Health: knowing your blood pressure.

9 23
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

My experience in life has made me place good health over anything in life, money or any other material things needed to have a good life is inferior to good health.

Without any doubt, you will agree with me that good health is the foundation of every greatness you want to achieve in life. If you are not fit, you can work or do anything to earn a living because good health isn't just about physical fitness and strength, it has to do with our mental health as well.

Talking about health is a very wide topic and as of now, there are a lot of research going on all over the world due to health issues that come up every day but despite the efforts of medical professionals, lots of people still jeopardize their health status in different ways.

Food, stress, environment plays a big impact on our health and these are the reasons we must be very careful about our health.

Two years ago, I was having a muscle issue in my left leg and decided to seek medical attention. It will be my first time visiting a hospital as an adult for treatment or medical advice, I don't know why I don't find the hospital environment cool. It was easier to force me there as a kid but since I am an adult every member of the family just watches me do things my way when it comes to medicals.

Before then my mum does lay much emphasis on me visiting the hospital but I was always scared because I don't want to be diagnosed and hear that I have a particular kind of sickness. The thought of it will end up killing me someday.


That is how many of us reason as well but it's of no use having such thought because knowing what you are battling against can extend your time or give you the chance of curing yourself of such illness.


Immediately I got to the hospital after doing the necessary registration I was taken into a small office for my vital signs. My blood sample was taken, my weight and several questions were asked about how I was feeling.

Finally, my blood pressure was checked.

With surprise, the nurse asked for my age for the second time. She told me to relax for some minutes, she checked again and shook her head, I didn't understand her reaction and she didn't say anything about it.

After the nurse finishes her duty, I was referred to the doctor's office and the doctor started with my blood pressure, complaining it is was way above normal for my age. Deep in my mind, I said "this is why I didn't want to come here because I have been seeing symptoms which I overlooked."


Due to the symptoms I was experiencing then, I was told to do an ECG test to check if I have any problem with my heart and at that point, my fear increased. I did the necessary things, since then I have been on occasional medication and regular check-ups.

Funny enough, I got it through the gene. One of my parents had it but was able to keep it under control.

I have since then tried to maintain it, there are times it gets above normal but I do know with my body signs and check-up. 

Checking my blood pressure with a device.

The story is just to make you know the importance of knowing some things about your health. Health care is not the same scenario in very well-civilized countries where you can just walk into hospitals. Most residents of those countries have their medical history documented and it aids the doctors to quickly get to know what's going on, unlike my country where people die even before getting to know the cause of their illness. To avoid sudden death, we must always keep up with our health care and ensure we are doing things right to stay healthy.


What is BLOOD PRESSURE? 

This is the pressure at which blood flows during its movement within the Arteries. The artery is responsible for carrying the blood from the heart to the body parts. 

What is HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE?

High blood pressure can be referred to as Hypertension, It is said to be a state when the blood pressure hits an abnormal level. It occurs due to the resistance or hindrance the blood meets while the heart is pumping out blood. 


I mentioned something about resistance earlier, blood flow resistance is a particular force that obstructs or hinders the proper flow of blood through the blood vessel.

Unsplash

Causes of High Blood Pressure

There are numerous causes of high blood pressure which I will highlight so that we can know what to stay away from.


1. Gene/Hereditary

Just like in my case, a person can have high blood pressure due to family background. It can be passed on from a family member to another.

It can be carried in the gene and transferred from generation to generation


2. Side effects of Medication

Knowing your allergies is very important because it has a lot to do with your health.

Taking drugs without a doctor's prescription is dangerous as well because there might be complications.

A person can develop high blood pressure from medications and it is very dangerous if it is not discovered earlier.

3.Stress

Stress is another thing that causes high blood pressure, we must sleep regularly and take enough rest when our body demands it.

Many other factors can be well explained by doctors because they are in the best position to tell us more about this but above all, paying attention to how health matters a lot.

Lead image

8
$ 16.71
$ 16.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.02 from @Review
+ 1
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

i think you should always feel relax as most of the time stress increase up the blood pressure!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You are right about that, stress triggers it a lot and we must always try to get enough rest to avoid it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i forget another reason why blood pressured occurred usually to us though i have read the lesson properly shit!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very essential for us at every 3days intervals... so many have died due to high blood pressure

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I don't check every three days because I am used to the symptoms, when I start feeling strange- I check it immediately

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice one boss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Title catch my attention to read your article.😅 I experience difficulty in breathing and until now I experience sometimes and this lead me of how important our health.

For now nothing more important of all is our health.😑😑😑

$ 0.05
2 years ago

How are you feeling now? Have you been to the hospital to know why it coming up?

Nothing beats having a good health.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only check up to a doctor, and the doctor said that much better to try an ECG but I did not try ECG for some reason.

Yeah, health is wealth. Learn to value our health and life

$ 0.00
2 years ago