Living the ordinary life extraordinarily

4 37
Avatar for FrieLincs
2 years ago

How should we live our lives? How do we make it good? And bearable? Surely, we don't wish to live in misery or loneliness. Bored? What should you do not to be?


At the moment of writing these first paragraphs, I am walking, towards my son's school. Writing while walking requires a calculative and mindful mind. I will conclude this article when I get home.

I write while I walk. I put my hands on my phone while I find my way to school. Yes, you guessed it right. I am walking to my son's school to submit his accomplished modules and obtain a new set.

I am now here at the gate. The entrance was locked. The guard issues me a notice that no submission during Wednesdays.

I am the type who is alright with everything but this time I'm a bit quizzical. But then I let it go.

Let me first sit on this bench outside the gate. I will message the teacher.

Few minutes passed...

(writing now while sitting inside the jeep bound for town)The teacher came to my rescue a while ago, obtained the module then gave me a new envelope with more sets.

I thanked the teacher and also the guard. I still smiled despite my questions as to why they don't let parents in. I will make a report on that later when I am not busy. I will talk to the school's principal. No fight meant, I will just inquire why.

I am now riding on a vehicle bound to town. I am using my phone. If I dream on becoming a writer then I should at least be able to do well on any device. I should befriend all writing opportunities.


I came to realize the fresh air and clean surroundings while walking a while ago. Just imagine when air won't be free anymore like in the story of 'The Lorax'. What we are experiencing then is abundance and wealth.

I then took a mental note to always breathe deeply in when walking or whenever I smell fresh air.

And the guard a while ago, he was just doing his job. I didn't have to look at him quizzically. He follows orders and his obedience will earn him praise from his master. Do I have to ruin that?

And to my son's adviser, I recognize his efforts. He came all the way from his desk to retrieve our modules and took his time putting new sets to a new envelope to give us. Such a sacrifice on his part.


We all have woes and complaints and misgivings. Our lives are not perfect, they are ordinary, but living them extraordinarily will make a difference.

The clothes you wear to feel warmth, the shoes you put on, the roof you live under, have you tried memorizing their conditions? Have you been appreciative of what you have?

What is the scent of the shampoo you used? How fragrant was the soap?

The family next door, what are their names? Are you grateful to have them near you? What are their charisms?

All those simple things when we don't take them for granted and that we always look at them with new eyes will make our seemingly ordinary lives special.

If we are mindful and appreciative, we breathe the air as if we've just taken fresh air. The ordinary becomes extraordinary. Just buy a pair of new eyes...

7
$ 0.30
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of FrieLincs
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FrieLincs
2 years ago

Comments

Ikaw na powerful sa school. hehe...careful because you are like driving while texting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe, charot lang mam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are just a lot of things that help us and because of the fact that it always has been with us, we tend to not take a closer look and appreciate it more. Unfortunately, nothing is permanent and before we know it, they are gone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So we have to always be appreciative of our surroundings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago