I Think I Got COVID

1 22
Avatar for Freylin
2 years ago

I purposely made this article to share with anyone who may or may not have had COVID before. Those who have been through this may be able to share experiences with each other, those who have not been through this may be able to get a little picture about it. My writing here is will only about my experience and my point of view as a layperson, if there is something wrong with what I wrote, please correct me so that I will not repeat the same mistake. Thank you.

At first, I thought I just had the flu, well maybe it is but... 3 or 4 days ago I began to lose the ability to taste and the ability to smell something. I know it's also one of the symptoms that might occur when we have a cold, but this time it's different because I really don't taste or smell anything at all. For smell is completely lost, but for taste, what remains may be a bitter taste. I can't tell if the food is stale or not if physically it still looks fine.

Honestly, losing your senses of taste and smell is weird. I feel like just eating, the important thing is that I'm not hungry. No wonder, many lose their appetite when they are attacked by Covid. But it may also be due to nausea and discomfort in the stomach and chest. In my case, thankfully I didn't feel suffocated, nauseous and my appetite actually increased. I'm always hungry and want to eat all the time. Even so, I couldn't taste what I ate.

But yeah, life does have a positive and negative side. The positive thing I can take from the loss of my ability to smell is, I'm not bothered by the smell of my cat's litter when I clean their litter box, lol.

Strangely, I feel life is tasteless. The food still looks interesting, but not anymore when I've started to bite it, lol. Indeed, losing one of the five senses is very uncomfortable, be it smell, taste, sound, sight, touch. Well, it reminds me of Mattie's poem "Making Real Sense of The Senses"

Our eyes are for looking at things
But they are also for crying
When we are very happy or very sad

Our ears are for listening
But so are our hearts
Our noses are for smelling food

But also the wind and the grass and
If we try very hard, butterflies
Our hands our for feeling
But also for hugging and touching so gently

Our mouths and tougues are for tasting
But also for saying words, like
"I love you", and
"Thank you, God, for all of these things."

Alright, that is just an intermezzo :)

but actually what tortured me the most was a dry cough. I woke up several times because suddenly my throat was tickled. The second thing that torments me the most is sneezing (Hmm... actually I have the flu or COVID, or both?) so the sneeze made me cry, and because of that my eyes became swollen, and of course they were hard to open, my eyes looked like Garfield.

But ... I feel nothing else serious. That's why all I did was self-isolate at home. Keep doing my daily activities. I do have a fever and was a bit weak, but it doesn't make me lose my energy for activities. I still do my chores, such as sweeping, washing clothes, dishes, and other routine things. And of course, taking care of my two furry babies who can't be patient, lol.

Anyway, I had a headache which was enough to make me tired on the first day, but luckily after I took the medicine, the pain went away. Although after that I have had a dry cough until now. My throat is suddenly dry, and I have to drink immediately to make myself feel better.

Well, it's no longer a secret that the symptoms of Covid really depend on the immune system and the health history of the person affected. So, what I experienced with what others experienced would definitely be different, even though there would be a slight resemblance. What's more, I've already had my first dose of vaccine (Sinovac) so the symptoms I feel aren't too severe.

So... Today, I would say I'm pretty fine, but not perfectly fine. I do have rhinitis which seems to lead to sinusitis, so I'm a bit sensitive to colds. So yeah, sneezing and snot is my daily problem.

And even though my sense of smell is getting better, and thankfully I'm able to enjoy the food on the table again, I still can't smell my cat litter and body odor, lol. Not being able to smell something that smells bad is actually a godsend, because we get rid of bad smells, it's just that we become insensitive and don't realize that it's us that smells, lol. But ... as long as you stay at home, there's no need to worry :P

The cool thing about losing the sense of smell

Yup, so I found something interesting with the loss of my ability to smell. At first, I didn't notice that I had lost this ability, not until I finally lost my sense of taste. Yup, so it turns out I'm not very sensitive to smells, but I'm very aware when the food I eat tastes weird.

So it was all sudden. In the morning I feel everything is fine, afternoon to evening, everything is still normal, but... suddenly at night, my favorite food taste... stale? It's just weird... I could only feel the texture, but not the taste. Since then, I realized. And I tried to smell all the pungent smells, perfume, eucalyptus oil, and as a result... I couldn't catch any smell. And suddenly the world looks different, lol.

Yesterday, my sense of taste returned, still mild, not very strong, but at least I can enjoy my potato chips and some snacks that I deliberately save because it's a pity to eat when I can't taste anything.

But ... even though I can smell the fragrant smell and can taste my favorite delicious food again, I can't smell the bad smell yet, but sometimes, I can faintly smell it even though it's not too strong.

Well, that's the story of my super short experience. I think it's 98% only about "smells" lol... but at least you guys have an idea that when you get COVID, don't panic, the important thing is, watch your food, drink, take vitamins and of course stay happy, and remember to stay at home, because You certainly don't want to be the cause of other people getting infected.

Thanks for reading...

Note:

Last but not least ... Thank You so Much to MJ and Panky for the support by being my sponsor. I wanted to write a special “Thank You” note, but I'm bad at saying thank you. But of course, I'm still writing and being here because of seeing the icons of you two plastered every time I open read. cash, you make me ashamed if I don't take advantage of your support, lol.

4
$ 0.20
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
$ 0.10 from @Yelenab
Sponsors of Freylin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Freylin
2 years ago

Comments

You're always welcome, Liana. Anyway, thank you for sharing your experience. I didn't know much about COVID since I stopped watching the news since 2019. I just got tired of hearing all the bad news in the world. So this article is helpful coz now I got an idea about the symptoms. And I hope you will fully recover soon. Just rest and take vit C. I'm sure you're already aware of this. Hehe. Stay safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago