Looking What's Beyond Obvious

6 29

When I was still a high school student, I used to be a GC (grade conscious), competitive, and very much studious. Let me share with you an experience that almost dragged me down to the inner core. Take a ride with me as this time machine that I invented is finally launching.

Cleverness had always reigned in me. But, of course! I didn’t fear anything. I would take the risk just so the crown of excellence couldn’t vanish from me. It was like I always thought that contentment wouldn’t bring me anywhere, so I had to make simple things into worth envy. I had to prove to others that I could surpass them that I was one of the best, if not the best, among all. How would have I made this possible? Easy, by getting high grades and never to fail. (Obviously, this is just another school stuff!)

An exam was then scheduled, so I should be prepared. Luckily, I did find the topics easy as pie; therefore, it wouldn’t cost me a heavy study. The subject, for me, wasn’t difficult, and then I needed not to worry. The exam, true from my expectation was easy, though I studied on the eleventh hour, just before I took it. I went out of the classroom with a big smile, laughing. “Well, I’m going to get another perfect score,” I boasted to myself. I had been preparing to get that assumed score, like showing to my classmates that I would have topped the exam, surpassing them; but, when that time came, unfortunately, a bitter cry got me. I merely thought that the paper handed to me was not mine, that I submitted the wrong paper. I pointed the fault I committed to carelessness. Misty-eyed: the picture of me at that time. My classmates couldn’t believe I got a zero score, which only meant I didn’t get a correct answer, and they laughed secretly. I hurriedly headed back home, and it was raining cats and dogs. Nature expressed what was deep in me like it found a way to console me. A failure, I considered myself. I thought of quitting, maybe I wasn’t compatible with anything. “Quitters win, especially when there are left no reason to fight for,” I believed. I went to my mother and showed her my paper. I was expecting she would scold me that I failed, yet she paid me back with sympathy and a piece of advice. “Close your eyes, and think why that happened,” she said. I tried to seek out an answer as to why it should happen. It didn’t happen just because it had to but to tell me something. Something that blinded me that I truly feared, I declined to accept at the very beginning this fact: I was afraid to get a failing score; I feared to fail; I feared that people would think of me as dull, that I was no better than them. Yet, I came to be enlightened that being hopeless and belittling myself just because of a failing score wasn’t the solution. I faced the mirror, took deep a breath, and smiled because I knew something great was about to happen after it ̶ I would learn to know my limitations. Too much self-confidence is being boastful, and it’s bad!

Thinking how I overreacted during that time pays me a laugh now. Yes, I failed, but I learned something out of it. Anyways, life doesn’t count how many times one falls, eh? Life focuses on how stands up and overcomes falling, and that’s what’s obvious, what I see by my naked eyes because a treasure can also be hidden by mud.

Lead image from Google.

Thank you very much 👇👇👇👇👇👇👇

5
$ 2.60
$ 2.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
Sponsors of Fyangzee24
empty
empty
empty

Comments

these kind of scenes in our past shape us, I know you learned a lot from that... your mom should be commended!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She really helped me a lot to change. She could've pressured me but she chose to teach me a lesson. I think that's what all mothers are like, right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang you are so full of yourself ang peg ganern dati? Yong hindi tatanggap ng failure kasi you are born to be a winner? Masama nga din yong ganon no, it can lead into destruction of yourself pa if ever. Good thing nalinawan ka din in the end. Thanks to your mother din kasi di ka nya lalong nipressure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. I was too proud that I did not realize that I too am possible to fail. That was before. Mas open na ako ngayon. Iniisip ko nga yung dati, naiinis ako sa sarili ko hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know this story hahaha. I even laughed with you when you told the story to me. But, I think it's normal for someone who is not open to any failures before. Anyways, that made you who you are right now and as your friend, I'm kind of happy to see how it affects you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! It really left a big impact on me. So, now I'm a whole different kind of person. This was the time when we're not friends yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago