How I successfully introduced BCH to my uncle who works at the bank despite the crypto fall

3 174
Avatar for Gabu
Written by
1 year ago

It is very hard getting people to listen to whatever you have to say these days when the topic is crypto, except you are willing to join them in condemning it. Many people are really scared and they don’t want to have anything to do with crypto anymore, I don’t blame them though. If you pay attention to people’s stories on crypto; the damage this recent crash caused and how it has put many of them on the street, you would understand with them. We listen to motivations from prominent people every day, they would tell us to take risks and say to us that without risk, there will be no gain and that is totally true. So, it wouldn’t be right if we turn around and start blaming those who trusted their guts and invested in crypto. They were just positive, hoping for a better return and as it would be, things don’t always go the way we expect them and crypto isn’t an exception. People invested money from different sources, money meant to be used for different purposes like rent, loan, school fees and even money kept with them by others and they just had to endure seeing their investments reduced to almost nothing.

My uncle and I lives in different cities apart and it has been a long while since we saw each other. He is a married man with 2 kids and he works at a bank. He is the jovial type and always tolerate companies. He has been asking me to pay them a visit since the last time we met at my mother’s family home during Christmas holiday. That should be 2018 which is about 4 years ago, but due to school and my personal vacation plans during holidays, I wasn’t able to honor that invitation until last week. He is my maternal uncle and I think that contributes to his special bond with me and my other siblings. He is very nice and as far back as I could recall, he never visited us without coming with one gift or the other. He is very generous and we also love him so much. But ever since he got married, he visited less often and I came to the understanding that things got a little harder for him.

That is really understandable considering the fact that he now has more bills to settle at home and also has to take care of his children’s school fees. Despite the increase in responsibilities, there hasn’t been any promotion at work. He still earns the same salary even though inflation is making sure that prices of goods triple each year. Bank as an institution, especially the private one doesn’t pay its workers very well and that is a fact we are facing around here. You might work through your whole life in a private bank without earning promotion and you would have to live on the same amount of salary till retirement. This is so bad that many graduates of financial institution affiliated courses pray against working in the bank. And again, private banks are so much into their business that they prefer employing people who are not professionals in the field to those who actually studied to work in the bank. The reason for this is very simple; the workers who are obviously not qualified for the job would never expect promotion. And due to the high level of unemployment in the country, you would see people who studied in an entirely different field applying and accepting to work in the banks. My uncles’ case is nothing different. He has been on the same counter as a teller for years and he has no right to complain unless he wants to get kicked out.

Since I’m currently on beak, I decided to pay him a visit last week’s Saturday. They were very happy to have me and I was delighted to see them too. It’s been years and he couldn’t stop talking about how I have grown into a man and teasing me about my masculine features like, facial hair. As we discuss, I couldn’t wait to show him that my growth is way beyond just the physique; that I have grown so much in knowledge too. He wasn’t aware of my knowledge in crypto and I wasn’t going to leave without giving him a little lecture on it since I knew he wasn’t into crypto. I asked if he’s up to date about the current state of crypto and to my amazement, he knew fairly well about crypto in general. He told me about how so many people including some of his friends complained bitterly about the losses they incurred due to the crypto crash.

I told him about how long I have been using crypto and why those people took such losses. I made it clear to him that crypto is not just about trading and making investment. If people are willing to trade or invest so much in it, then this kind of situation should also be expected by them. I’m not this enthusiastic about Bitcoincash because of the profit I stand to make from it but because of the transaction challenges it solves every day. As a teller at the bank, he understood better the numerous transaction challenges our local currency faces every day, so it was easier explaining to him how Bitcoincash is solving those issues and serving as a better money.

Another point that helped me in getting him to see beyond the crash is the fact that our local currency had lost about 400% in value to the Us dollar in the past 8 years. Of course, people that have it saved up incurred losses but that didn’t stop people from using it and it didn’t devalue in terms of utility. Same thing goes for BCH and other cryptocurriencies. They only lost value in comparison with local fiat but not in function. BCH is still better in transaction than local fiat. The reduction in price didn’t touch its efficiency and it is this efficiency in utility that BCH focuses on and not the price.

So basically, it was the aspect of BCH’s usefulness as money that got him interested. Through my stay over the weekend, I showed him a lot of things concerning crypto and bch and got him a wallet. We even had a shot at bch transaction from mine into his wallet and he was impressed. I believed that, after exploring all the fun in the use of Bitcoincash, he would become addicted to it like I am.

I have said it before and I’m saying it again; the reputation of bitcoincash goes beyond the price.

7
$ 2.23
$ 2.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @cinderella
Sponsors of Gabu
empty
empty
Avatar for Gabu
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Love you discuss to him the advantages of BCH I also tried convincing some of my friends but they often see it as a high risk thing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One down, Gabu. And more to come. I think it's a good idea that we have to start with our relatives before other people. Great job!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's so true

$ 0.00
1 year ago