Bird Watching at My Local Port

0 53
Avatar for Ghostcat
2 years ago

I live almsot next to a port, which means plenty of opportunities to go and check the local sea birds. There´s a variety of them, from your average seagull, to sandpipers, egrets and even cormorants.

I took these during fall, which is the perfect season to catch cormorants. Not to mention this is their favorite spot. Some were fishing others were resting with their wings wide open. Here´s one up close:

Fun fact, unlike under birds like water birds their feather aren´t waterproof, so every time they go for a swim they spread their wings exposing them to the sun in order to get them dry. But on the plus side, they are excellent divers.

I was also lucky to capture three of them together, seems the seagull don´t have a problem hanging out with them.

There were also another gull species, the Black-Headed Gull, due to their heads turning black during summer time which is also their breeding season. But since it will be months before it arrives, their heads are mostly white with a single black dot.

Another way to tell them apart? They´re much smaller than regular gulls. As you can see here with their full wingspan on display.

This all I got for now, hopefully, I might go there again when I have the time and maybe who knows, I might find something interesting.

Photos were taken with a Canon EOS 500D with a Zoom Lens EF 70-300mm IS USM

Thanks for reading, if you like my content you can also follow me through  Cointr.ee

I also have a Kofi!

Disclaimer:

All Photos on this Article are owned by me, you may not distribute or use them for commercial gain without explicit permission.

1
$ 2.17
$ 2.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ghostcat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ghostcat
2 years ago

Comments