What is your name?

22 42
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
1 year ago

The title of the article sound strange right? You are thinking I am asking about your name? Lols, that's not the reason for the article.

One of the bad things I have regretted in my life is being a citizen of a country called Nigeria and one of the happiest things I am always grateful for is being a Nigerian. I know what I said is complicated but that's the truth. So many crimes that Nigerian have been into across the world and for that reason, we have been given a tag or let me say NAMES that have denied us so many opportunities.

The Yorubas adage says A GOOD NAME IS BETTER THAN GOLD AND SILVER but it's a pity that many wants that gold and silver and are careless about their name being spoilt. I have registered for something online before and I was denied access to the site because I was a Nigerian and I am like, why? Just because I am a Nigerian. It's not their fault though, they are only scared of Nigerians because of what they must have heard or experienced with them.

Nigerians are known by the NAME called SCAMMERS. it's not only Nigerian though that are facing this problem but ours is at a higher risk than others. But what they have failed to know is that everyone is not the same at all. Many might have name everyone but not everyone is into the same thing of being called SCAMMERS.

Enough of the country talk, what about us as an individual, what is your name? Many have been named bad names all because of what they are into. Like I said earlier, many don't care about having that good names, all they care for is gold and silver and other material things.

I was watching a guy on Instagram the other day and he was saying it jokingly that, people watching him should keep the good name to themselves and that they should just give him the gold and silver. He said he doesn't care about the good name at all, he said he is after those golds and silvers and after that, he will have a rethink later about the name.

Even though he was joking but in the real sense, he is passing a message to all of us. He has just shown us the heart of so many that they are after the material things and that's all.

Many have spoiled their name for pleasures and enjoyment of life. One-night stands have spoilt the name of many, money to survive has spoilt the name of many, getting big phones like iPhones has spoilt the name of many, and getting the latest car and flashing clothes have spoilt the name of many. No wonder, many are being used for money rituals in the process of getting what they can't get at the moment.

My advice for everyone;

It can only be best for you when your name is talked about for good cos it opens ways for many. Don't be carried away by the flashing things of the world and get your name stained with the mud and gutter around. Maintain that good name of yours because they are worth more than gold and silver in the market.

14
$ 1.09
$ 0.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 6
Sponsors of Gaftekloriginal
empty
empty
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
1 year ago

Comments

A good name can unlock doors that power cannot... A good name deals with the heart too and this is why most of these proverbs are amazing but we failed to take lessons from them.

I read your second post before I read this hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, there's a great power that comes with a good name. 😅😅😅😅 it's fine if you read that first.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🥰🤩🥰🤩🥰🤩 thank you, bro.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Looking at the title of the article, I really thought that it was written about the name, but after reading it, I saw a different topic.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am happy you met what you didn't expect.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A good name and reputation is better than silver and gold

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, it's far better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At first, when i saw the title "what your name ? " I thought am about to read something about nicknames but it more than Nickname, according to the Yoruba proverbs " A good name is better than gold and silver", your advice is what we should all work to and put things together. Thanks for bringing this up bro

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lols, it's far more than a nickname. We should just make sure we aren't carried away by the material things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People does not care about thier names at all after they are being addicted to socia media. They envy everything everyone has and trust me, they are willing to sell thier souls for it and not just ruining their names.

Imagine how pweooe with jo work gets iphone in its latest model? I envy them too but i know my place. I uninstalled soc med apps because i was leading there and i don't like it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, social media has been one of the tools that have led to many of these atrocities. I am happy you took a nice decision to excuse yourself from there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks, i hope everyone realizes this too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A lot of people no longer protect their names anymore. Some of them can even sell out their names for money or exchange it with any material thing they see. But those that still understands the real meaning of having a good name values it. And there are doing everything possible to see nobody stain their names.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, they are playing with their future cos it will hurt them in the long run.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Even the book of Proverbs says that a good name is better than riches.

Why do we have to go after material things that are just in vain, instead of protecting a forever name of ours?

For me, my name is very important and i wouldn't compromise with anything.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I have always been in the position to always protect my name even though our character and behaviour will say it but some choose to stain it and I will never allow that to happen. That name is important.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is true, the world has changed unbelievably and a lot of people no longer care what people see them as or the name tag. Money influence has caused a lot, People can do anything to trade their good to bad all in the quest for money and pleasure. Sometime I think of this and I don't seems to see any END TO THIS except the world ends

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The end is actually destruction with lots of regret for anyone who chooses material things above a good name.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True my friend. We should show to the others our name is good. Don't dirt our names because it will describe us what we are.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, our names go a long way to tell people what we are capable of doing and what we are in the world.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes that's true my friend. So treasure and have a good care of our names.

$ 0.00
1 year ago