Playing for Pizza? Sure!

6 34
Avatar for FrieLincs
2 years ago

If I were a decade younger I would have discarded the book that laid beside my device. I did not buy the book. It just happened to be near my computer. Here's the photo. Forgive my lack of photography skills. You even see there scribbles of my daughter.

Playing for Pizza, by John Grisham

After reading the title, I looked at the picture at the front then at the back.

The front cover showed a man with his baggage. He seems to be leaving for another place. The back part, men were playing football.

First, I am not fond of sports. I don't play ball games. I do watch Haikyu!! or similar anime or movies about sports but I am more interested on how characters finally win the championship or how they solve their problems but not the sports itself.

Moreover, I am not a fan of random things. But I'm not so sure about that anymore.

I became curious. Even though it doesn't belong to my list of reading materials, I read it anyway. There also was the mindset that, how great of an author would John Grisham be? My siblings read him so why don't I just read his book as well to find out why they like his books?

I started reading.

Disclaimer: The following are just a crude accounts of the scenes in the story based on how I understood them, anchored on my personal dilemmas. If you want a better summary, go read in the internet.

At the onset I was very pained by the aching body of Rick. He was mortally wounded, crushed by their opponents. Seems he was the reason for the chance of his team to win their first-ever Super Bowl appearance. To cut the story, he was no longer welcome to his own group and was shunned by all other teams in the National Football League.

His agent found a team for him but at another far far away place. He knew nothing about the place. Due to the negative press and his legal troubles like a paternal lawsuit, and many others, he accepts the offer of the agent.

He was now bound to Parma, Italy. Though wary at first, he finally found home there. The team won their first gamr with Rick. But due to various reasons, they lose other games. But then Italy and the team (Panthers) finally becomes dear to Rick. His agent found a more lucrative job offer finally but then he decided to stay with the Parma Panthers. They won their championship. Instead of going back to the States, he considers staying at Italy for another season.

On another account, prior to deciding to stay with the Panthers, he had thoughts of going to play for CFL, that offer from his agent. But then he went instead to that reporter who kept attacking him, hit him, then went back to the Panthers.

In the end, the protagonist had no heroic comeback. Rather, he found home and belongingness to the place where he was once new and unfamiliar. Yes, he even found a girl. He found Livvy, the woman that he plans to be with for the rest of his life.

Lessons

Fame and honor are no longer important for us. As long as we are enjoying what we do and that we have satisfaction with the life that we are living, then that is more than enough.

The world will laugh at our downfall, but it shouldn't be the reason for us to quit. If you're no longer welcome, be gentle with yourself and find another place. There's so much to live for and others are waiting for you.

What's important is that we have a pizza to eat at the end. This is not to say that we simply eat and sleep. Perhaps, it is being contented with what we have and enjoying those that seem we are wary at in the beginning but actually holds more value and place for us.

Sometimes circumstances though brutal will lead us home.

Ah... I don't know. I can't seem to explain my point. Let me just then work for my pizza...

Here then is a free pizza (picture) from Unsplash. Hehe.

Thanks so much for reading! Like and subscribe if you want what I write.

Comments are always welcome.

And also, sponsor me! Have your badge shown for as low as .01 dollar in BCH. For now! Hihi. Thanks again!

5
$ 0.41
$ 0.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Ezei
Sponsors of FrieLincs
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FrieLincs
2 years ago

Comments

First off, thanks for your sponsorship. Second, I loved reading this book. Totally not John Grisham like I knew him. But yeah, love the thought you didn't do things for fame or money. Just pizza is fine. Wish we could all be content.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First off, you are welcome. Second, that's the only book I read of his authorship. I am like this maybe because of previous failures. We will be content, eventually. Or not. Hehehe. Thanks, zolabundance2. You write amazingly!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How beautiful life would be if I attained that stage where I am just happy with the simple pleasures of life, not always running without rest just to keep up with the hustle of this busy world. Indeed, not fame nor money is the ultimate source of success, but simple blessings and sense of being enough are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha! just wishful thinking for me... I have a circumstance where though fame and money are no longer important, I do need money hehehehehe. Good thing read.cash is here. I know you will attain that stage. you are young. Go and slay for the meantime!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the lesson part so much. There are many stories that's about 'be contented of what you have' but I think I loved his one. I also love the fact that you read it even though it's not yours. If I saw that book and it wasn't mine, I think I'll still read it cause I love the front cover of the book. The drawings always got me 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, Ezei! Thanks for the upvote and for the thought. Somehow, it had appealed to me because of the title. there was just a deeper sense to it for me during the time I saw it. Hence I read it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago