There are still good people out there, are you one of them???

22 54
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I started an article yesterday but couldn't complete and won't continue it until after this article because of my experience yesterday.


For some time now, one of my friends in Ogun state has been troubling me to come to visit him. We schooled together, and we were of great help to each other as well but the unpredictable journey of life made us walk on different paths in search of success in life. The memories we shared were great, some made me cry even until today because surviving wasn't fun for us but God never forsakes us.

His wife gave birth in January and I couldn't attend the naming ceremony for some reason, he was angry because our other friends made it there. I spoke to him on phone and he made it clear that we can only settle things if we see since he misses me a lot. I made up my mind to go visit him yesterday and I left my home as early as 6 am.

Staying so long on the bus is not something I love but for the sake of friendship, I had to endure it. I got to his residence and he didn't even recognize me immediately because I have added so much weight since the last time we saw in 2016. We were happy to see each other, I met his wife and the baby, she is so cute.

We talked and the reunion was awesome, the wife laughed and said she didn't know my friend had done a lot of crazy things in life because he never mentioned them. He is doing great, he has two POS shops and he is doing well. We went to eat lunch outside and it was great, he introduced me to everyone in the neighborhood as his brother and I got tired of greeting everyone I came across. It is a small community and almost everyone knew each other.

We chatted till evening and I didn't even know time was fast gone, it was 4 pm when I checked so I took my leave.

On my way back, I boarded a bus from Sango. It was rough, I am used to the BRT but they aren't available in that area.

I sat in the front seat beside the driver, there was traffic, everywhere was hot and I wasn't feeling uncomfortable. Finally, we got to Oshodi when I discovered I wasn't with my phone. I didn't believe it, did I lose my phone already?

Different thoughts started coming to my mind, I lost the hope of finding it back. I quickly approached the bus terminal so I can quickly transfer my crypto into another wallet because I didn't know the kind of person who found or took it. The queue at the terminal was crazy, I spoke to one of the tickets sellers after some minutes and she agreed to borrow her phone to make a call.


I called my brother to help me retrieve the wallet since he has the seed phrase and moves the coin on my Bitcoin Wallet since I didn't lock the app on the missing phone, I returned the phone. The lady asked if the person picked up the call and I said I didn't call my phone, my brother was the important person I needed to talk to and she suggested that I call my number probably, the person might pick it up.

The reason why I didn't bother was that the phone battery was almost drained and it must have been switched off, I tried it and the person picked it up.

I quickly introduced myself and begged that I am the owner of the phone, she said she found it beneath the seat. Something fell from her hand and she saw it while trying to pick it up so she kept it because giving it to the driver wouldn't be okay.

She said she was on her way to Agege, she told me to meet her somewhere at Alhaja Mosque. I returned and zoomed off immediately, it was getting late already so I used a bike. I got there but didn't find anyone waiting except for some securities, I said to myself - "You have been played, man". I didn't know who to approach so I can call again, I was there for over 15 minutes before I could get someone to help me call the number again.

She picked up that she was stuck in traffic, I guess the bike I took made the trip faster. I waited a few minutes again before she arrived, she narrated how she saw and even charged it with her power bank because the phone was almost off

I couldn't thank her enough and she even rejected the tip I gave her, I was surprised and thanked her very much. Luckily for me, she shared her contact with me and bears the name Remi. We parted ways and I returned to where I would board the bus but I was too late, I eventually got one and the happiness in my heart was something else because I wasn't ready to buy a new phone at the moment.

I was just smiling while the bus was moving, the experience got me smiling as I think about it over and over again. I informed my brother immediately because I know he must have been worried.

I got home late but that wasn't a problem since I found my phone back, I called the lady to thank her as well.


I was too tired to engage but I wasn't tired to see updates of what's happening in Ukraine and I was happy to see individuals in the neighboring countries helping the Ukrainians who fled for safety, they gave out food, water, and shelter for free without minding the Covid19 rules and restrictions.

It got me thinking about the good left among humans, we weren't created to be cruel but some humans just choose to be heartless.

Just because you haven't met someone to show you an extraordinary form of kindness doesn't mean there aren't good people out there, you just haven't met them. There are lots of people with good hearts out there who would do anything just to help you out when you are in need and the question is that are we among the kind ones?

Whatever a man does, he shall reap. Galatians 6:7 says that “Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.” 

You can't be spreading hate, showing cruelty, and expecting something good from others. If we are complaining about the evil others are doing, we must be sure we aren't doing the same. Every little act of kindness matters a lot, we don't know what that thing we did today whether good or bad can reflect in the future so I urge everyone to let's join or be part of people with good hearts in the world and together we can make a difference.

Lead image.

13
$ 4.93
$ 4.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @JustMyRambles01
+ 6
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Wow! Good thing you were able to get the phone back. And I agree when you said, there are a lot of bad people doesn't means you cannot see good ones. And even if you can't see any good people, you can be that good one and spread goodness to others.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, the good act we show others can change their mind for good as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Let's attract goodness by being good in the first place.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow so there are still kind hearted people in this world. You're so lucky that this is what happened not everyone is that fortunate.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, I am just lucky. A friend lost his phone during Christmas and when he called, the person thanked him for giving him a Christmas gift.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There will always still good and kind humans in this world how lucky you are to met one, when I had this same experience like this I never found my phone haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sorry about that, I guess I was just lucky. People hardly return things they find especially when it is very valuable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lucky you sir George, someone picked up your phone and return it back to you. If it happens to me, there's a slim chance to make it back since people nowadays don't like the idea or returning things nicely... But yeah, I still believe that some people out there are genuine.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The surprising thing was that she even turned down the tip I gave her. I was not sure I was going to get it and I am glad I did because I wasn't ready to buy a phone at the moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are still good humans out there, we just might not know until we come across them. Thank God your phone was found by a good Samaritan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

She is indeed a good Samaritan, my story could have been a different one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I have been hearing cases of lost phones but hardly have I heard about phones been returned back

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have returned twice and even convinced people to return also, there are people who still return phones out there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being a good person is not easy because you have to show the right character to show good things, which means more to show good character. I don't think I'm a good person because my actions can only be judged by God, maybe humans already think it's good but maybe not like God's judgment.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Can you be good to God? It is pointless because it doesn't move God but being good to God's creation would make lots of sense.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Doing good to God is indeed the goal of life because for me, one's life in the world is to carry out every will of God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of kindhearted is still around, and we can be one of them too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should definitely be one of them as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One thing that still makes me maintain hope in people is that no matter how damaged the world would becom, There will always be good people out there. I'd you can't find one, be one.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, if you can't find one then we should be good to others and they good we do can probably change the mind of others to be good as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are lots of good people in the world. One can increase the number of good people by try to be one himself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It would really be great if we can all add up to the number of the good people out there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago