A Day in the Farm

2 16
Avatar for FluffyClouds
2 years ago

Hi there readers!

I hope everything is going great at your end.

Cold days are up since we are approaching the end of the year. It's monsoon season and typhoons are expected to dominate our weather system until the end of the year. The onset of La Niña had started. Flooding and natural calamities are common during this season.

For farmers like us, it is not good. Too much water can suffocate the plant. Air pockets will be blocked and the plants will wilt and die too. See, too much of everything is bad. That is one rule of nature that we are all aware and yet we tend to disagree with it.

Waking up!

After I moved here at the farm, I usually get up at 5:00am. Fix my bed, do some hygiene and make my coffee. I read somewhere that successful people always do their bed first thing they get up. I find it amusing and started to do it too when I was still working in the city. I think the idea is, if you want to be successful do the little things that you need to do right away and be responsible with your mess. I don't know if I got it right but that's what I thought. Besides, fixing my bed right after I wake up is good, clean and tidy room.

A foggy morning.

Hot coffee and checking my phone while looking after the rice that I am cooking is the next thing I do every morning. Once the rice is cooked, I head outside while still drinking my coffee. I usually cover my cup of coffee to prevent it from getting cold too fast. I would then check my vegetable plants. Seeing the fruits and the flowers makes my day complete. Sometimes I would pick some fresh vegetables for our breakfast.

Cleaning the leaves in our front yard is one of doing an exercise. It takes 10 to 15 minutes to clean the leaves since we have a pretty big space. Sometimes I cook for breakfast but most of the time it's my sister's job to cook our viands. Breakfast usually consist of vegetables, eggs and leftover from previous night's dinner. I also do some work in our cardava banana farm. Cleaning out the weeds around the banana plant. It's a tough one. We also planted sweet potatoes and pumpkins in areas which the sun can still reach.

Farm life.

On afternoons, specially if the sun is up and it’s hot, I would take a nap or just lie on the hammock and listen to the birds and enjoying the afternoon. On rainy I can sleep up to two hours. Who could resist a sleep on a cold and rainy day? Late afternoons are spent tending our backyard vegetable garden. I have bitter gourd, eggplants, tomatoes, purple yam, malabar spinach, spring onions, water spinach, beans, okra, yam bean and a lot more! Fresh vegetables everyday for us. I also do an afternoon walk especially after the rain. Visiting a friend and passing the time at the riverbank is my favorite thing to do. The water is cold and so inviting! It makes me want to take a dip on it. Ah! Sometimes I do cycling around the farm. Tye setting of the sun is my favorite time of the day. The blast of colors across the sky is amazing. I can stare at the sky until the last light of the sun. Life is here is beautiful!

The life that I have now is the far more different that I had before the pandemic happened. I think the pandemic brought me to the right place and people. I work now at day and sleep at night, opposite to what used to be. I breathe fresh air in a daily basis. I eat healthier foods now and shed some weight. I became content and happy for whatever life gives me. I became grounded.

Whatever decision we chose be brave to stand for it. It may look difficult and the road may not be easy and contrary to what you imagined but believe me, everything will make sense and it’s worth it! Don’t give up and don’t be scared with the changes in your life.

3
$ 0.08
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.03 from @Giddyboy
Sponsors of FluffyClouds
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FluffyClouds
2 years ago

Comments

We also have a farm. I wrote an article about it. We had our lunch and there is no internet there so we are phone-free the whole day except when we take pictures. 🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A day without an internet is a well spent day with the family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago