I wish our neighbor was my dad...

22 41
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Break-up in relationships and marriage are now a trend in the society these days, some even go to the extent of not breaking up instead the couples would choose to live together as strangers for the sake of their kids.

After thinking deeply, it occurs to me that a relationship has nothing to do with perfection. Someone faithful and dedicated in the relationship would just come up with some strange attitude that will end up tearing a relationship apart, it is hard to comprehend and for a single guy like me, I get scared of embarking on a forever journey that could end within a short.

Is it not weird?

I keep wondering why someone who loves their spouse and kids would just change all of a sudden. Questions like the ones listed below keep running through my mind.

Was it destined?

Were they pretending all along?

If the parents never loved each other, why should the kids suffer for it?

What changed?

I don't understand how things turn from sweet to sour in a relationship so quickly. I was only five when I started to live with my mom alone and it makes me not understand what fatherly love means and whenever I promise myself not to make my family sad, I get scared because I have seen people who are deeply in love turn enemies for reasons you don't know.

Infidelity has been the key problem to many of these problems we see in relationships but what does it have to do with kids, they aren't the reason for infidelity. Any issue should remain between the parents until things return to normal.

How did I come with the topic?

While I was preparing for the new farming season, I was sitting alone under a tree relaxing after work. A woman living around joined me under the tree and we started a discussion somehow but while we were having this conversation, she asked me how she can prevent her kids from hating their dad.

I was quick to give her a response without asking what happened, my response came from experience because then, my mom would buy us new clothes and tell us my dad bought them. She always said that my dad came home while we were sleeping and he left very early again.

After giving her my response, I asked what happened?, she made it clear that her husband as changed from an angel to a beast not just to her but to the kids as well. Imagine a teenager saying she wants to be a lawyer so that she can sue her dad for not taking care of his family.

The discussion got the best of me and I felt bad because the women are falling victim to this issue mostly in the family.

I am not writing to support or talk against any gender, I am trying to be realistic and the question I could ask myself while discussing was "Are all women bad?"

I am not the kind of person that makes decisions without hearing from all the parties involved but my curiosity steps up when the kids also suffer from these relationship issues.

The woman further explained that there is a family in her compound that her kids play with, the neighbor's kids say good things about their dad and it makes her kids sad.

She stated that there was an evening when her son said that he wished the neighbor was his father because of how much he cares for the family and she had to make it clear that their father is a good man.


When going into a relationship, we must always consider the children we are bringing to the world. I have learned that the effect of these issues mostly tells on the kids.


To every man out there.

Kids become our responsibility immediately we bring them to the world and no matter what comes up in the relationship, we must never let the kids bear the consequences.


To every woman out there.

Nothing about the future is predictable, you shouldn't be completely dependent on your husband.

If you have results, search for a job and if you don't, learn a skill. Empower yourself with something, humans change, and don't wait until the change comes, you should prepare yourself ahead.

If your relationship doesn't have issues, you can support the family with your earnings.

Another thing is controlling the number of kids you have, don't because your relationship is good to make you give birth to so many kids that would become a problem for you to cater for when issues start coming up. I am saying this because some men can choose to abandon kids, no true mother would sit to watch her kids suffer.


To everyone

When going into marriage, don't be blinded by the current situation of things. Look beyond the present, the future should be your biggest priority.

Lead image.

11
$ 7.19
$ 6.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 7
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Your concluding statement sums it all up perfectly. Indeed, before one embarks on the journey of life partnership/marriage, one must look beyond the present and also be ready to stand by the decision even when things change in the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so sad. Children are to be pitied in such situation. Poor souls who do not know anything are now victim of issues in the home and because of that, some Children are found outside being influenced wrongly and become monster in the society. Parents or partners should never involve their children when they have issues because they are innocent and deserves good treatment and love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have such type of wishes because when I compare my father to anyone then one thing came in my mind that my father is the best and always love us . And trying to give every type of facility whatever he will afford or not I always say my father is my hero

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was young.I also wished that my cousin's father be our Father. Because he's caring and always by their side. My father was always away and doesn't even care bout us.. Lol...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have only seen my dad about five times since 1999, the problem is very common to men. I am scared I am a man.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing about the future is predictable, you shouldn't be completely dependent on your husband.

If you have results, search for a job and if you don't, learn a skill. Empower yourself with something, humans change, and don't wait until the change comes, you should prepare yourself ahead.

I love this part of your article, this where the most problem comes from. When couples are yet without kids spending money for a man is easy but when kids came on and with numbers, things never remain the same. It is here that a wise woman should be of help to the family financially but most women still add their problems with the kid's problems for the man to carry. Most men can't handle it and hence trouble start.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I thought of that as well sir, I think sometimes responsibilities can make a man change from the loving and caring person they use to be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sigh! It's so hard to predict and sometimes difficult to judge and as you have rightly mentioned brother, the children always end up suffering for what they know nothing about. We need to always act with the thoughts of children in mind. They shouldn't be dragged into the mess we have created. It's not fair at all.

Children are sensitive...they see things and in this instance, the mother can do little to convince the children because they will hear something and then see something different. It's hard to know what drove them apart and if you ask the man, he would come up with his own reasons too but they should get their acts together, both of them and fix what's left. It's unfair on the kids. They all have a part to play and they are the ones to fix this.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

According to the woman, the man has a side chick. He is not the first person to have a side chick and still cared for the family.

I just hope God restores peace into the relationship for the sake of the children. I am changing some BCH now to support her with feeding. It is a tough one.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wow. God bless your heart. This is inspiring and impressive bro. Regardless, the man shouldn't have neglected his duty for the sake of side chick na. When he is not capable of having one, why is he stressing himself? 🤣🤣😂😂😂🤣

Please help me with your account details. Let me help with my widow's mite.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been there bro, I know how it was tough on my mom as well. I am lucky to be here and I don't hesitate to support people in the situation for the sake of the kids.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

God bless your heart, brother. The world need more people like you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God. This frightened me right now. We really can't predict the future. I just hope that I won't experience this and if I will, I wish I could be able to handle the situation without harming my future kiddos.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Don't be scared champ, it is something to be worried about but I believe that God will guide our steps accordingly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't help myself of getting scared. 🥺 But then again , as you said, I have Him. God will lead my way 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow boss you have spoken well, how I wish this could be published or sent to a couple I know of they aren't considerate about their children future. Grievance and hatred have covered there faces.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wish I can get this across to more platforms and I will try my best for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's the future that we often overlook. We like to live in the moment which is not that all bad but what we do now will affect our future. We like the idea of falling in love and being together but we are not looking at the bigger picture.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, that's true. A lot of us today believe that things will remain as it was and when we don't prepare for the unexpected, it becomes a huge problem.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I really feel for the kids. I see it happened to some of my niblings and they are scarred for life being caught in the middle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been through that, it doesn't just have a physical on the kids, it affects them psychologically.

$ 0.00
2 years ago