Symbiosis...ish: Part Five

0 50
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Story, Writing, Experiences, 2020, ...

Symbiosis...ish: Part Four

[WP] You've been infected by a sentient, eldritch parasite. Realizing it's counting on you for its own survival, the parasite offers occult knowledge, wisdom, and secrets in return for the host's sustenance and protection. Describe this unlikely friendship.

*****

"How do you think we should go about this?" Jamin said as soon as they got in the car. She didn't reply. He turned to face her and saw that she was seething. He smiled.

"Surely you didn't let what he said get to you like that, did you? Look at you, the so-called 'Kamara the Annihilator' getting all upset over the words of small fry like him."

Her features relaxed, and for the first time, she turned to him. "You know how I feel when you try to talk snack to me, don't you? It's cute and all, but you'll be better off not testing me/ I might just kill you one day, Jam Jam."

He knew better than to continue the wisecracks at this moment. Kamara;'s smile remained the same, but her icy tone told him that she was dead serious. With her temper and her skill, she could easily do away with him if she wanted to. And at this point, she sounded like she really wanted to.

He apologized. "Sorry, I did;t know you were really serious. I didn't mean to annoy you."

She beamed for real this time, and her voice sounded bright again. "You see why I like you, Jamin? Men tend to have this brash, arrogant approach to things that annoys the hell out of me, it's why I killed my last two partners-"

Jamin gulped. He remembered how things were before they became partners. She was known for only having male partners, and she was known to have killed them over slight disagreements. No partner had ever lasted longer than three months with her, and she did not permit anyone to refuse her offer.

He'd only managed to get this far, they'd been partners for 5 years now.

"- But you're a different specimen," she said, placing her index finger on his chin and tracing his jawline. She smiled as she watched him squirm, and giggled as he flinched when her fingers wandered down to his chest. "You're cocky a bit, but you know your limits and you're ready to apologize when you're in the wrong. Plus the way you get all flustered when I do things like this is cute," she said, relaxing back in her seat.

"I appreciate that I'm the chosen one that could keep your toxic side at bay, but I wish you wouldn't do all that while I'm driving, Kamara.," Jamin said, wiping his brow and keeping his eyes straight ahead, aware she was looking at him.

"It's not like I'm going to allow us to die, so that's not an issue. My first problem is the client here, Jam Jam. I know we're being paid, and oh do I know that the money is very important, but I don't see why I should have to endure such treatment from that dirtbag. He has a lot of nerve to talk like that, doesn't;t he, knowing I could kill him and take the money. That's the issue with these ordinary humans, Jam Jam: a little bit of power or money, and they suddenly do not know their place or limits. I felt like teaching him a lesson, and I probably will."

Jamin sniggered. "You're right, you could have all the money you wanted without having to do all these jobs, so why do you anyway?"

"Hah, of course, I just can't, you dummy. There are laws governing the possession and use of abilities, and they are even more strict when it comes to my ability. In order for me to manipulate someone, the person in question would need to be gaining something from me or a person possessing an ability in which it can be considered a battle."

Jamin lifted an eyebrow. "So if you're not getting anything from him, you can't enter his brain? But you guys do have a deal for the money, and it's a signed magical contract."

"Yes, but the terms of that contract are clearly stated., so that doesn't count. It has to be a fresh contract that explicitly states what he was gaining from my manipulation of his psyche, if not, I could face losing my powers."

"W-wow," Jamin said, turning to her.

She met his gaze and smiled. "Don't be concerned, I've lasted all these years despite those conditions. And by the way, I might just kill this client when the job is done."

Jamin smiled. "That's up to you. But speaking about the job..." he said, rubbing his sore jaw. The frown on his face showed that he wanted his revenge.

"There's not much to say about that, the guy's a handful for sure. When Havok binds to someone, he's either complimented by their strength or nerfed by their weakness. That guy was weak, so my telepathy should have kept him down, but he is not one with Havok. By chance or choice? I don't know yet. But physically, the guy's good. He doesn't have the agility and fitness for the moves he's pulling, so he just envisions it and allows Havok to manipulate his body freely. It's a weird kind of Symbiosis - he can determine who should be in control at what time, and it's helping him."

Jamin turned. "How can you make someone faster and stronger just like that? Aside from the whole keratinized transformation, I don't get it."

"Our next encounter," she said patting his lap. "Our next encounter should answer all our questions."


4
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Story, Writing, Experiences, 2020, ...

Comments