System Maintenance

4 30
Avatar for FrieLincs
2 years ago
Photo from Unsplash

Funny how this is my topic after being inactive in writing for the past 2 days. Or was it 3? So how’s it going for you during these days? It’s rainy season here at our beloved country. Not a time for outing or going to malls. Not that I am a mall person. Just saying. Teehee.

-- -- --

Online transactions are a convenience. That’s obvious. We don’t have to go to banks in order to deposit or withdraw our money. We have so many e-merchants nowadays. I am just talking of course about money transactions. Transaction of goods is a different story. But what if something is going on with our beloved e-merchants? Like, system maintenance? What should we be doing?

The bank where I am keeping my small amount of cash is currently on system maintenance. Definitely in an attempt to improve the service that they have to offer. Therefore, notice for system maintenance was given few weeks back then again the previous days. I am sure that it would have spelled disaster if notices were not given in advance. Why? Because of obvious reasons.

For one, some clients schedule their transactions for particular dates. And of course, when they schedule, they should know beforehand the maintenance schedules of the bank. On other occasions, clients do online transactions. And doing such during scheduled system maintenance is not allowed. Therefore, notices are always given in advance.

I am one who does online transactions quite often and it should go without saying that I should respect notices for system upgrades or maintenance. Anyhow, I still had my way of forgetting such important dates leaving me frustrated and helpless most of the time. When I do forget that system upgrade is being done on a particular date, I was always left with no choice but to incur debts to be paid when normal operations resume. And incurring debts without making a plan will be sometimes risky and tricky.

So the best move, when a notice comes, I always should try to take it seriously. Sure? I am not sure but I have no choice but to ensure that I take notices like it’s between life and debt. When we take into consideration the dates of maintenance, at least we put our contingency plans at work without having to resort to loans and the like.

I always experience in the past contacting email addresses in order to inquire about my floating transactions. And to be fair with protocols, I was already reminded beforehand to either schedule transactions before maintenance or after it. I am still glad that problems are resolved overtime. But the worry and doubt will be there for some time. Example, I send my money from Coins.ph straight to my bank account only to put the money on temporary hold. I would wonder why. My mindlessness always gets the best out me. Instead of withdrawing something for the day, I end up taking loans from family or friends. If not, from colleagues.

-- -- --

I was, I think, also on maintenance during the past days. I stared at the white monitor but I could not put myself to write. And I always felt sleepy so I thought I will give in to sleep. After all, it is what the body needs in order to hope for a fuller write up. And who doesn't need maintenance? We all do need it, right?

I attempted to write last night. But thought better to postpone it for today. Sadly, that which I wrote last night was not saved. For some reason, I forgot where I have written it. It is obvious if it was written here because it would automatically ask if a user wanted to restore previous unsaved draft. But since I do not see a red warning a while back, then those precious words I attempted to write last night were lost forever. We can never secure our thoughts unless we have a recorder in our minds.

Still, I am happy I was able to let go of the past days even without writing. It’s okay to not write on some days. I remember the distant past where I got worried over no-article-day and it wasn’t healthy. We also have to refill first before moving on.

* * *

Oh well, that’s it for today. Heavy rain, busy canal, trapped people inside their house, soups, broths, and many others are words during this rainy days. It would have been best curled up in bed reading and thinking but then, we have children to attend to and house chores to do.

6
$ 3.80
$ 3.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
+ 2
Sponsors of FrieLincs
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FrieLincs
2 years ago

Comments

For me,

It would have been best curled up in bed reading and thinking but then, we have work on weekdays to and house chores to do on weekends. (had to rephrase your words with mine. hahah)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hihi, that's the reality we had to face. haha, you will soon get your little ones to attend to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well maintenence is important it improves the system and check if there is a glitch or problem to repair. They upgrade it also but make sure to give advance notice to the users so that we know and encounter no problem. You're right that its hard to recall all the words you've wrote when it erase except if someone have a photographic memory hehez.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hi, Loveleng18! Thanks for dropping by. True, still we can be mindless to not remember.

$ 0.00
2 years ago