Workplace Bullying

2 22
Avatar for Firenze
3 years ago

I shared my experience on how I became a graphic designer in my other article, and I said that it's not an easy road. And I want to tell you why. I was a victim of workplace bullying. I'm a cry baby ever since, during my grade school days. Even I'm in college lol. I easily cried when somebody teases me below the belt. Fast forward, I won't forget this conversion of mine from HR personnel at that time. She said, "you're a cowgirl, I guess you can make it here. Those people are jolly and funny but they're a teaser. I think it's their way to boost their creativity". I just nodded and smile. I don't know that time what's that means. All I know is I want to get the opportunity as a stepping stone to the career that I want to take. Our creative director was so nice. She's

really nice to me and always tell me that I reminded her of her past self. My dedication and perseverance to learn more. But my fellow senior designers we're bullying me. Maybe because of our age gap. They're 15 yrs older than me. I'm the apple of their eye because I was the youngest in our department. They're funny. Sense of humor? 100%. When it comes to designs? They're good. They're a fine arts graduate so it's given. I still care for them cause they're my Kuya's. The only thing that I don't like about them

was bullying. And I can't do anything about it. It's their nature, and I'm the new one. they're the bullies and I'm the sensitive one. They always teased my skin color because I'm a "medium morena". They're the bullies and I'm sensitive one. They always teased my skin color because I'm a "medium skintone". I'm not tan nor fair skin. I'm in between hahaha. They always teased me "ang itim naman" and I always answered them with "hindi ako maitim, brown ako hello" haha.

I was not affected by that.I'm proud of my skin tone. The only thing that hurts me? when they teased me about work, my skills. I was a dreamer. I thought having a Bachelor's degree will make your life easy lol. Ideal thought for a student like me back then, but I was wrong. I wasn't trained to be strong. Not until they bullied me. "ano ba yan di naman maganda yung design." when someone praises my design they're going to butt in "maganda ba yan? parang di naman" "pano nahire yan". Take note. My job description

was not a graphic designer 1st. I was creative staff, I'm doing clerical jobs for our dept., and assisting basic or simple layout to help the designers. I admit at first I'm not that good because I was a self taught artist when it comes to layout and designing, I'm an advertising graduate, not fine arts. I accept the job because I want this to become my stepping stone. The struggle is real. I'm practicing at home after work. There comes a point that I don't want to work because it's degrading and humiliating. I almost resigned, but my urge to become a designer was stronger, and I love them as a person. I just don't like the bullying part not to mention their habit of saying bad words lol.

My ideal view of the corporate world was gone haha. I learned the famous words "malupit ang mundo", welcome to the real world they say. Until one day, after so many crying moments. I guess I became numb. I take their bullying on the positive side. I want to prove myself and prove to them that I can make it. That I'm not as weak as they thought me to be. If you can't beat them? Join them. I didn't become a bully, I hate bullies. I just know how to handle and throw words/jokes on them. Joking bad words? well, I said it to their faces thrice harder. I don't care, they're not the only one who knows how to say bad words, we're not in a company, we're in hell.

I promised myself that no one can bully me again. All the struggles paid off. I was promoted as a Junior Graphic Designer. I took all those bullying on a positive side. I am now stronger than before. I struggled a lot but I'm thankful to them because I push myself to become better. I trained myself emotionally. I enhance my knowledge and skills. Then they told me "See. No one can bully you now " but it doesn't mean that bullying is right. Because not everybody can handle it the way I did. Bullying can make you or break you. Be strong and don't let others bring you down. We're not born to get bullied. Guys, dreams do come true. Perseverance, actions to pursue it and a positive mindset are the keys

- Wasn't able to check your articles guys lately, will check them some other time.

*Lead photo is mine.

6
$ 6.55
$ 6.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.01 from @Pisces-jr15
Sponsors of Firenze
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Firenze
3 years ago

Comments

I was a bully and the bullied. They picked on me, I picked on somebody else. It changed when I became friends with the people that I bullied. I became a better and stronger person because of them, the people who bullied me and the people I bullied. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm always a victim since elem. Maybe I look weak kaya easy target ako. Nahulma na lang ako ng panahon eh, lalakas magmura dun, ah mumurahin nyo ko etong sayo. 🤣🤣🤣 Nsaten tlga if mabreak tayo oh mahulma.

Pero ung nga nambubully sken elem di kmi naging friends, like "do I know you?" 😅😅😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago