...I forgot your day.

21 64
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Love, Relationship, Lovers, Fiction, ...

"Don't ever forget your wedding anniversary or your wife's birthday if you want to have a happy home", Mr. George laughed after the statement as he gently got down from the altar where he was invited as a guest speaker during the church marriage seminar. They never get tired of listening to him, he is a role model to even men of God in the state because he has lived happily with his wife since they got married.

He was about to turn on his ignition when his phone rang, it was Mrs. George. "Hello love", she said with her sweet old angelic voice. " your lunch is ready and I would be waiting for you so that we can eat together. Mr. George smiled as he replied, "I will be home in a jiffy sweetheart"

She prayed for his safe return before ending the call, Mr. George paused for a moment as memories flow through his head. He remembered how they met, it's been 38 years of pure and undiluted love for the couples. (He started the car engine and zoomed off, he didn't want to be late for lunch). The only time they had a serious disagreement was 28 years ago when he was caught up with work and didn't remember to wish her a happy birthday which they settled after a week but she promised to stop loving him if he ever forgets again.


He was moving as fast as he could when he ran past a traffic sign that say, 10km/hr. He slowed down immediately to avoid the traffic police arresting him for overspeeding since the area is a busy environment but that number "10" did more than just cautioning him to slow down.

He immediately pulled over to check his phone calendar, the date was 8th meaning it was just a few days to his wife's birthday. "How on earth did I forget that it is her month already?, I remembered I greeted her, welcome to your month on the first of February and I suddenly forgot again".

He kept murmuring alone before getting back on the road, I must start planning now before it gets late.

He got home at past 4 pm and they had lunch, Mrs. George was wondering while her husband never mentioned anything about her birthday, Valentine's, and wedding anniversary that comes a few days after her birthday.

She wasn't finding it cool but she was calm and ready to fulfill her promise if he fails to wish her a happy birthday. She planned to travel to meet her kids abroad and spend at least a month so that he would miss her.


Why on earth would a 60-year-old woman still cherish her birthday celebration? I guess she has a child's spirit despite her age.


The meal was over and they had a gist about the seminar before they went to relax outside the compound. Mr. George started making plans immediately and never gave his wife any hint about the preparation. On the other hand, Mrs. George was getting angrier because she thought he had forgotten again.

Two days to the birthday, everything was set. The plan was to lodge their family friends in a nearby hotel so they will surprise Mrs. George even before daybreak.

Everything went as planned, Mrs. George didn't see anything like birthday preparation even on the 13th of February so she already prepared her passport and booked an airline ticket to leave the home early in morning of on 14th which was her birthday. The husband sat down in the sitting room watching TV at 12 am which is very unusual for him because he doesn't stay up for long at night, his wife also didn't leave the room because she expected him to be the first to wish her a happy birthday.

She slept off in the room and at 4 am, Mr. George went to the hotel next compound to bring their family friends into the house. They fixed the decorations, cake, and every necessary thing before Mrs. George gets out of bed by 5 am which was her regular waking time.

They switched off the lights at a few minutes to 5 am and waited patiently for Mrs. George to come through the stairs but she didn't. He went upstairs to check her and she was up packing a few things for the trip.

"Why are you packing?", he asked and she replied that she was going on a vacation. With surprise, he quickly grabbed her by the waist. My love, why would you leave me out of your traveling plan, you know I haven't lived a week without you.

Tears roll down Mrs. George's cheek, she said with a shaky voice. " You are fond of forgetting my birthday, the only reason why you do remember is that I always talk about it, and this year that I didn't, you forgot. My day is difficult to know, my birthday and Valentine's falls on the same day so why it is difficult? Does it mean that you don't love me?

They both got emotional as he hugged her, they were crying like babies when the doorbell sounded.

It was just 5:15 am, who could be at the door. Mr. George was confused because that wasn't part of his plan. Could it be the security? She asked as she walked towards the door and her husband followed immediately, the sitting room light was off but switched on immediately the guest heard footsteps in the sitting room

They could guess that the different footsteps were from two footwear soles meaning Mr. and Mrs. George came down together.


She was surprised and even cried more, she hugged her husband and asked why he never mentioned it?

He could only smile with tears in his eyes and the birthday celebration became the best she ever had because it was special. The party started even before the sunrise and it went down till night as guests were coming in and out of their house.


After every guest had left, Mr. George said to his wife. "You thought, I forgot your day". I almost forgot to wish you a happy Valentine as well, you know I will always love you forever.

They both laughed as they cuddle one another to sleep.

@PVMihalache @Infinity @Jane.

#ValentineDayChallenge2022


I hope you enjoyed the fiction story, it is the month of love, and writing about a story after a long pause makes me feel great.

Lead image... Click on other images for the source and click here to join the contest if interested.

15
$ 7.08
$ 5.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.05 from @Infinity
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 8
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Love, Relationship, Lovers, Fiction, ...

Comments

He was planning her birthday already but never mentioned anything to her, so she planned her vacations to left him forever. But she must be happy to receive the surprise. It was beautifully narrated.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess she was really pained because he didn't show any concern about the birthday, you know women like dramas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This this really beautiful. Why don't you use it as an entry into the valentines writing challenge that's still im progress? Infact thee are two of them I know of. One initiated by the user infinity and another one by carisdaneym2.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will check them out, thanks for the awareness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I imagined the whole story sir, that was so sweet. I hope someday I will be able to feel this kind of a surprise party...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the compliment, don't worry. A surprise party will definitely come for you someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love story with happy endings with a tinge of emotion. We like been remembered. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, so you love the ending? I am glad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for participating. The best of luck to you :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks man, the story wasn't basically for the stuff but I thought it would fit in.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wedding anniversary is our way of dedication to God to give thanks because this process is a family formed and is a way to show family to children and relatives that without God's inclusion and protection the family will never survive

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha I understand Ms. George, women can be so a little bit over acting and dramtic no matter what their age, ai remember a friend of mine who's willing to fight and leave me because I just forgot her birthay hahaha I'm a woman too but I'm not fond of celebrating birthdays, even myself sometimes forgot my own birthday. Love the story by the way😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am so poor with dates so the character(George) talks a lot about my personality.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love the story buddy,

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Women can be so dramatic and they take their birthday very seriously. They could end a relationship because of it. Hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Honestly I have seen someone hold grudges with me for a whole year because I didn't remember her birthday, I ended up settling it with shopping.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes right dear always remember the wedding anniversary of your wife . because she is the only one member on your life who ready to sacrifice for you ..you are Lucky when you have true life partner

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, women can be so emotional sometimes and they always have this baby spirit in them 😅
I think you should have reserved this article for Monday but it's like you have a better one for Monday.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope I can prepare another one before or on that day, I enjoyed writing this because it's been a while since I did a story like this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago