My Telenovela Like Story

2 18
Avatar for FluffyClouds
1 year ago

Hi, fellow readers and bloggers! I had been taking things at a slow pace recently, maybe because of how things turned recently. Most days I am just playing mobile games, trying to escape the sad feeling and the emotional turmoils that I am experiencing. This is the first and probably the last time that I will be posting this. I figured out that this might help me cope emotionally.

It started in March when we moved back here. This is where I grew up, studied, played, and had wonderful friends. At age of 16, I left for college. Years passed and I became a resident of Davao City. My sibling took me, she sent me back to college and supported me until I got the job. On occasion, we would go home here in the province for a quick visit or vacation. I had a life in the city which I liked and I got used to it. My daily routine was work-home-work and occasional movies and eat-outs with friends. The pandemic happened and my life changed instantly. This time, my sister had purchased a farm somewhere in Davao de Oro. On the eve of the nationwide lockdown, they had managed to take me out of the city and hid me for a few weeks at their farm. People coming out of the city were treated as if they got the virus and can infect the community. Lol! I was having anxiety at that time. Months passed and the lockdowns were extended especially for the major cities. I can’t go back to my life! Depression had slowly taken over my life. To fight it, I busied myself. I made a vegetable garden, dug out sweet potatoes and even planted some, and learned how to cultivate corn. Then I met a guy. One of my sister’s farmhands. He is much younger than me. The total opposite of me. He had a simple life on the farm. I am not ashamed to admit that he wasn’t able to finish his basic years of education, because his family wasn’t able to sustain his education. He began working at the age of 12 to help his sick parents. Instantly, we clicked and fell in love. Love truly is unpredictable. We worked together on the farm. My sister had lent us a small portion of land, it has cardava bananas. We toiled the land and cleaned the area. Every two weeks we were harvesting the fruits.

Fast forward, our eldest sibling requested us to help her in managing the farm in Cotabato. My partner started to work on the cavendish banana farm, and she got me a job at her store. I was doing the paper works while she is in constant talk with her suppliers and resellers. I was good at it. I was doing fine, but she added new people to her new business. She just put up a new business line just because she saw a good location. Crazy, right? I was shocked when she told me that she got the location and she already hired somebody to look after it. I was like, “wait, what?!” Yes, she did it. The first month of her new business was a disaster. It’s not break-even. It’s a loss. In the second month, she transferred me to her new store. I was looking at the cash-in-flows and out-flows, the second month it’s still losing. Third month and she decided to make it to a snack hub. What?! That means, a lot of work for me. I became a cashier, a cleaner, and a server. I don’t mind it. It’s still a job after all. I was still managing the store on top of the other new roles that I had to do. Things became sketchy for both of us. One small mistake like price tagging, and adjustment and she would humiliate me in our group chat. Like, what the eef?! It’s manageable, there’s no need of humiliating me. She can directly reprimand me. One time, I stood up for myself. Know what she told me? ‘Get used to it. I am your boss and your older sister’. There are also a few occasions that whenever I ask a question, she just gives me that look and would answer me rudely in front of other people and sometimes in front of customers. Worst, I have an asthma attack. I can’t deal much with dust, humid and hot weather. I cried about the abuses that I was hearing from her. My partner wanted me to stop working for her but I told him that I can still tolerate it, until one day I was fed up with all the humiliation she is hurling toward me. She ignored me for one whole day as if I were invincible. So, the next day I didn’t come to work until today. I never spoke to her again. Family members are trying to fix it, but my mind and heart got tired and weary.

I had been crying for the first three days and still cry sometimes. I chose a poor guy, and that made me susceptible to insults from my own family. I know he is hurting inside. There are times that I would apologize to him for all the hurt he is feeling inside but he would just hug me even tighter.

We will be leaving this place and will start a new life together in the city. We will be putting up a barbershop at home. My sister recently got a new place and she needs someone to live in it. I will be doing a small business at home and at the same time trying to earn a few bucks online. If my plans will fail, I will find a job. As for our planned wedding this coming December, we will postpone it. We got no money to spend, we need to buy additional things he needs at his barbershop.


I don’t have any regrets or feel sorry for myself when I chose him. Money can be found, but loyalty and true love are hard to find. We will grow together as a couple, get rich together as a couple, and see the world together as a couple! As for our eldest sibling, she can go and make herself richer than ever. At the end of the day, money is just money. You can get happy and live comfortably with all the material things but real happiness is finding contentment in small things, appreciating the good and the bad around you, and most importantly, living in harmony with the people that love you. A little act of kindness can make the world a better place for everyone.

Did I make a bad choice? NO, and no further explanation. Love is love.

Sponsors of FluffyClouds
empty
empty
empty

noiseapp

Thank you for reading!

3
$ 0.50
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of FluffyClouds
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FluffyClouds
1 year ago

Comments

It's really hard to fight for the love if your family is against to it. But I admire you po because you still choose what your hearts desire. We can't really dictate our hearts who to love. And I am sad because your sister can humiliates you in front of others. Hayts, it is so sad that she should be the one who supports you though🥺

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah. It’s really sad but life must go on

$ 0.00
1 year ago