An encounter with a crypto pessimist

4 198
Avatar for Gabu
Written by
3 years ago

As someone who has seen the light and now deeply understands what it means by financial freedom, I see it as a responsibility to let everyone else know and share in the fortune I'm currently enjoying. So, going on with my normal daily activities which currently is circled mostly around academics, I make out time to utilize every slightest opportunity I get to introduce a new user to bitcoincash. I don't see this as a stressful responsibility as it is self imposed but to be a little bit honest, it is sometimes very stressful especially when the situation presents itself to be as unfortunate as trying to introduce a person who simply believes everything to be false and does not give a thing about possibilities of positive outcome. A pessimist.

Yesterday 19th March 2021, I set out in the rising sun of the beautiful morning neatly dressed for lectures. Then, headed for the main road to board a taxi. Yes, I board taxi to school everyday not because my school has no school bus but because, it doesn't pass through my axis. As I wait for a taxi heading my way, I was also enjoying the RnB sound heating the little speakers of my ear piece firmly plugged to both ears. Maybe It was due to the ectasy of the song that I failed to notice the presence of the beautiful lady standing with me. In my subconscious mind, I was standing with someone but didn't really care to take a look since it is a usual thing to wait with one or more persons for a taxi at that early hour.

Finally a taxi approached and I then waved my right hand to the driver as the normal sign indicating stop. This was when I noticed the one standing with me also making the same sign. I briefly turned to take a look and it was a pretty Lady probably in her early twenties. She was also well dressed holding tightly to the booklets in her left hand; it was a clear indication that she is also a student heading for school. The car came to a halt and as a gentle man, I allowed her to make the ground entry while I followed suit.

It was Just the both of us in the car as passengers. In less than a minute into the ride, we exchanged pleasantries and the tensed atmosphere soon became calm. I initiated the conversation and asked some obvious questions just to be sure she is a student and my suspicion was confirmed to be true. She is a student in her 2nd Year. We discussed few things about school and the conversation flowed so well that I became even more interested. Since we still had about 15 minutes before the ride ended, I decided to seize the opportunity to get a young and literate new user introduced to bitcoincash.

After asking her if she knew about crypto and received a positive feedback, I went ahead to ask if she ever heard of bitcoincash. Her answer to the first question was a "Yes" but I was soon disappointed by the outburst that followed. According to her, she does hear about cryptos especially BTC but never cared to use or learn about them. And that, she's never going to invest or convert her money(fiat) to any crypto because they are all Ponzi schemes which would definitely fail in the near future. I was actually surprised not at the fact that someone who had never used any crypto currency before could have such wrong perspectives, but at the confidence with which a supposedly educated young lady like her strongly talk down on something she's clearly ignorant of.

I was like, how sure are you about this and what is your foot stool regarding this claim? And she went ahead to say things like; "a lot of Ponzi schemes have come and gone with people's hard earned money. The government warned but the people didn't listen. Now, crypto is here and the government is still warning about it. It has been banned in some countries because they don't want their citizens to fall victims"

As she said these things, I was only thinking of how I could open the young lady's eyes to the fact that the government only see crypto as a savior to the people and a rival to them and therefore, they combat it so they could continue keeping their subjects in financial bondage through the banks. And that, crypto currencies are nothing close to being Ponzi schemes but electronic cash system that have come to offer the people financial freedom through p2p transactions. These were exactly my words to her though, I wasn't sure how she received them as her facial expression didn't say much.

In her, Instead of a pessimist, I saw a young girl with big dreams which has been brain washed and deceived by the government.

In order to avoid bringing up unnecessary arguments that could have ended up wasting the remaining 5 minutes I had with her, I went ahead to tell her about bitcoincash, what it entails and how it's different from other crypto currencies. I was glad she listened and acknowledged that the idea sounds good but she was still insisting on keeping to her decision of never to convert her fiat into any crypto, not even bitcoincash. This was the point where the Beauty and simplicity of bitcoincash came to the rescue. I told her about how she could earn bitcoincash freely from noise.cash and read.cash. And how she could use her earned bitcoincash for any transaction of her choice.

She was happy at the end of the conversation and it ended on a good note as she thanked me and promised to check the sites out. I was also happy and the rest of the day relatively went well for me. Whenever I get the chance to meet new people and have to hold conversations with them about cryptocurrency, it would definitely be about bitcoincash.

11
$ 22.28
$ 16.00 from @Ellie
$ 6.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @F.B.
+ 3
Sponsors of Gabu
empty
empty
Avatar for Gabu
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

May all of us have financial freedom ,have time to learn about it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It doesn't take much time to understand. Start transacting with it and compare the experience with your fiat.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We can not blame her if that was her perspective about crypto. Honestly i have heard of Bitcoin or the so called digital money for i think 5 years and did not dare to know the potential it bring in this present time and in the coming years. Only recently i learned about this Bitcoin Cash. I think i have missed a lot. Anyway good thing she listened. Nice read.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks man. I think the fault is of the society but we can only stand out when we think differently and strive to learn new things rather than going with the crowd.

$ 0.00
3 years ago