Need is different from want, so what do you need?

17 48
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago

I am very lucky to have you all as my blessed family on this platform because you all understand what I am currently passing through that has been affecting me not to pay attention to all articles but I do try my best to tip it all. You all didn't react to me the way I am presently doing by not reading my article or not commenting on it, NO. You all never did that instead you keep on reading and commenting when necessary, I pray for you all that good things will never cease in each and everyone's life in Jesus name. I appreciate it and I must say a very BIG THANK YOU to you all.

A BIG THANK YOU😍😍

Let me go straight to the business of the day, we all are familiar with the definitions of these two words, is just that we fail to use them in the right place or the right context. For those who don't understand know the meaning, let me quickly do a brief definition for each;

  • Need according to oxford means to require something or somebody because they are essential or very important, not just because you would like to have them

  • Want according to oxford means to have a desire or a wish for something

What can we denote from the two definitions? We all can see that need is what we are required to have for immediate use, what we are going to use immediately after getting it, it means that thing that we have been panting for to have and make use of after getting them while want is what we wish to have not because we will use them immediately after getting them but because we felt we should just have it should in case that we might need them or what we wish we should have because other people who are our friends or neighbour has it, whereas we don't need it for need it immediately. I hope I am beginning to clarify the difference between the two words. Let me sight an example to buttress my point.

Image source

Mr A has a wife and five children and those children have started going to school while Mr B is a single man whose job is so close to where he is living. Mr A office is far from home and his children school is also far from home, his children do board the public transport to their school and Mr A also does that which causes him to be late for work, whereas Mr B doesn't have to board a public bus before getting to his working place because it is not far at all and it's trekkable.

Let me ask a quick question, what does Mr A need to overcome his lateness and do you think Mr B also need what Mr A also need?

I am sure you are done answering the question on your mind and the answer is definitely a Car. Mr A needs a car so to get over the lateness and ease his expenses of transport fare spent on his children and for himself, he did not want it all in the name of I have a car but needs it because he has to reduce his expenses on transport fare.

Mr B does not need a car because his working place is not far from his house and there are no expenses he is trying to overcome or subdue but he might want it or let me say he wants it because he wants to show his fellow friends that he has a car or he wants to be part of people using the car on his area.

I hope we all understand the illustration given. So many of us buy things because we want them and not because we need them and in the end we regret buying them. Let me face the ladies first by saying there is a lot of money we could have saved for the future but because of our constant spending on things we want and not needed, we could save. You will buy cloth today, the next day you will buy another one because your friend has it or because it is the one trending whereas you don't need cloth as at that present time. Men too have their own, they spend their money on shirts and shoes whereas they have enough to keep them going, they buy them because it is trending and not because they need them or many buy car because his friend has. They might not have the ability to run the car expenses and again they don't need it but they want it to feel among with their friends.

Lesson to learn;

We shouldn't buy things becusee we want them most of the time, I am not saying it is not good but it is always good to set out priorities right, by so doing it will help us save a lot for the future. We should know what we need at the present and buy them but we should not go for what we want when we have what we need on ground.

Go for what you need ahead of what you want, know this and know peace ✌️.

Lead image source.

Thanks for reading and I hope you learnt a lot from this. When you learn new things from my article, it is always my happiness and joy. God bless you for reading and supporting me.

Byee for nowπŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°.

11th September 2021.

10
$ 3.78
$ 3.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 4
Sponsors of Gaftekloriginal
empty
empty
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago

Comments

Great analogy bro. Sometimes you need to tweak your budget or actions in order to fully some goals. Truly want is different from need.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you boss, thanks for adding

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just remembered a topic I did in economics back then in school, it talked about need and want and it clearly showed the difference between both.

Like I always tell people, sometimes you will think you need something but in essence you only want it. The funny thing is that this two terms can change depending on the scenario. For example, there are different scenarios where you will need a new phone and when you want a new phone. You need a new phone maybe because the current one is starting to have faults and it's interfering with your work, while you want a new phone because a new model just got launched and all your friends are using it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember too just now, you are right. It can be used interchangeably though but there are still differences between them. Thanks adding,I appreciate it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure thing bro, you're welcome πŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mr. A needs to get to work a little earlier more or move closer to his work but that all depends on other needs too especially for the family. Lots of factors to take in.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right sir, it depends on other need also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The two words sound like the same thing but they are definitely different from each other because sometimes what we want is not what wee need but because we want it so bad we go for the unnecessary things that we want

Ladies are perfect example for this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…i like the fact that you said ladies, they can buy anything whereas they don't need them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's just the fact

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many years ago, I used to buy things on impulse even if I don't need them. I ended up giving them away. Now, I only buy what I need :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the result of buying what we want and not what we need, we end up giving it out. Thank God you discovered thatπŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that was my guilt many years back :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very true in life, and many people mistake the two more times than not. I remember having a conversation with someone who said they did not like their job and felt it did not pay enough. "Why not get another job?" I asked.

"I live in a small town and there aren't many options for jobs around here."

"Well, what about the next town over? You have a car, you can just drive." I would suggest.

Long and short is that the closest town that offered anything of value was 45 minutes away and he did not want to drive that distance every day. I told him that was silly. If the commute is needed in the short term, he should make the commute to make better money and have a better job. Worst case scenario, at some point you move closer when you have more money and opportunity to do so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have spoken well, many mix up about the two words has really happened many times. Thanks for engaging,I really appreciate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It does go beyond that, of course. For example, I NEED toilet paper. But I want BETTER toilet paper. Until I can afford better toilet paper, it is best to buy toilet paper that simply gets the job done. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously, this is another angle of the topic,I love this addition

$ 0.00
2 years ago