When the sky meets the sea

7 40
Avatar for G_lenahhh
2 years ago
Topics: Love, LDR, Happy, Writing

[October 7,2021|Thursday]

"Long distance relationship sucks," is what I always believed in since I hit my puberty stage.

For me, LDR is some sort of gambling where you have to put your heart in a dangerous game that is full of uncertainties and doubts. Worse, you have no idea whether you will win or lose at the end.

That's why, as much as possible, I always restrain my feelings not to go deeper when I'd admire some random girls on the internet who are miles apart from me.

But unexpectedly, as I went into College, there was this lady who completely shattered my belief.

Her name is Clouie, a Tourism student.

I only met her on Facebook. Maganda siya, maputi, matangkad at matalino. She almost have it all, a complete package, I must say.

Unlike the other girls I've hooked up before, she's way different.

Clouie is a classy and sophiscated woman. She's beautiful but she just rarely post pictures of her face. Minsan pa ay puro litrato lang ng mga ulap at eroplano ang pino-post niya.

She loves anything about aviation, as what I've observed. No wonder why she took up Tourism as her course.

Weeks of stalking and liking her posts, my admiration for her became deeper and deeper.

I tried to restrain myself not to chat or at least have an interaction with her but I failed.

To my fascination, I chatted her and unexpectedly, she replied.

I formally introduced myself and believe me, it was my first time to feel nervous while conversing with a woman.

Para akong naulol bigla.

When I mentioned to her that I am a seaman on the making, she replied, "Basta seaman, manloloko."

I just chuckled as I replied, "That's stereotyping, Ms. Flight Attendant.".

"Look at your photos, may balbas ka. Sign ng pagiging playboy," she replied again.

That's why when tomorrow came, I sent her pictures of me clean-shaven.

"Oh, wala na akong balbas. Playboy pa rin ba ako?"

"Ediwaw!" she just replied tersely.

From that day onwards, our simple chats progressed to video calls.

Damn, if she's beautiful on her pictures, she's more alluring in video calls.

To add something, apart from being genetically blessed, what I also admired about her is on how she speaks and how she delivers her words. She has a soft, velvety voice but radiates power, clarity and grace.

The airline that she'd apply in the future will definitely admire her. Ngayon pa lang, she already has a potential to be a good stewardess and a great asset for an airline company.

As we get to know each other, I've discovered that Clouie is from Davao while I, on the other hand is from Bulacan.

Luzon at Mindanao? Ang layo no'n.

Months of chatting her, mas lalo pa akong napalapit sa kaniya. That's why I formally asked if it's okay to court her and she allowed me.

Hindi pa nag-iisang buwan ang panliligaw ko kay Clouie ay sinagot niya na ako.

"Pre, walang nagtatagal sa LDR," one of my friends once warned me.

"Nagsasayang ka lang ng oras mo diyan, tol," another friend of mine commented.

But instead of getting down from their distasteful remarks on our relationship, I just ignored them.

I followed what my heart beat says and chose the woman I only met on the internet.

Clouie and I remained strong despite being miles apart.

Some would say, it's stupid for someone to kiss their phone or laptop screens, or even cuddling a pillow wishing it was your other half but if it's closest thing foe you to see or feel that person, it would all feel so real.

Clouie and I may be physicaly distant with each other but we are emotionally binded by love.

Distance really tested our relationship. And I would be lying if I didn't find it difficult.

Because as time passes by, akala ko distansiya lang ang magiging problema naming dalawa pero no'ng nag-intern siya habang ako naman ay nagte-training ay oras na naman ang aming naging kalaban.

Nasa point na rin ako ng pagdududa na baka may ibang lalaki siya. Na baka makahanap siya ng lalakeng piloto o kapwa niya rin flight attendant na lalake na mas better sa akin— a man who shares the same interest as hers.

Pero sa kabila nang lahat, nanaig pa rin ang pagmamahal ko sa kaniya.

I never allowed any negative thoughts to fill my mind and heart. Instead, I just focused on how can I communicate with her despite our hectic schedules.

Long distance is really hard, I must admit. But with the right commitment and right communication— distance would not matter.

After Clouie and I both graduated in our courses and as we got jobs in our respective fields, I decided to meet her personally.

After years of being far away, I finally had the chance to hug and kiss her in person and it felt like I won in a lottery. Walang kasisidlan 'yong saya ko no'ng nahawakan at nayakap ko siya sa personal.

Clouie was all in tears while hugging me.

"I love you, William," she whispered tenderly as she broke into tears.

When she said those three words in person is so damn heartfelt.

'Di ko na rin napigilan ang mapaluha.

Every tears and efforts we had both poured has been paid-off and I could say that everything was worth the risk.

After years of being in a relationship, me and Clouie finally got married.

Being in a distance relationship has taught me a lot of things. It taught me the value of honesty, time, openness and trust. And once you know the value of these things— everything will go smoothy along the way.

They say, long distance will never work. Yes, long distance will never work for those who don't choose to make it work.

Now, I am a seaman while Clouie is a Flight Attendant.

My expertise is sea while she controls the sky.

Both are far away from each other but in the glory of love, we met.

-Thank you for reading

________________________

NOTE:

Trust, love, commitment and communication can unites the two persons. Distance will never be a reason for the people who are truly and madly in love.༼ つ ◕‿◕ ༽つ

________________________

Many thanks to everyone who supports and reads my published articles! I really appreciate it, especially the one who always co -commented and upvoted my privious articles, and thank you to my sponsors here at read cash❤️ thank you very much po! sending virtual hugs🥰love lots ☺️


6
$ 1.05
$ 0.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 1
Sponsors of G_lenahhh
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for G_lenahhh
2 years ago
Topics: Love, LDR, Happy, Writing

Comments

Yay sa wakas nakabasa na rin ako ng happy ending..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Real and true what he says. Trust and love go hand in hand

$ 0.01
2 years ago

For sure your stories will become a hit in KMJS or MMK perhaps! Come to think about it! I'm inspired not just your stories but how you made it here, being a seafarer and the same time being here! By the way Congrats for finding your true love despite the LDR stories of yours, you made it possible that there is hope for others who also have that kind of relationship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! But this is a fictional story hehe 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, what the!!!! But anyway , nice one. It actually happened in real life story

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My partner and I also just meet in Facebook, been in a long distance relationship for four years and we already have a baby now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all po😄 internet love:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago