Privacy.

6 22
Avatar for Firenze
2 years ago

There's a saying that these three things should be kept in private. Income. Lovelife. Next move.

I was born in a generation with no internet. You have privacy in your life unless there's a human CCTV in the neighborhood lol.

I think mobile phones started when I was in grade 6, I remember my classmates having a Nokia5110. So our generation enjoyed the privacy that I'm talking about.

Due to technology, social media started to reign the internet. Sharing daily lives, never-ending rants about your life, bragging and flexing different aspects in your life that you want to shout to the world.

I used to posts my rants on social media, my everyday life, sometimes it became my diary too. Feels like I can't live without sharing on social media. Because of social media, people think they know everything about you, they based everything on what you share without realizing that some people's posts are filtered.

Let's go back to the main topic of this article. The three things to keep private.

1. Income. Even in our family, we kept our salary a secret. My older sister only shares her salary with me because she told me that our mom keeps on asking her how much is her salary hahahahaha. My mom is curious because she always travels domestically and internationally. That's why until now, my mother doesn't know my sister's income. When I was in the corporate world, there's a specific person that knows my salary, she used to be my friend. I thought it's okay because she's my friend and we're not in the same department. But as time passed by, she always asked me even my tax refund, my savings, my 13th-month pay. And if it's too far from what she got, she always asked for computation to HR and Acctg. department. That's when I started to keep my income in private.

As I get older, I realized that it's a polite and right thing to do. Why do we have to share our money with anyone? who else is spending our income? It's us not them, why do we have to share our savings and income to anyone? Money makes the world go round as much as we don't want to admit it. It's the reality of life. The amount of money we have makes people automatically judge us, good or bad. For me, nothing good can come by sharing our income. Our money is our business, why do we have to share it with anyone. Unless we are going to invest or buy a property, it's really necessary and requires us to show proof of income to the agent or company. Even here, I only share some part of my earnings, not the total. I'm more comfortable sharing my loss than my gains. I only shared a percentage of my BCH gains, twice or thrice, because sharing my income is not my thing.

2. Love life. Someone waiting for me to post my fiance in noise cash because I only shared my guy friends but not him. I already post some photos with him but together with other friends. Why? because I started to live a lowkey life. I used to share on social media when I'm in a relationship. Sharing to the world how happy and in love I am. Why did I stop? because they also noticed if I had a break-up. That's why I told him that, I'll keep our relationship lowkey. It's us in the relationship, we don't need an audience haha. In whatever circumstances, our love life should be not hidden but private.

3. Next Move. Work hard in silence and let your success be the noise. You don't have to tell others about your future plans. Yes, you can share with your family, friends, or trusted ones. We all have bigger plans and goals, but we don't know when and how they are going to unfold. Let them see the results because some people don't want to know the process, they just want to know the success story. And not everyone have the best intention and wish you well, there's a lot or few who are silently waiting for your downfall. Don't waste your time trying to impress others. Sharing once in a while is okay, but choose what to share to public. Live in private.

I'm living too far from my old self. It's not an overnight process, but I'm slowly loving it. I deactivated my Facebook for almost a year now, my personal and art account in Instagram too. I'll activate my instagram maybe next year, coz I'm more comfortable in IG, I just want to live in peace during this pandemic. The only social media that I'm using right now is noise.cash because of crypto.

Not everything in social media is real. Leave a little mystery, it kills people. :)

* Lead Image from Unsplash

4
$ 6.10
$ 5.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.15 from @Bjorn
+ 1
Sponsors of Firenze
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Firenze
2 years ago

Comments

Listen, do you want to know a secret? Do you promise not to tell? (laughs)

Ang yayabang ng mga naka 5110 noon haha, can't afford ako sa Nokia kaya Trium lang fon non haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trueeee. Grade 6 ako nun eh. Isa lang sa classmate ko ang merong 5110 🤣🤣🤣. At nagkaron ako ng cp college na, 2nd yr. Hahahha mahal ng cellphone dte grabe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also keep these 3 things in private. With regards to love, it was because our relationship was not legal or something that we can't tell to the world even more so with my parents. My mom has high standards so I'd rather hide my relationships to them but not to my closest friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

C MJ din di napakilala. KilLala na close friend ko peor nung magjowa hindi hahaha. D pa nga napapakilala naghiwalay na lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Kaya minsan maganda na lang di ipakilala. Isang friend ko sabi pa kung sino daw ipapakilala sa magulang yun daw papakasalan. Totoo naman at nangyari kaso nagkahiwalay. Wala din nangyari kaya ok na yung walang ipakilala para iwas interogation na din 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

okay sana un eh. kaso di nmn naten alam if un nga makaktuluyan hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago