If I Had Then, What Would Now Be (Part 2)

3 26
Avatar for Gaiom
Written by
2 years ago

… by the time I arrived at the University, I called my secondary school classmate who has been a student of the school for two years. He had gained admission into the same university two years ago, the same year we graduated secondary school.

I stayed with him as he was the only one I knew living within close proximity of the school. Actually, he was staying on campus. We didn’t really spend so much time together as I had arrived a day before my exam and he also had to go for classes and personal study. I spent my time touring the campus, as it was my first time there and I was very excited

After I finished my exam the next day, I felt free, as though the burden of the exam was lifted off my shoulders. My friend had to go visit his aunt that day, so we didn’t exactly have all the conversation I had planned to have with him as regards life in the university vs life in secondary school.

Results came, and I had an aggregate of 63% and I was somewhat worried that I would not be offered admission because of the competition in the course I had chosen to study (Medicine and Surgery).

About 3 weeks later, first and second batches of admission list was released by the school and I had not been admitted yet. I was distraught. Saddened by the thought of waiting another year before I can apply for admission again. I had already given up on admission for that year.

I checked my online application portal and saw I had been offered admission to study Fisheries. I got home and told my dad about it and he asked me if I wanted to accept the admission. I thought about it and told him I would reject it, and that I can always try again next year.

I was particularly surprised I had rejected it, because admission was something I wanted so desperately. But here I am rejecting one on a bronze platter. I think it was due to the fact that:

1. The course I was admitted for wasn’t what I wanted to study

2. I had already moved on and accepted this wasn’t my year

That was another year for me at home. Next year (2016) came and I repeated the application process all over again. I passed the UTME cut-off mark for the second time and really prepared for the schools Post-UTME exam. Then, there was a change of policy. Most tertiary institutions decided to do screening and not the traditional examination they used to and this gave rise to what I would call opportunity.

Opportunity for corrupt officials to favour those who could fatten their pockets with bribery. Because there was no mechanism (Post-UTME) in place to screen out the worthy from the unworthy, just anyone could be offered admission, long as you could pay the price. Again, I was not offered admission.

My only consolation was that my friend whom we applied for admission in the same school, though different course, was admitted. I really thought that was my year. But as fate would have it. It wasn’t at all.

The following year (2017), I applied again. The same university, for the fourth consecutive year. Luckily for me, the Post-UTME was readopted by my institution of choice and after everything went fairly well. I wasn’t offered admission until the second batch list was released.

Lo and behold, I was offered admission to study the same course I had rejected 2 years ago. Then I sat and thought: this is the second time I am being admitted for the same course in a span of 3 years. Could this be fate? My fate??

Well, if it was my fate, rest assured I accepted it gracefully. Four years later, I am a 400 Level student of the University, studying Aquaculture and Fisheries Management and there isn’t any course if rather be studying if I am being honest.

Conclusion

I am grateful for this phase of my life, as it taught me a lot and played a major part in shaping the person I am now. I am grateful to my parents for being understanding and supportive all through. Brings to mind a post by @happyBoy titled My Choice and how parents should not impose their dreams on their children by choosing their career path. Had my parents done that, I wouldn’t be where I am now, where I belong.

Thank you for reading ✍🏿🙏🏿💪🏿

5
$ 0.05
$ 0.03 from @Methion
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
Sponsors of Gaiom
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gaiom
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Four times😱😱😱..I wish I had same courage like you. Well I'm glad you accepted fisheries else I wouldn't have met you even though you're a pain in you know where😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like to think I am the pain everyone needs. So, yeah, I am glad I did. Else I'd probably be in a lab right now analysing thrombocytes and all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good for you that your parents let you be with whatever choice you took.

$ 0.02
2 years ago