Little Did They Know

0 27

Bachelor of Science in Hospitality Management is a common course taken by young people who are undecided. This is what people who lack sufficient knowledge often say when it comes to the Tourism and Hospitality industry.

Cooking has been a passion of mine since I was a child, and I believe I inherited it from my father, who enjoys cooking as well. Because of the high cost of Culinary Arts, I initially wanted to pursue it in college but knowing how expensive it could be made me decide to pursue the more practical option of Hospitality Management. I couldn’t help but experience discrimination because of my dream job even of my dream course. From grade school, I was asked what would I like to be someday, of course, I consistently answer this kind of question until Senior year that I wanted to play my role in the industry of Tourism and Hospitality, where I could freely accommodate each tourist during their journey.

"I see you're a Hospitality Management student; Isn't it just about cooking and tour guiding?"

This is what we encounter as Hospitality Students, a look down from other people on the course we are taking. I'm not certain why this course appears to have no value in society in the eyes of others. Haven't they realized that each course/work has its own field of expertise? Why would they judge someone's work as if it were too easy to handle, and why would society look down on things like serving, accommodating, and cleaning-related tasks?

Tourism is important in the way that it implements activities and they are considered an industry too. As a particular destination which could be a site, man-made, natural, and event attraction if it gains their name on the tourism industry as it also provided satisfaction that could be a good help to encourage another tourist from a domestic and foreign country to try and purchase their products. These also bring tourists to a particular country which is very important as they help it to enhance their images and culture, they are the ones who make a destination has the popularity in the business. Besides they engage in a certain tourist to offer and provide services wherein this is called as the tourism products which are the combination of what a tourist does in the place that they chose and what kind of service is being used.

Likewise, tourism creates demand and it usually boosts more commercial activities resulting in having a high opportunity for employment that provides an impact on the development of the economy.

Each course is not solely based on a society's beliefs, and there are courses that are designed to fulfill every young person's dream of becoming an expert in the field they desire. So why would we merely judge them without knowing what these students went through before they get a degree or before they became a professional, it's why I wanted to share my standpoint in order to educate society. Those who read maybe educated enough not to judge someone, but those who lack knowledge may try to first use respect before speaking.

Their judgments may be harsh toward a student like me who chose this course, but little did they know that the industry in which I aspired to be part was wide and enough to make our country prosperous and economically by acknowledging and serving others.

Disclaimer: I am neither a psychologist nor a financial advisor, and all of my pieces were done for entertainment purposes only. What I've written here is merely my personal opinion, and any statements made are based on my personal views and should not be taken as fact. Always do your due diligence.

Support and Follow me

https://noise.cash/u/Gelayy

4
$ 1.28
$ 1.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @jasglaybam
$ 0.02 from @Oikawa
Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

Comments