Geese at My local Park, Plus a Heron!

2 49
Avatar for Ghostcat
2 years ago

Going to a park where there is an artificial lake that is always a joy and good practice for nature photography take these guys for example:

I´ve had my eye on them for a while, some of them I suspect were even born into the park. They´re always together never alone. And loud as hell, it´s like watching a bunch of walking bicycle horns just waddling about.

A couple of facts about Geese:

  • Domestic Geese Live around between 20 and 25 years while wild ones live up between 10 to 25

  • Can Be Raised On Grassy Pasture (as you can see them on the top photo)

  • Very Social

  • Often Migrate and during their flight, the flock will take a V shape

Also, they are able to tell each other apart, to us these three geese may look the same, but to a goose everyone is unique. Did I mention they are extremely loyal, especially among mates.

There are also a couple of these guys with a grey head, so even among domestic geese there is some color variation.

I also noticed that up close (well not so close I was using a zoom lens at a longer distance) that their beaks have serrated ends, which I guess allows to scrape grass or crush bugs.

But that´s not only thing I managed to see on that day:

Grey herons! ( Ardea cinerea) well a single one anyway, it´s only just one. I think this one has made its home here for like 2 or more years or it might be a different one. Its long neck and beak are perfect to capture fish, but it´s not unheard about them eating small mammals, reptiles etc....

They´re actually a migrant species, populations from more northern areas often fly south during October after the mating season but will return by February.

Hopefully, if I save up for a more powerful lens, I might capture it in more detail. And who knows I might share it here, until next time! And feel free to subscribe and comment below

All Photos were taken with a Canon EOS 500D with a Zoom Lens EF 70-300mm IS USM

Thanks for reading, if you like my content you can also follow me through  Cointr.ee

Disclaimer:

All Photos on this Article are owned by me, you may not distribute or use them for commercial gain without explicit permission.

4
$ 0.26
$ 0.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Diana_
Sponsors of Ghostcat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ghostcat
2 years ago

Comments

The flight of geese transmits a lesson in teamwork, it is said that every time a goose leaves the formation and feels the resistance of the air on its wings, it realizes the difficulty of flying alone and immediately rejoins to the group, to benefit from the resistance offered by the partner in front. Your photos also give me a beautiful feeling because they remind me of many children's stories where they are present.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah, they´re awesome, just this other someone told me they found a rare goose species ( on a different location) and I think I saw it but was sad that I wans´t able to take a photo on time

$ 0.00
2 years ago