I went to town too early to be entertained with a solo dance show.

0 31
Avatar for FrieLincs
2 years ago

I was watching an adult (a senior, more likely) beggar, dancing on his spot. I was trying to discern whether he was free dancing, as in like me who is free writing, or if he really prepared for his dances.

In fairness, it was evident that he had prepared his steps. He was dancing with his rehearsed moves, never distracted by passersby, by spectators, by those who might say negative things to him. He was just there, sticking to his objective.

While waiting for the thing I went to town for, I simply stood at the vicinity of where the beggar dancer was dancing. Thanks to face shield and face mask that hid my face. It wasn’t obvious that I was closely observing him.

The man danced continually during that duration I was also standing near his spot. Such stamina he had. He actually looked like a politician. His appearance wasn’t that of a typical beggar. Well, I might be wrong with my terms here. So let us just say he was having some talent show.

He danced to Macarena, J. Lo songs, and many usual dance songs.

Some placed coins in his box. Others just watched him then moved on to their destination. Some got obviously amused. Only very few danced with him. It would have been nice to have went along with his music but I was too shy to suddenly attract attention for myself when I dance with the melody.

I couldn’t believe that it had been an hour since I was observing him and the crowd that he enticed. I was way too early anyway for my appointment so I wasn’t at all bothered by the time I had been standing.

I thought that at least it was all worth it being there watching him because he prepared for his talent show. If he hadn’t, I don’t believe he would have the guts to stand there in the very first place. It was also somewhat obvious that he had been doing that for quite some time now or for much much longer. He doesn’t appear to be bothered by the people around him.

I was in awe of his persistence to wait for the coins to go to his collection box. I was kind of praying that he would somehow be able to collect the amount he deserved for such persistence. He was working it out, he was deserving of the money that they were giving him.

I eventually stopped watching. I reluctantly went away knowing that I also needed to go now for my purpose in going to town. Hoping that another day when I go to town, he would again be dancing. By that time I will donate more for him.

Let this be a silent way to thank him for making my waiting time entertaining.

Lead image from Unsplash

5
$ 4.60
$ 4.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of FrieLincs
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FrieLincs
2 years ago

Comments