Should women even work?

15 59
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

The world has moved from what it used to be and the issue of if women should work or not is something that some people still argue about. While some women think that they just need to stay at home to care for the family, some think working is also a way to support the family.

I have witnessed the argument on different occasions but I don't get involved because I see things from a different perspective and I don't do much talking in public.

We were on a queue waiting for the BRT bus at the terminal when a woman drove in a long bus. Her arrival sparked a reaction at the bus terminal, a woman actually said "why would a woman be doing this kind of job? women are not even meant to work in the first place".

I don't know if she wanted others' opinions on the question she asked or if she was talking to herself, what I remembered was that the question became a huge argument.


While some said yes that women can do such work, some said it is wrong for women to do such a strenuous job. Everyone has a reason for their response but they weren't patient enough to listen to one another.

If I was to answer her, I would have told her that life is not equal for everyone. Most women go out there to work just to support their family and because your husband is proving everything you need doesn't mean the women who are working don't have a life or are doing the wrong thing.

Is there anyone who doesn't want an easy job? The answer is no but seeing people, especially women doing strenuous work means that there must a reason for it. The world has moved from the time when women are just seen as childbearing machines, it is great to see women now having dreams and ambitions in their respective fields.


Firstly, I will like to make it clear that there is nothing wrong with a woman working. I love women working, the professionalism they bring to different professions is distinct. Men who prevent their wives from working due to insecurity reasons don't know what they are missing out on, I do receive gifts from my fiancee from time to time which she wouldn't have been able to do if she is completely dependent on me financially.

Whenever I tell people that I love working women, they think it is because of selfishness but it isn't.

The problem my mom faced after she had issues with my dad was because she wasn't working, my dad insisted that she just took care of the kids only which didn't turn out well.

Allowing women to work is good and there is no taboo attached to it as some people believe. It makes a woman independent and prepared for the unexpected.

We don't wish for evil occurrence but life is really unpredictable, a lot can happen in the blink of an eye. I have seen some men leave their wives for selfish reasons, some lost their job and couldn't take responsibility while some died, in any of these situations, a woman who is working can stand for herself or support her husband.

In the world today, we can see women doing different kinds of jobs we thought were only for men. The first time I met a female mechanic, I was surprised because that was the last job I expected a very fair lady to be doing. After engaging with her, she made it clear that she had a passion for automobile mechanics and she went for it.

Some work can be difficult for women truly but technology has made a lot of things easier. The lady mechanic for instance has different machines in her workshop which makes her job very easy for her. Crypto, blogging, freelancing, and many others are part of the opportunities technology has given to our women and I am glad they are making use of them wisely.


Important points on this topic.

Supporting women who are working is a huge thing for me because it sets a legacy for the younger generations that involve themselves in dirty things for the sake of money, the message they are sending is that you can work to take care of yourself and I am in support of that.

Men who have wives who are working must be ready to help because it would a lot of stress to allow their wives to do all the chores in the house and still go to work. It will tell on her and she will be less productive either with the family or at work. There is nothing wrong with helping one another and your kids are indirectly learning important lessons from you.

One of the fears of most men is that they believe that women allow their wealth to get into their heads which is not true in most cases. I have seen cases like that but it is wrong to judge your relationship with what's happening in other people's relationships. Creating a balance between work and family is important for both men and women, understanding this is enough to keep both genders in check and not become too obsessed with work.

Many men reduce their contributions to the family/home affairs just because their wife is working, it is wrong. Working couples need to open up to one another and that's the only way they can grow or achieve things together financially.

Lead image.

9
$ 1.24
$ 1.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.04 from @Jane
+ 4
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

Yes, it's okay that women will work, I think we need to be practical nowadays, because life is getting hard. As we know, two heads are better than one.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Two heads are indeed better than one, couples these days need to support one another to have a happy family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love your point of view on working women, no one knows tomorrow but we need to prepare for it, I have seen women do jobs perfectly and that's to remind us of the power of women, how strong, relentless, and magnificent they are in all they do.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There is actually nothing wrong with women doing the job of their choice has long as it is not an illegal thing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very true,.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am a woman, and the thoughts of me having to stay home all day not doing anything whatsoever is seeming too tragic so I'm all for women working.

A woman who wants to work should be free to do so and not be stigmatized or considered inadequate by society as long as what they are doing is legit, they should be free.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true, every woman should be free to choose for themselves. The fact that you are working doesn't make a full housewife stupid or otherwise.

Regardless of what people think, I believe it is okay for women to work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Women who do such kind of work are a motivation to me. As long as that's what she wants then there's really nothing wrong with it. Going out there too helps in a person's growth.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, there is really nothing wrong in a woman working. It is good to see women keep themselves busy to support themselves and the family as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would say YES. Because this is also the arguments we had with my previous relationship. He wants me to be home just like his mom but I didn't because I want not to be dependent on him financially and also what if he also cheat just like his father. So we broke up just because of that argument and I never regret it. If he cannot respect my decision on that matter then many other issues could possible arise sooner. That is why, I agree on women to work but it is okay too for women not to work, it just depends on the situation and circumstances.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Practically, yes.. Especially if the husband can't provide all the needs of the family

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree, women should be supported in every filed, because working makes them independent and confident.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you. I never liked to sit around and loo pretty. I feel useless thsi I searched for a job to help my husband in our financial needs.

This too is a preparation just incase one of us couples get sick or something. Our needs doesn't stop hen one cannot go to work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some women find it hard to stay without working so they want to work. it depends on the person. I also love hardworking women...they are attractive and can't be pushed around anyhow.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These days, most women don't want to be housewives anymore. I don't see any reason why a woman can't take advantage of whatever legit opportunity is being presented to her. I can't even marry a woman that doesn't have a source of income, whether employed or self-employed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago