My Metamask wallet got hacked, 3.4 BCH went to the hacker

26 267
Avatar for Fexonice1
1 year ago
My money sitting in the hacker's wallet

Today will be one of the worse days of my life, I haven't been able to eat anything since I discovered my wallet was hacked and my 3.4 BCH moved away into a wallet address I don't own, and I don't know how the owner got access and permission to move the coins from my wallet.I have heard people talk about their wallets being hacked and have always been wondering how possible those mother fucker hackers can gain access to a person's wallet, now I have experienced it. I feel so devasted as I type this article, all my savings got lost again. This time not to a bad investment or a rug pull but to a wallet hacker.

I can't figure out how the hacker got access to my wallet. I don't hunt for airdrops nor do any of those things that ask people to connect their wallets to make a claim of whatsoever they are offering. I knew the danger of those kinds of sites and always avoid them no matter how tempting they may be.

The only thing I have done with the wallet recently is minting NFT and connecting to a Dex to swap some tokens on the Dogechain. Is it possible for a hacker to gain access to a wallet from a public address? That's the only way I have exposed my wallet address to someone other than myself. No one else has access to my wallet private key apart from myself, and I have never exposed or sent my seed phrases to anyone any time.

I tried all I could to track the transaction by scanning my wallet address on the Sonar.cash site and I saw the fund sitting in the hacker's wallet, which is a confirmation of the transaction. The fund is gone, there is no way I can recover it. I try to check my wallet for any permission that may have given the hacker access but there is no such permission anywhere.

It's so disheartening to lose my fund in this bear market where a fund of 1 BCH is hard to come by. I blame myself for not maintaining my wallet properly. I used to be very careful with my wallet address from anyone I didn't know. I don't know that it's possible for hackers to compromise wallet addresses and gain access to a person's fund. I used the address to receive an NFT giveaway I won on the Dogechain and that's where I think something must have gone wrong because the project was rugged the same day I received the giveaway.

Now, my smartBCH portfolio is browned up again, I have to start over again. What a painful way to lose money. I have installed a new wallet and had the remaining tokens moved to the new wallet. Had my phone scanned for any malware and it found nothing . I am so sad and feel so broken that this can happen to me again.

I hope everyone reading this will not put any wallets in circulation. Keep your wallet addresses secure and private and never give your wallet details to people you don't trust. This is a lesson for all of us. It's a big step up for me to hold my breath to protect my wallet, and then my money is gone.

Have you ever lost your BCH to a wallet hacker? How did you handle it? Did you have a way of getting your money back?

Please if you have anything that can help me in this situation I would be forever thankful. Thank you for reading.


16
$ 5.02
$ 4.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
+ 11
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
1 year ago

Comments

Yeah, connecting wallets and signing in can get your wallet hacked, we should only connect to trusted sites or we should make secondary wallet for 3rd party sites

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Im so sorry my dear friend :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Geeez one has to be careful please are they ways one could protect their metamask wallet more

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think the only way to totally be safe from this kind of thing is to be careful with the sites you connect your wallet to, and the kind of links you click on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I tried all I could to track the transaction by scanning my wallet address on the Sonar.cash site and I saw the fund sitting in the hacker's wallet, which is a confirmation of the transaction. The fund is gone, there is no way I can recover it.

That is why it is said that the cryptocurrency domain is a hacker's paradise! Decentralization and anonymity are problems in the disguise of privacy. I am in favor of privacy and decentralization. But, the common mass may not opt for cryptocurrencies due to the non-availability of any central authority to complain.

You seem to be quite knowledgeable in accessing/managing cryptocurrencies. Then, what would happen to people not-tech-savvy old people?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

By what we have now, cryptocurrency is not yet a thing for everybody.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for agreeing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's a sad news. I am sad to hear this news. I have heard this news a lot before. 3.4 bch is a huge money bro. I think Metamask agent is a sweeper, all people lose money and the metamask doesnt care. Don't trust Metamask wallet. πŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Metamask wallet provider can't be blamed for the loses

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm so sorry to hear about your loss. Address alone would not be enough to wipe your wallet, as these are public and often shared openly. Must have been some virus or permission you gave. So sad nonetheless. 3.4bch is a huge loss πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, I can figure out how it happened and what link I might accidentally click on that gave such permission to the hacker

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is a huge loss, we can't expect such type of things in Metamask Wallet. Might be there was exposure of your wallet to someone. Anyway, I hope your wallet will be recovered from hackers hand.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No recovery of funds, it's lost and gone and I have uninstalled the wallet and selected my data to avoid more hack on my device.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really heart broken thing happened!! Didn't happen with me ever but I read an article couple of months ago that our Gmail address connected to wallet is also sensitive and we need a separate sovereign email for wallet only and never share to anyone. May Almighty God bless you the way to recover your lose!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for the prayers

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sad to hear this. I hope you are given patience in facing your next days.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww, so sorry for that. That's quite a lot. Don't know what else to say but , hope you'll be fine and gain more bch the soonest.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What? This is really bad news for real, there are hackers everywhere and we need to be careful. I am really sorry for you sir, I want to believe there's a reason why it happened, just trust God.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my! 3.4 BCH is a lot! Btw, @Infinity has experienced this too. Not sure how much. Probably 1 BCH or less. Not sure.

I honestly have not scammed or hacked before, but I also lost a lot of BCH in Pegaxy. Still, my situation is different because I lost the BCH out of my greediness so no one should be blamed but me.

Mmm. Not sure what else to say now. I know it's not easy to lose 3.4 BCH but I hope you will be fine soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

$403 USDT in polygon network :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

@Infinity experience this one.. so sorry for your loss. This is why you should not give address that has pretty decent amount on it. Some are even creating new wallets to claim free stuff..or for airdrops.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The hacker took from me $403 USDT from my metamask. I still donΒ΄t believe it. 400 USDT in my country right now represents 1 year and 3 months of salary. With that you can imagine how I feel.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thefts are everywhere. Hope someone can help you with this and try to contact meta mask.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's gone, there's nothing anyone can do to recover the money.

$ 0.00
1 year ago