My Macrophotography: A Orbweaver Spider

4 51
Avatar for Ghostcat
2 years ago

It´s been a while since I shared some great photos. This time around without having to leave the house! I saw this little guy on one of my flowers and took my macro lenses out.

I suspect this is a cricket-bat orbweaver judging by the pattern (Mangora acalypha). There isn´t a lot of information currently about them, except for the fact they can be found in meadows or gardens.

Orbweavers are from (Araneidae) family and a common variety of garden spiders, called that for their circular bodies.

Also builders of spiral wheel-shaped webs. As you can see here in my attempt to take a photo of it

Funny thing this spider lived in my mini-garden if you can call it that for a month, before disappearing to God knows where. it would often create a web on one plant, then remove said web, and then show up on another plant.

It wasn´t easy taking photos with this lens, as it would often get too dark, but I managed to capture the details. I do love its pattern, it feels like some decided to paint a geometric pattern on a tiny orb.

And I can even see it´s hairs. There are actually serve as a type of sensory organ that helps the spider feel movement and detect its prey. Which is a bonus for me, at least I have something that will take care of garden pests for me.

All Photos were taken with a Canon EOS 500D with a Macro Lens

This was a short article, but I hope you enjoy my attempts at macro and learning about this cool spider, feel free to comment below.

Thanks for reading, if you like my content you can also follow me through  Cointr.ee

Disclaimer:

All Photos on this Article are owned by me, you may not distribute or use them for commercial gain without explicit permission.

3
$ 7.10
$ 7.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Librarian
Sponsors of Ghostcat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ghostcat
2 years ago

Comments

Very nice pictures thank you! If I can suggest, what you can do is to set the images so that they Expand when we click on it. That way, I could zoom in and take a good look at that Orbweaver. Thanks for sharing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks but how do i do that? i only see the upload photo option

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, it is after you have uploaded it. You then select the photo and some small icons will show on top of it. One icon is the "Expand" icon and that's the one that will allow to show the full picture.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks I´ll keep that in mind next time. I dunno why, but it doesn´t seem to work, since when I click it only shows up a moment and disappears before I get to click the option

$ 0.00
2 years ago