Not everyone is replaceable.

8 48
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I got things mixed up in life about my relationship with people, the idea of anyone being replaceable clouded my head so badly that it made me open my heart to people and also kick them out without any reason.

There is a popular saying when I was growing up, the elders usually say that "only God is irreplaceable, there are numerous types of a particular human out there", It simply means you can replace human but can't replace God. The saying played a negative role in my life, it wasn't a wrong saying but I miss interpreted it and saw things from an odd perspective probably if I wasn't reckless with my relationship with people, I could have been the happiest person in the world today.

It started back in secondary school, I was the prettiest in both the junior and senior school combined, this made me popular and a hit in the school. I have many times heard my schoolmates boasting about my beauty when arguing with students from other schools and this makes me feel good.

I had several toasters but I wasn't bothered about them because all I wanted was to perform excellently in my academics and it paid off for me, I was able to make it into one of the best universities in the country.


The first day of resumption was something else, I had every eye on me as I walk through the school field. It was as if the world paused for a moment because of me, I had to quicken my footsteps to the class where I would be having my first lecture.

The lecture was going on already and the lecturer looking shocked at seeing me made every student look back, it was the same facial expression I have seen all day. I wonder if they haven't seen someone as beautiful as I am, the males readjust so I can sit by their side but I wasn't interested so I went for the empty chair in the class.

I settled in properly and soon became friends with lots of people who wanted to be my friend, I started feeling full of myself at some point because my beauty kept glowing despite the University stress.

The big boys in class paid my bills, even my school fee is been sorted before my parent sends the money, I wasn't dating any because it was clear they just wanted to have me because of my beauty but there was this guy who was always watching out for me. Fred was intelligent but came from a poor home, he made me feel great and tried for me academically because he was always helping me so I can have good grades like him.

We weren't dating and the first day he mentioned it, I made him understand he wasn't my class. He felt hurt and wept but that didn't get to me because I wouldn't stoop so low to his level, how do I tell people that Fred is my boyfriend when the likes of James, Yusuf, and others would give me anything in the world, I feel like they appreciate my beauty more than he will ever do.


We didn't stop being friends and he even became more caring than before, I remembered a time when I had this terrible menstrual cramp in school. I wasn't useful for myself throughout the period and he had to leave his own life just to care for me, he made my meals and even did laundry.

He wasn't trying to win my heart because he knew I wanted someone bigger than him and I already had a working class lover who lived close to the school hostel. He gives me lots of money and even gave more gift often but he is always busy, he barely have time for me but that didn't bother me since he is handsome and rich, he would be the perfect replacement for Fred when we finally get married. He would care for me, pamper me and look after me even more than Fred was doing.

We graduated and Fred tried his shot again, he made a statement that he feels complete around me and it would be perfect if we spend the rest of our lives together. I was very mad at him and embarrassed him, my words were harsh and he left me in tears again, from that moment I vowed never to see him again.

He pleaded if I could give him a chance to be friends again but I didn't give him the tiniest of space to get in touch with me. He tried reaching me when he heard I was getting married but I still didn't give him a chance, I left my former lover and the new guy wants to tie the knot as early as possible.

After the wedding, we met at a mall where I was struggling with the trolley because of my big belly. He rushed to help me and even drove me home since my husband is an advanced version of the handsome, rich, and super busy type. We got home and he even helped me take the stuff inside, he asked if I needed help with anything before he left and I got emotional remembering how much he cared about me then and even now.

We talked at length about life and he was doing very much better since had a good job and planning to get married soon, he was about to leave when he mentioned that we might not see him for a long time because he would be traveling out permanently after the wedding ceremony.

I could still see the affection he had for me on his face even though my beauty was partially gone due to the stress of maintaining the home plus the pregnancy, it was strong but we have walked on different paths in life. I wished the pregnancy was for him, he would have pampered me more because my husband hardly look at me twice since I got pregnant, I always feel like devouring him whenever he says that I am disgusting since I started carrying his baby.

Fred traveled and we haven't seen each other since then but we talk on the phone often, he is happily married while I returned to living alone since my husband married another lady because he didn't know I will lose my beauty after birth.

If I had known he was irreplaceable, I wouldn't have treated him like I did.


I made the mistake my daughter and I wouldn't want you to do the same, please be wise in choosing your spouse. Go for a man that sees beyond your beauty, someone who will love you and care for you no matter what happens during your journey forever.

Her daughter stood up and hugged her mom as they were both in tears.

The end.

Lead image.

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed reading my story.

10
$ 4.23
$ 4.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
+ 9
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

owww.. this is an amazing inspirational story, friend. it is enough that someone just wants from selfishness and high expectations because of economic problems. but time will prove that overpowering will be wealth and good looks. indeed the eye can see something interesting and can be an attraction to get it, but not necessarily attractive people are good. don't just look at the person from the outside but look at him. inspiration

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never look for luxury, rather choose the one who show his love and compassion no matter what his state in life. Nice story buddy and the lesson was really there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed leason has been learned. That is why I chose to marry my husband. He maybe not rich and even need to work outside tha country to have a bigger income but then I can feel his loved for me. We should always chose someone we love and loved us too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow ... Truely there is this one person that is irreplaceable in someone's life and when they are gone it rare to find another like them. Great article 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This story has a great lesson for all those ladies who prefer money and standard over the pure love. She losed Fred, a man who was her true well wisher, and her husband was married to another woman. This must be painful for her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I quickly replace people that don't value me or people that don't add any value to me more quickly than anyone else but especially those that seem to be pests around me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone has right to choose one who become worries about your health, especially your mental health e.t.c but sometimes in search of gold we lost the daimond. That happens when we see beyond the love of people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i read the story and it was an emotional one, we have to see beyond and not just about physical items,

$ 0.00
2 years ago