parasite offers occult knowledge, wisdom, and secrets in return for the host's sustenance and protection. Describe this unlikely friendship.

*****

I woke up slowly, my body still aching all over. It was still dark outside, and even though I didn't have a clear idea of the time, I guessed it had to be about 2 AM, max.

And then I felt the presence of someone else in the room and turned. Sitting on the chair beside the bed, wrapped in a silk bathrobe was Elena who was looking at me intently.

"You're awake."

I only then noticed that I was not in my room. Or even my apartment at all. This room was bigger and had a huge mirror opposite the bed. Just under a mirror sat a desk where make-up and skincare products laid impeccably arranged. It had this spotless, feminine look to it.

"Are we in your house?"

"Yes," she said, walking over to me and giving me a cup of green tea. "Take this to relax, I'm sure your body is in shambles right now."

"How did I even..." I paused as the memories of the events of the previous day came flooding in."Sh!t, so all that wasn't a damn dream? I really am your slave now or sum'n?"

Elena smiled and got into the bed beside me. "Slave is a strong word, which kinda fails to describe this relationship between us, don't you think? You're not bound by the contract to serve me, or obey my every whim now are you? All you have to do is protect me at all times, what you choose to do with your life and newfound power is solely up to you."

"Newfound power? Heightened senses and physical abilities? Or the regeneration? Yeah, maybe I could start playing rugby or American football or even join the army as a top-secret biological weapon and stuff," I sneered sarcastically.

"You can't be too far from me, it's physically impossible. And I'm not joining the army. The rest sound good, but the more you get popular, the more likely it is that more people will set their eyes on you, people like our company last night. And besides, you don't think that the physical stuff is all Havok's good for, do you?"

"Well, what else?"

"He knows a lot of secrets about this world, having been around for centuries. He's basically an information and wisdom bank, and anything you apply his knowledge to guarantees success. I just told you, as far as you guys can sync and get along, you'll find out that there's a lot to benefit from Havok."

"So is that an attempt to make what you did look like less of a selfish, sh!tty thing to do, Elena?" I sneered.

She laughed. "You should know me too well by now. I don't care about any of that stuff. I just did what was in my best interests, but still, I'm not just a callous self-centered lil' b!tch. You're getting something out of it, and that's what I use to balance my own moral compass. "

I laughed. "You're wholesome and genuine even when you're doing the worst things. So who were those guys, and why are they after you? It's going to be a huge problem if they keep hunting us down."

"Then you need to get your game on and bond with Havok faster..."

Havok laughed and spoke out using my mouth. "This guy moves pretty well with me despite the power tussle, but at this stage, those guys will finish us. Now they've seen what he's capable of, they won't be so sloppy."

I shivered. This body snatcher situation was still new to me. And then the prospect of having to face off with some highly skilled assassins who were after me wasn't encouraging.

"Wait, if I was protecting you, does it mean they're after you?"

"Seems like it's us both this time. Havok's vessel and I, the Klein in the custody of the parasite. When you were down, Jamin tried to hoot you instead of going for me."

"Jamin?"

"Jamin and Kamara. Two of the most dangerous assassins in the world of the supernatural. They used to dwell in the Temple, which is like the highest court of all that Is supernatural, and they were soon to become judges at a young age because s=tey were very talented and skilled. But they abandoned that to use their powers for mercenary activities and espionage. The money was more important."

"They're good," I had to admit.

"The best in the business. You can't employ their services for anything less than a million dollars, which means that a big name wants us dead, and my lineage wiped out."

I sighed. "And now, I've been dragged into this. One minute I'm dodging y'all at the office, the next I'm dodging weird spirit bullets and protecting my life and yours. This is exactly why I did not want to attend the hangout."

Elena laughed.

*****

"You failed to kill them?"

"Yes."

The client looked angrily at Kamara who had replied, but she looked unfazed, Nothing would be done to her, and the work wouldn'tbe given to anyone else because they were the only ones who could kill those two,

"We've managed to scout perfectly, however, so it's not a loss or a setback. We know what he's capable of, so we'll be well prepared."

"I hope you eliminate them this time."

Kamara laughed. "I hope we don't."

Jamin shot her a stern look as the client barked. "What the hell do you mean?!"

"It's been forever since I've had a good challenge. I want him to go all out and gather enough battle experience. Why do you think we opted for this sort of assassination? It's better when they can put up a fight because then I get to feel alive. Isn't that gr_"

"I don't give a flying f*ck about any of that.," the client said, butting in. Kamara's smile faltered for a bit; she hated being interrupted. "Kill those two, and kill them fast. It's Sunday. By next week Sunday, I should be seeing their names on the news."

"Will do," Jamin said, leading Kamara out of the room.

*****

TO BE CONTINUED

Please Like and Comment!

3
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago

Comments

Brooo what happens next ;;-;; feels like you got busy again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I did ;;-;; I dunno when I'll be back but hopefully by weekend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aight I'll be waiting for that UwU

$ 0.00
2 years ago