Enjoying a Lazy Afternoon

0 22
Avatar for FrieLincs
2 years ago

It was yesterday when I picked up my pen and took a filler out of my binder. I went outside and I tried to write. (Wow?! Ahahaha.)

It was rather foreign to feel the hands moving on the notebook. Maybe because of the prolonged community quarantine. Classes are being done online. I personally use all features I could find on my computer. Like instead of using sticky notes physically, I use the sticky notes of the laptop. So this may be a good exercise after all in order to not forget about writing. Typing is a lot faster so most of the time, I use the computer or cellphone to write.

Some of the following were edited upon putting them here. Nothing much really. I just wrote freely. Still, it was a fruitful lazy afternoon, spending it writing while being with beloved social beings. It rained today so I wasn't able to recreate what happened yesterday afternoon. Yesterday, it was sunny the whole day.


At the middle of the open area where I chose to go, stood a lemon tree. Its leaves were withered by passers by. The fruits always too early to be picked. They do not seem to be ripening. I started writing. The atmosphere seemed so inviting. Someone might think I am that good because I openly show to others what I am doing. I don't care. I just wanted to write.

The lemon tree got my attention. I tried once to pick some green produce protruding from one of its branches, I was thinking to use them for our adobo but no juice was squeezed. Until now, as of writing time, the fruits do not want to be consumed. They're just there, as if for decoration purposes only.

I sat at the vicinity and observed as kids played and older children played their gadgets. Good thing my writing is not that readable so those who attempted to read what I was writing wasn't able to pick anything. You had to focus in order to read my hand writing. I did it badly deliberately so no one would be able to make things out.

After my right hand got tired, I mingled among our neighbors who were sharing among themselves stories that were more or less the same the previous days. I butted mine so as to belong to the group. Though no one is forcing anyone to say anything. I continued writing. I was occasionally slipping out of the crowd to scribble things on my note.

As far as I could describe, no one seemed to like gossiping from among our companions. No foul language encouraged among the group. Which is why whenever I was free, I would run out and mingle with them. As much as possible, when we really needed to talk about others, we see to it that we limit trash talking, or no trash talking at all. The lemon tree has been a witness to all the stories shared.

And one day, the lemon tree will be gone forever. And a house will rise from that open area. By then things will change. No more open areas in the neighborhood. Everybody tries to use up the land that could be seen in building houses to live in.

Well, at least it's still fresh air here at our place. Few years ago, the authorities decided to stop the raising of pigs in the city. But it will not be long before they will allow it again. Anyone who will again consider it will have to show that they have septic tank for their piggeries. For sure, there will always be those who will not be prompt in keeping pig pen clean. Hoping people here at our place will keep the environment breathable.

I finally put my pen down, tore the pages where I wrote my piece, kept it in my sling pouch, then relaxed with everyone else. I had to tear it because someone may get very curious and snatch the notebook away from me and read whatever that I have written. As if I have diamonds in my notebook.

Such a lovely lazy afternoon...


I did house chores promptly before going to the neighborhood. Because when I don't do that, it will be the unkempt house which will keep me from enjoying.

5
$ 4.56
$ 4.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of FrieLincs
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FrieLincs
2 years ago

Comments